Skip to main content

Full text of ""The history of Randolph county, Illinois, including old Kaskaskia Island""

See other formats


LI B R.AR.Y 

OF THE 

UNIVEHSITY 

Of ILLINOIS 

977.392 
H76h 
1970 







— 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 



http://archive.org/details/thehistoryofrandOOmont 



"THE HISTORY OF RANDOLPH COUNTY, ILLINOIS, 
INCLUDING 
OLD KASKASKIA ISLAND" 

By 

/; I. J. MONTAGUE 

1859 



Copiod by 

Eltonboth Pinkorton Leigh ty 

Sparta, Illinois 

1948 









Reproduced by 

DUOPAGE PROCESS 

in the 

U.S. of America 



Micro Photo Division 
Bell & Howell Company 
Cleveland, Ohio 44112 



DP 4 119** 



j 

^ 



o 







i 

« 



<?i 



r 

do 



tf 



ZAfi£2 5Z fiflfiXEHIfi 



I I1JTRQDUCTION AND MAP Elisabeth Pinkerton Leighty 



II HISTORIAN E. J. MONTAGUE'S 



"A DIRECTORY, BUSINESS IIIRRGR, 
HISTORICAL SKETCHES, RANDOLPH 
COUNTY, ILLINOIS, WITH BRIEF 
NOTES OF THE PIONEER SETTI2- 
lENTS", published in 1859 Pages 1-134- 

Copied by Elisabeth Pinkerton Leighty 
P III ZEBEDIAH BARKER III, MINUTE MAN Pages 13 5-13 5a 



Sketch by Mrs. Lilian Bratney Gordon 



IV REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIERS BURIED IN 



* RANDOLPH COUNTY, ILLINOIS Pages 137-142 

5? According to records of Harriet J # tfalker 



CLASSIFIED PRECINCT DIRECTORIES 
(Namos not repeated in Index) 

Chester 7A~ 78 

Coulterville 109-111 
Eden 83- 89 

Evan3ville 100-101 

Florence (Ellis Grove) 112 -113 
Kaskaskia Island 68- 70 



VI INDEX Pages H3-158 

Compiled by Lirs# Eliza Keys Pinlcerton 



Liberty 


97- 98 


Pr. du Rocher 


94- 95 


Preston 


116-118 


Shiloh Hill 


119-120 


Sparta 


82- 86 


Steeleville 


104-107 



<* 



9 






J. 



SKETCHES OF KASKASKIA 
Indians 

For many years before Kaskaskia was knov/n to the white 
man, it was an Indian village, around v/hich the crude natives 
hunted and fished, boiled their corn and venison, smoked the 
calumet, and danced to the guttural notes of discordant music, 
without a reference, therefore, to the Indian tribe from which 
Kaskaskia has taken its name, a sketch of the place, however 
complete in other particulars, would yet be imperfect. 

At the time when the first white adventurers extended th. .r 
explorations into Illinois, a confederation embracing five trx^es 
the Kaskaskias, the Cahokias, the Tsrrarais (or Tamaroas,) the 
Peorias and the Mitchigammies— were found inhabiting the lllinoj s 
country, and were called the "Illinois Confederacy". 

The Kaskaskias occupied the country around the village 
which bears their name, and claimed for their hunting grounds 
the district which now embraces the counties of Randolph, Jack- 
son, Perry, Washington, and portions of St. Clair and Monroe. 
The Cahokias inhabited the region around cahokia— -another Indi- 
an village — v/hose history commences and runs along with that of 
Kaskaskia— situated on the eastern bank of the Mississippi 
river, in St. Clair county, a little below a point opposite the 
city of St. Louis. The Tammarais have left no traces of their 
locality, except that the Twelve Mile prairie, in St. Clair Co., 
was formerly called "Prairie Tammarais", which gives founda- 
tion to the opinion that that was the place of their residence. 
It was an Indian tradition that this tribe was nearly exterminat- 
ed in a battle with the Shawnees, fought on Six Mile prairie, in 
Perry county. The bones of the slain, and other evidences of 
the battle were to be seen there not many years ago. sometime 
afterward, this tribe lost its national identity and united with 
the Cahokias. The Peorias ranged along the Illinois river in 
the region of the now flourishing city of Peoria, and left the 
evidences of their battles with other tribes in that country, 
which are yet visible. The Mitchigammies were first found along 
the shores of Lake Michigan. But they removed in a few years 
afterwards, and settled about Fort Chartres and Prairie du 
Rocher (Illinois). Soon afterward they ceased to exist as a 
distinct tribe, and the remnants blended with the Kaskaskias. 

These tribes were once numerous and powerful in war, and. 
successfully defended their claims to the country around the 
southern borders of Lake Michigan; but a series of disastrous 
conflicts with the doubly savage pottowatomies— a powerful 
branch of the great Chippeway nation, who claimed and exercised 
hunting and fishing dominion over that vast extent of country 
which now embraces the State-, of Wisconsin, Micnigan, Indiana 
and the northern portions of Illinois-so reduced their numbers 
that they were forced southward in search of relief from their 






P 




Q 



SKETCHES OF KASKASKIA 
Indians 

For many years before Kaskaskia was known to the white 
man, it was an Indian village, around whi'.ch the crude natives 
hunted and fished, boiled their corn and venison, smoked the 
calumet, and danced to the guttural notes of discordant music. 
Without a reference, therefore, to the Indian tribe from which 
Kaskaskia has taken its name, a sketch of the place, however 
complete in other particulars, would yet be imperfect. 

At the time when the first white adventurers extended thj .r 
explorations into Illinois, a confederation embracing five tr^oes 
the Kaskaskias, the Cahokias, the Tarrarais (or Tamaroas,) the 
Peorias and the Mitchigamraies--were found inhabiting the Illinod s 
country, and were called the "Illinois Confederacy". 

The Kaskaskias occupied the country around the village 
which bears their name, and claimed for their hunting grounds 
the district which now embraces the counties of Randolph, Jack- 
son, Perry, Washington, and portions of St. Clair and Monroe. 
The Cahokias inhabited the region around cahokia— another Indi- 
an village — whose history commences and runs along with that of 
Kaskaskia — situated on the eastern bank of the Mississippi 
river, in St. Clair county, a little below a point opposite the 
city of St. Louis. The Tammarais have left no traces of their 
locality, except that the Twelve Mile Prairie, in St. Clair Co., 
was formerly called "Prairie Tammarais", which gives founda- 
tion to the opinion that that was the place of their residence. 
It was an Indian tradition that this tribe was nearly exterminat- 
ed in a battle with the shawnees, fought on Six Mile Prairie, in 
Perry county. The bones of the slain, and other evidences of 
the battle were to be seen there not many years ago. sometime 
afterward, this tribe lost its national identity and united with 
the Cahokias. The Peorias ranged along the Illinois river in 
the region of the now flourishing city of peoria, and left the 
evidences of their battles with other tribes in that country, 
which are yet visible. The Mitchigammies were first found along 
the shores of Lake Michigan. But they removed in a few years 
afterwards, and settled about Fort Chartres and Prairie du 
Rocher (Illinois). Soon afterward they ceased to exist as a 
distinct tribe, and the remnants blended with the Kaskaskias. 

These tribes were once numerous and powerful in war, and 
successfully defended their claims to the country around the 
southern borders of Lake Michigan; but a series of disastrous 
conflicts with the doubly savage Pottowatomies — a powerful 
branch of the great Chippeway nation, who claimed and exercised 
hunting and fishing dominion over that v ast extent of country 
which now embraces the States of Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana 
and the northern portions of Illinois — so reduced their numbers 
that they were forced southward in search of relief from their 



cruel adversaries. But even here they were not secure from 

their savage kinsmen. Predatory bands of Kickapoos and 
Shawnees occasionally engaged them in war, and reduced them 
in numbers. One by one these tribes ceased to exist, and 
united with another, until finally, in the year 1830, the 
whole Confederacy was merged into the Kaskaskia tribe, and 
known only as the "Kaskaskia Indians." 

Thus banded together, and having only about one hundred 
and fifty warriors, they were in a condition to love peace 
rather than war, of which they had had more than sufficient to 
satiate the ferocity of their savage natures. They hailed the 
advent of the whites among them with joy, and cultivated their 
friendship as a source of protection against the attacks of 
their Indian enemies. For this reason, they became the friend .3 
of the whites, and often rendered valuable services in the 
capacity of spies and guides. It was the boast of Ducoagne, 
or Ducogne, their last chief, that his tribe had never saea 
the blood of the white man. 

They cultivated some corn in the American Bottom, which, 
with the game they obtained by hunting, furnished them a sub- 
sistence. They exchanged their furs v/ith the French traders 
for such articles of apparel as their habits of life and tastes 
demanded. Leading a listless, indolent life, v/ith no higher 
aim or ambition than obtaining sufficient food and raiment to 
supply the wants of nature, they became lazy, drunken, de- 
graded and debauched, and lost that noble spirit of dignity 
and independence which pulses in the veins of the true Indian. 

In the year 1833, finding their hunting grounds occupied 
by the industrious white man, and not fitted to enjoy the privi- 
leges of encroaching civilization, they bade farewell to the 
land which had been the lifetime home of themselves and their 
fathers, and Joined that stubborn tide of emigration which has 
borne away towards the Pacific Ocean all that wild race of men, 
who once held undisputed possession of the continent, vrith 
tearful eyes and bitter lamentations, they turned their backs 
upon scenes familiar and dear, and sought new hunting grounds • 
towards the sotting sun. The tribe is now extinct, but a few 
of the descendants still live with other tribes of the west. 
The common fate of the Indian race is a source of saddening re- 
flection; but the contributions to Christianity, to science, to 
industrial enterprise, and the world is material wealth, and to 
the political elevation of mankind, which have followed in their 
retreating wake, sufficiently vindicate the usurpation. 

# * # # 

DISCOVERY AND SETTLEMENT OF KASKASKIA 

The precise time of the discovery and settlement of Kas- 
kaskia by the whites is not definitely fixed, but the best 
known data determine it to have been in the year 1686. Explor- 
ing parties had been traversing the Mississippi valley for some 

-2- 



time before Kaskaskia was marked for settlement, a brief 
reference, therefore, to these successive expeditions be- 
comes necessary in completje^y the chain of events which gave 
an origin to Kaskaskia. (/ 

The romantic adventures ot James Marquette, the Jesvit 
Missionary, and Chevalier Joliet, a merchant of Quebec, are 
familiar to the readers of western history. These two in- 
defatigable and fearless men were the pioneers of those ex- 
plorations which opened the western wilderness to the ingress 
of a white population. Their first expedition was com- 
menced on the 10th day of June, 1670. They started from 
Green Bay, accompanied by five others, and crossed the coun- 
try on the head-waters of the Fox river to the Wisconsin, 
which stream they descended to its mouth, and floated out 
upon the broad bosom of the majestic Mississippi, on the 
17th of the same month. From the time the heroic adventurer, 
DeSoto, and his brave followers discovered this great river, 
in 1542. its mighty current had swept along unseen by the eye 
of civilized man, until the day these two Frenchmen enteiei 
it at the mouth of the Wisconsin river. They beheld its 
grandeur and magnitude, M arquette remarks, "with a joy I 
cannot express." 

Resolving at once to descend and see where the fresh, 
clear waters of this noble river were lost in the ocean, 
they lost no time in prosecuting their perilous journey. As 
they passed along, they noticed the Piasau — a painted* 
rock standing on the margin of the river, near the present 
city of Alton; the confluence of the Missouri's muddy current 
with the pure waters of the Mississippi; the Grand Tower — 
a high, perpendicular rock standing near the middle of the 
river, about thirty miles below the present city of Chester; 
the mouth of the Ohio, which they thought was the Wabash. 
Finally, reaching an Indian village in Arkansas, where they 
found the natives savage and ferocious, almost beyond contro] , 
and learning it was yet a long distance to the mouth of the 
river, they determined to return, and accordingly, on the 
17th of July, one month from the day they first saw the 
river — they commenced their homeward journey. Instead of re- 
turning by the Wisconsin river as they had come, they as- 
cended the Illinois and reached Lake Michigan about the 
locality of Chicago, from whence they went direct to Green 
Bay, at which place they arrived in September. 

The pious and holy Marquette went about his missionary 
labors with the Indians, and died suddenly soon afterwards. 
Joliet went immediately to Quebec , and spread an account of 
their discoveries before the people, who became so electri- 
fied by the thrilling narrative of their voyage that the 
spirit of adventure rose to fever heat. The news soon 
reached France, and produced a similar excitement there. 
Impelled by the feverish zeal which these reports created, 
came Robert De La Salle, v/hose enthusiastic composition was 
almost melting with the eagerness of adventure. Upon his ar- 
rival at Quebec, he conceived the project of establishing a 

-3- 



line of posts from Canada, through the Illinois country, 
and down the Mississippi to the Gulf of Mexico, securing 
the approbation and influence of ^rontinac, then the 
Governor-General of Canada, he returned to France, and laid 
the plans of his enterprise before Colvert, the King's minis- 
ter. Meeting a favorable consideration from the King, he 
was created a Chevalier, and received a commission to return 
and rebuild Fort Front inac. Upon the reconstruction of ths 
Fort he labored with indefatigable zeal until the Autumn of 
1677, when he sailed again to France, 

Having fulfilled his mission to the satisfaction of the 
King, he received an outfit for a voyage, and brought with 
him thirty-four emigrants to the New world, among whom was 
Lieutenant M. Tonti, an Italian, who became the devoted 
friend and faithful follower of Lasalle in all his expeditions 
and enterprises. During the next five years he traveled the 
wilderness almost constantly, arcjnd the Lakes, and from St, 
Anthony's F alls to the mouth ol the Mississippi, encounter- 
ing difficulties, perils and privations almost beyond human 
endurance. In the autumn of 1683, he sailed a third time, 
for France. The energetic industry he had displayed in prose- 
cuting his adventurous exploits, secured for him the cordial 
approbation of the King, who placed under his direction a 
fleet of four vessels, carrying two hundred and eighty emi- 
grants for settlement in the wild country which he had been 
exploring. It was the intention of Lasalle to make the mouth 
of the Mississippi river; but, dissensions of a most discord- 
ant and disastrous character arising between him and M. de 
Beaugeu, the marine commander, the fleet drifted slowly and 
sluggishly across the ocean, and finally, after a voyage of 
six month's duration, they reached Madagarda Bay, in Texas, 
having drifted southward of the Mississippi. After exploring 
the coast for a few months, the commander left Lasalle and his 
party to search alone for the "hidden river", and returned 
with the fleet to France, with hope and courage such as few 
men ever possessed, did Lasalle continue to search for the 
mouth of the Mississippi, by which he wished to return to 
Canada, Disappointment met him in every expedition; but his 
spirit was a stranger to despair, and he continued to traverse 
the marshy country along the Gulf coast, until his followers, 
less courageous than himself, and dying from fatigue and fever, 
became dispirited and sullenly refused to obey him. Mutiny 
arose, which alone would have disappointed the object of the 
search; but fate had decreed a more tragic termination to the 
Chevalier's exploits. He was waylaid and shot dead by one of 
the chief conspirators. 

During the -two years which Lasalle had been absent, his 
lieutenant, Tonti, who had been left in command of the Illi- 
nois country, was engaged in explorations, and. building forts. 
The long absence of Lasalle, from whom he could get no intelli- 
gence, was a source of melancholy speculation for Tonti. 
Finally, hearing a rumor that Lasalle was in the west Indies, 
he organized an expedition, and descended the Mississippi in 
search of him; but, on reaching the mouth, he was compelled to 

-4- 



return without any tidings of his long lost friend. In 
making this voyage he established several trading posts, 
and the weight of authority establishes the opinion that 
Kaskaskia was one of them. The presumption, therefore, is 
irreoistablc, that M. Tonti way the first white man whose 
foot pressed the soil on which Kaskaskia wa3 afterward 
built. As it became a permanent settlement, its existence 
may date from that period — 1696. 

Father Allous, a companion of Lasalle, and a devoted 
Christian missionary, came to Kaskaskia soon after the visit 
of Tonti, and established a missionary station. He was 
probably the first white man who made a permanent residence 
in Kaskaskia. In a short time afterwards the French traders 
made their advent into the place, and then commenced the 
transition from an Indian to a French village. This trans- 
ition, however, was rather slow for several years, as the 
French who came at that time were chiefly traders, whose 
avocation required them to be transient rather than perma- 
nent inhabitants. Probably Kaskaskia could not be con- 
sidered anything more than a trading post and mission sta- 
tion, before the year 1712. The mission became a very 
flourishing one soon after it was established by Father 
Allous. In 1690, Father Gravier took charge of the station, 
and christened it "The Village of the Immaculate Conception 
of the Holy Virgin." A chapel was erected, probably on the 
eastern side of the Kaskaskia river, near the residence of 
Mr. Menard, the remains of which are still to be seen. The 
ruins of another Jesuit chapel, erected just in the rear of 
the present church edifice, are also visible, but at what 
time it was built is now unknown. A Jesuit register, com- 
mencing in 1695, has been preserved, and is now among the 
church papers of the parish. At what particular period the 
first permanent settlers came to Kaskaskia, and who they 
were, is a matter more of conjecture than certainty; no 
record of them having been preserved. It is known, however, 
that previous to the year 1720., a considerable emigration 
had arrived from Canada and France, by the way of New Orle- 
ans, and made permanent settlements, as to the names of 
these pioneers, there is also an uncertainty, but the most 
authentic traditions v/hich the writer has been able to 
gather, corroborates the well established belief among the 
present inhabitants of Kaskaskia, that the following were 
among the principal ones of those early settlers, viz: 
Bazyl La Chapelle, Michael Derouse, (called St. Pierre,) 
Jean Baptiste St. Gemme Beauvais, Baptiste Montreal, Boucher 
De Montbrun, C harles Danie, Francois charlesville, Antoinc 
Bienvenu, Louis Buyat, Alexis Doza, Joseph Paget, Prix Pagi, 
Michael Antoyen, Langlois De Lisle, La Derrouttc, Noval, 
and some few others. 

Bazyl La Chappelle was among the first from Canada, 
and came to Kaskaskia in company with eleven brothers, but he 
alone of the number remained permanently. He left four sons: 
Antoine, Louis, La Chappelle and Baptiste, from whom are 

-5- 



descended the family bearing that name; Louis La Chappelle, 
new living about two miles south of the village, is the 
son of Baptiste. 

Michael Derouse came also from Canada, and was the pro- 
genitor of the numerous family of that name now living in 
and around Kaskaskia. This is the most numerous of any 
descendency of the original settlers. He was the father of 
Michael, Joseph, Phillip, Jerome, DeBarbeau, who became 
prominent and influential men in the community. Pierre 
Derouse, now living in the vicinity of Kaskaskia, at the 
age of 60 years, is a son of Joseph. 

(It is proper to explain th«- 1 the names by which many 
of the French are known are those of the names of the places 
from whence they came. For instance, "Beauvais" was af- 
fixed to the name "St. Gemmo" because that family came from 
the city of Eeauvais in France. In many instances the real 
name has been lost, and that of the town from which the per- 
son came substituted. The Derouse family came originally 
from St. Pierre, in France, which accounts for that affix 
to their name. The right name of the Montreal family, is 
now unknown. The first of the name who came to Canada, 
were called "Montrois", because they came from Montrois, 
and after they came to Kaskaskia, they received the name 
of Montreal, for the reason that they came from Montreal, 
iri Canada. The St. Gemme family dropped the affix "Beau-' 
vais" after they came to Kaskaskia, and are now known by 
the original name, some of the descendants residing in St. 
Genevieve, Mo. are now writing the name "St. James".) 

Jean Baptiste St. Gemme was the first of that family 
who located in Kaskaskia. He was a man of some wealth and 
became a conspicuous constituent of the place. He lived to 
a very old age, and died leaving six sons: Raphael, Antoine, 
Charles, Joseph, Vitol, and Baptiste, and two daughters, one 
of whom married De Ruisseau, and is the grandmother of Mrs. 
J. H. Lucas of St. Louis. Joseph, the third son, died in 
early life, and was buried in Kaskaskia by the side of his 
father and mother; Raphael became a citizen of New Orleans, 
and died there; Charles died somewhere in Louisiana; An- 
toine moved to Arkansas where he died, at an advanced age. 
Vitol and Baptiste were among the first French settlers of 
St. Genevieve, Mo., and died in that place, leaving large 
families, some of whom are yet living; Mrs. jarrot, of St. 
Louis, now eighty years old, is the daughter of Vitol St. 
Gemme. Baptiste had fourteen children, three of whom are 
yet living; viz: Augustus St. Gemme, aged 68 years; Eleanor 
aged 66; and Julia, aged 76. 

Raphael St. Gemme first located at Fort Du Quesne, and 
took part in the defense of the Fort, an interesting account 
of which will be found in Sparks'. He also aided in the 
celebrated defeat of Gen. Braddock on the 9th of July, 1755. 
He afterwards came to Kaskaskia and located permanently* His 
family consisted of one son, Alexis, and five daughters. 

-6- 



Alexis St. Gemme was the grandfather of Mrs. Maxwell, now 
residing in Kaskaskia. 

Baptiste Montreal came from Canada, and was noted for 
his industry and quiet deportment. From him sprang the 
numerous family bearing his name. One of his grandsons 
died a few months ago, aged seventy-seven years. 

Boucher De Montbrun was a man of sprightly activity, 
and became very prominent in Kaskaskia. He married a [Miss 
Langlois, a lady of much beauty and respectability, some 
of his descendants are now to be found in that country. 

Charles Danie devoted his life to the quiet pursuit of 
farming. The oldest land grant on record that we have been 
able to discover, was made to Charles Danie, on the 10th 
day of May, 1722. His descendants became very numerous at 
one time, but now only a few of them remain. 

Francois Charlesville came among the first from Canada, 
and engaged in 'trading down the riVs?r to New Orleans. He 
v/as a man of remarkable shrewdness and energy, and amassed 
considerable wealth. Charlesville left four sons — Francois, 
Baptiste, Charles, and Louis. Andrew Charlesville, now 
living in the Point, about 70 years old, is the son of 
Francois, and grandson of the first Francois. 

Antoine Bienvenu came from New Orleans, and brought 
with him considerable wealth. He lived for the sole object 
of enjoying life, and probably no man ever received a larger 
share of life's ephemeral joys. He left three sons, Antoine, 
Henry, and Michael, all of whom lived and died in Kaskaskia. 
Some of their children are yet living about the village. 

Louis Buyat came direct frua France to Kaskaskia. He 
belonged to a family of some rank, and on his arrival in 
Kaskaskia, he took a leading position among the people. 
The bell which hangs by the c hurch, whose mellow tones 
were the first ever heard in the Mississippi Valley, and 
which has announced the hour of worship for more than a 
hundred years, was sent as a present to Mr. Buyat to be 
given by him to the infant church of America. His name is 
intimately connected with the church and the town. From 
him sprang a numerous descendency, Louis Buyat, the first 
son of the pioneer, was the father of Louis, Michael, 
Nicholas, Henry, and Joseph, who became prominent men cmong 
the people. Joseph, the youngest son is still living, and 
is now one of the oldest men to be found about Kaskaskia. 
The family is less numerous now than formerly. 

Alexis Doza was from Canada, and possessed a remarkable 
energy and courage. His son, named also /lexis, became one 
of the most distinguished characters of Kaskaskia. He was 
fearless of danger, adventurous, energetic, and possessed a 
degree of hardihood and endurance which rarely falls to the 

-7- 



lot of man. It is related of him that he would start from 
Kaskaskia at any hour, whether night or day, and make the 
trip to Vincennes, on foot and alone, in three days. He be- 
came a carrier of dispatches between the two posts, and 
would travel across the country \*hen it was extremely dang- 
erous for any white man to be found outside the villages. 
Some of his descendants are yet living about Kaskaskia. 

Joseph Paget was probably the father of Prix Pagi, 
(although there is a difference in the orthography of the 
names). Prix Pagi erected a mill on the site where Mr. 
Daniel Reily's mill stands. He was murdered in the mill 
by the Indians. 

Of Michael Autyen, De Lisle, La Deroutte, and Noval, 
we have been unable to learn anything beyond the fact, that 
they were among the earliest pioneers, and occupied con- 
spicuous positions in the village. 

Mr. Langlois located and lived in Kaskaskia, until 
the year 1736, when he Joined the expedition under 
D'Artaguette (then Governor of Illinois,) and Vincennes, 
against the Chickasaw Indians, and with them was taken 
prisoner and burned at the stake. Some of his descendants 
are now living about Prairie du Rocher. 

Though these pioneers in the western world were sur- 
rounded by a wilderness, inhabited only by Indians and wile? 
beasts, with no communication with civilized man, except 
through tedious voyages of the traders to New Orleans, and 
the occasional visits to and from the villages of cahokia 
and Vincennes, yet no people probably ever enjoyed life 
better than they did. They were frank, open-hearted, broth- 
erly, unambitious, careless of the acquisition of property, 
contented and joyous. Bringing with them the gayeties and 
vivacity of Paris life, they indulged in every variety of 
social amusement, and enjoyed more of life's pleasures than 
is usually allotted to pioneers. Destitute of a pretext 
for that strife, contention and bickering which a desire for 
wealth never fail3 to create, they lived in peaceful har- 
mony, and culled from each passing hour the larger share of 
its moments for enjoyment. Their wealth, their time and la- 
bor, were matters of indifference — . v/ith a superabundance 
of wheat and corn, which they reaped from the soil with but 
little cultivation, and being supplied by the Indians with 
plenty of venison and bear meat, they realized no cares or 
anxiety, and were contented and happy, if the unalloyed 
happiness of temporal life has ever been enjoyed, it was 
certainly approached by those early pioneers of Kaskaskia. 

They introduced the French system of agriculture, and 
each family had a parcel of land in the "Common Field". A 
strict community system was observed, and if the head of a 
family was sick or necessarily absent, his crop was attended 
to by his neighbors. Ordinances were made regulating the 
repairs of fences, time of gathering crops, and opening the 

-8- 



field for the range of stock, in the fall. Each plat or 
land in the C ommon Field was distinctly marked out and 
owned in fee simple by the person to whom granted. It was 
a universal custom among the villagers, when the husband 
returned in the evening, weary from his daily toils, for 
his affectionate wife and children to meet him with a kiss. 
This domestic interview was at the: gate of the door-yard, 
in full view of tho village. It was an evidence of tho 
happiness that reigned within. 

THE CHURCH 

At what time the first parish priest appeared among 
the people of Kaskaskia, is now unknown; neither can it be 
ascertained when the first parish church was buiZt. It is 
certain, however, that the parish congregation occupied the. 
Jesuit chapel until about the year 1721, when the old build- 
ing which stood for half a century was erected. This was 
the first permanent church built west of the Alleghany 
Mountains, upon this continent. The bell which now hangs 
by the spacious brick church in Kaskaskia, was brought from 
Prance and placed upon this old building, and was the first 
bell to ring out the tidings of Christian worship in the 
Mississippi valley. Its measured strokes have tolled at 
the burial of three generations, and still the towering 
forest trees and hill sides in the vicinity echo its musi- 
cal pealing. The church record, now among the archives of 
the church, reaches back only to the year 1721 — the previous 
record, if there was any kept, having been lost. At that 
time Father Gibault was the officiating priest. He' resided 
at Prairie du Rocher and was priest of that parish. He per- 
formed the duties pertaining to his holy office, for both 
these parishes, for many years, and died deeply lamented by 
the people, for whose spiritual good he had lived and labored. 
He lived a truly Christian life, and so deported himself as 
to show that he was at peace with his God, and his fellow 
men. He wa3 always cheerful, and carried with him a smile 
and pleasant word for every one he met. The church to which 
reference has been made, stood until about the year 1780, 
when another was erected near the same spot, which gave place 
to the present large brick edifice about twenty years ago. 
It is one of the largest churches in Illinois. Father Perren 
is now the officiating priest, and though he has attained 
the age of sixty, he is able to read the ancient church 
record, which is imperfect French manuscript, without the 
aid of glasses. 

GOVERNMENT 

In the year 1708, the French Government sent out 
D<Artaguette as commissary of Louisiana, with instructions 
to put in operation a system of government* 

He made some progress tov/ards the object of his mission, 
but owing to the remote distances of the settlements from 
each other, he could do but little. In 1712, the French 
Government, believing the object could be best attained 
through private enterprise, conferred upon a wealthy merchant 

-9- 



of Paris, named Crozat, the monopoly of Louisiana for fif- 
teen years, expecting that his commercial operations would 
be an inducement to a speedy colonization of the country. 
The nucleus of his operations was in Louisiana, but his 
trading posts extended throughout the Mississippi valley, 
A post established at Kaskaskia, was the means of creating 
a lively trade in deer, buffalo, and bear meat, which were 
purchased for transportation to New Orleans and Mobile. 
This also stimulated the erection of Mills for the manu- 
facture of flour, to be shipped to the same market. Traces 
of these mills may be seen to this day, along the bluffs 
which skirt the cultivated lands, and the renains of a 
wind-mill were visible a few years ago, in the prairie 
between Kaskaskia and Prairie du Rocher. The remains of a 
mill are yet to be seen on the eastern side of ttfu river, 
near the residence of Mr. Menard. It was prooab^y at this 
time that a mill was erected upon the same L ;ite where Mr. 
Riley «s mill now stands. 

Crozat was succeeded, in 1717, by the "Company of the 
West", organized in Paris, to cooperate with a crazy scotch- 
man, ETohn Law, in a wild banking and stockjobbing scheme, 
and invested in fee simple to the public lr.nds. From this 
source the villages and individuals obtained grants and titles 
to such quantities of the public domain as they wanted. This 
company was merged into the "Royal Company of the Indies", 
in 1719, and thereafter transacted business under that name. 
M. Boisbriant, the representative of the crown and commis- 
sary of the Company, and De Ursins, were stationed at Fort 
Chartres for the purpose of conveying lands to the settlers. 
A series of articles were enacted in 1721, by a council de- 
puted by the King of France, for the government of the Royal 
Company. Under these regulations the company prospered, and 
agriculture, commerce and population increased rapidly. — 
Here a little pebble of civilization had been dropped into 
the centre of the wild ocdan of savage life, and the circling 
ripple was well started, and beginning to widen out. 

Through the agency of this Company, horses, cattle, 
hogs, and chickens were introduced. Cattle were brought 
from Canada, and were almost universally black. Horses were 
brought from the Spanish possessions in the south. They were 
6f the Arabian stock, having been introduced into Spain by 
the Moors, and brought to America by the Spaniards. The 
celebrated French, or "Point Ponies",, have descended from 
this stock. The "Company of St. Phillips" — a branch of the 
Royal Company, was organized in 171.9, in Paris, and Philip 
Francois Renault was appointed the principal agent. He ex- 
pected to engage in mining, and brought with him about two 
hundred miners, mechanics and laborers. He stopped in the 
West Indies and bought five hundred negro slaves, and arrived 
•in Illinois with ample means for prosecuting the business of 
the Company. This was the origin of the "French slaves" in 
Illinois, whose numerous descendants can now be found in 
Kaskaskia, St. Genevieve, St. Louis and many other places. 

The charter of the Royal Company was surrendered in 
1732, and the country reverted back again to the Government 

-10- 



of France, M. D»Artaguette was appointed Governor of Illi- 
nois. Under his administration the French settlements en- 
joyed their palmiest days. He became a very popular man, 
and was known from Louisiana to Canada. He gave his per- 
sonal attention and energies to every enterprise whose ob- 
ject was to benefit the people of his province. 

In 1736, when the French Government decided upon an 
expedition against the Chickasaw Indians, he collected all 
the military force he could muster in the Illinois and Wa- 
bash country, which consisted of a few regulars who had 
been stationed at Fort Chartres, a few companies of volun- 
teer militia, and about one thousand redskins, wnom he had 
induced to join his army by his own personal influence 
among them. He descended the Mississippi to the lower 
Chickasaw Bluffs, and then crossed the country to the sources 
of the Tallahatchie river, where, by appointment, he was to 
meet Bienville, with the troops from Louisiana. Bienville 
failed to come at the appointed time, and not being able to 
restrain the undisciplined Indians, D'Artagv.ette was forced 
to attack the enemy against his own judgment. His little 
army was forced to retreat, and he and the gallant Vincennes, 
and some others were taken prisoners and were burned at the 
stake. Never did Indian fires crackle the sinews of braver 
and nobler men. La Buissonierre was appointed the successor 
of D f Artaguette, and administered the government until the 
year 1751. During this period the whole country enjoyed a 
profound peace. Happiness and prosperity smiled upon the 
settlements. The Indians throughout the whole length and 
breadth of the valley were at peace, and the commercial 
intercourse between the Southern and Northern posts, which 
had been interrupted by the Chickasaws, was again resumed. 
Chevalier McCarty succeeded to the Governship in 1751, and 
continued to hold the position until a short time before 
the country passed into the possession of the Fnglish, in 
1763. M. St. Ange de Belle Rive was the last of the French 
Governors for the Illinois country. 

On the arrival of Capt. Stirling, of the Royal High- 
landers, in 1765, Governor Rive retired to St. Louis. Capt. 
Stirling died at Fort Chartres a short time after his ar- 
rival, and was succeeded first by Llajor Frazier, and soon 
after by Col. Reed, who became notorious for his military 
oppressions. His career, however, was short, as he was suc- 
ceeded in 1760. by Col. v/ilkins, who, by the authority of 
Gen. Gage, then Commander of the British army in America, 
established a court of justice. He appointed seven judges 
v/ho held court at Fort Chartres, commencing on the 6th of 
December, 1768. This was the first court of c ommon law 
jurisdiction ever held in the Mississippi valley. In 1772, 
the seat of government was moved from Fort Chartres to Fort 
Gage. The British garrison which had been stationed at Fort 
Chartres, under the command of t he Governor, removed and 
occupied the Fort. This Fort became the seat of Government, 
and was occupied for that purpose as long as the English re- 
tained possession of the country. M. Rocheblave, a French- 

-11- 



man. was commandant at the time the Fort was surrendered to 
Col. Clark, 1778, 

CLARIS EXPEDITION 

The people of Kaskaskia and the west took but little 
part in the American Revolution, during the first years of 
its existence. Remotely situated from the theatre of war. 
and menaced by no invading army, they quietly pursued their 
ordinary avocations, giving themselves but little concern 
about affairs on the Atlantic coast. Indeed, they knew but 
little of what was going on, for the means of obtaining news 
was scarcely sufficient to give them a correct irca of the 
cause of the war. A small garrison of British soldiers oc- 
cupied Fort Gage, and passed the time in listless inactivity* 

In 1778, Col. George Rogers Clark, acting under in- 
structions of Patrick Henry, then Governor of Virginia, col- 
lected four companies of volunteers in the neighborhood of 
the "Ohio Falls" and"Corn Islandy and set out on an expedi- 
tion to take Kaskaskia. This little army, numbering one 
hundred and fifty-three men, descended the Ohio river to 
Fort Massacre, below the mouth of the Tennessee, where they 
landed and commenced their march across the wilderness. 

On the banks of the Ohio they found a party of hunters 
from Kaskaskia, from whom they obtained important informa- 
tion about the state of affairs there. Clark secured John 
Saunders, one of the hunting party, to conduct the army 
across the country. The distance was one hundred and twenty 
miles. Reaching the vicinity of the Fort on the ^eastern side 
of the river, Clark concealed his men until nightfall, and 
sent out spies to reconnoitre and report. After dark he took 
possession of the old ferry house, three-quarters of a mile 
above the village. Here he divided his army into three 
parties; two were to cross the river and attack the town 
upon two points, while the third was to capture the Fort. 
The British had instilled into the minds of the French that 
the "Long-Knives" — as they called the Virginians — were the 
most terrible monsters in the world. Clark used this im- 
pression to a good purpose. in this attack. He directed that 
the divisions crossing the river should enter the town frcm 
two opposite extremes, and as they c ame in they should 
frighten the quietly slumbering people into a surrender. 
These divisions were under the command of the intrepid 
Captain Helm, and when they entered the town, and were well 
distributed through it, they set up such a terrific yelling 
and shouting as frightened the unsuspecting people into the 
thought that the whole savage race of "Long-Knives" had brok- 
en loose upon them. Never did such a hideous, terrifying 
noise proceed from human beings as those Virginians kept up 
until the dawn of day. The terrified people were told if 
they remained in their houses they would not be hurt, but 
if they came out, or made any resistance, they would be 
killed in the most barbarous manner. They surrendered their 
guns and every means of defense, and seemed willing to ac- 

-18- 



cede to any demand which the invaders should make. Never 
were people more effectually frightened. They believed that 
they were surrounded by a number of these monsters sufficient 
to exterminate the whole village in half an hour. 

When morning came, the people were not less terrified 
at the appearance of the "Long-Knives", than they had been 
at their furious noise. 

While the tumultuous uproar of taking Kaskaskia was 
going on, Clark, at the head of the third division of his 
little army, was quietly possessing himself of Fort G^ge. 
The Fort was well guarded with regular soldiers, and cannon, 
Clark had no cannon or any means whatever, of assaulting the 
Port. It became necessary, therefore, to resort t,q strata- 
gem. By accident, an American in the Fort, whose sympa- 
thies were with the American cause, met Capt. Kenton, who 
was leading the detachment to enter the Fort. This Ameri- 
can conducted Kenton and his men in by a back gate. They 
found a light burning, but all within were sleeping soundly. 
Governor Rocheblave had no intimation of what was going on 
until awakened by Capt. Kenton to be informed that he was a 
prisoner. 

The annals of romance furnish nothing more singular 
than this achievement. The origin of the expedition, the 
Journey — with its perils and hardships, the manner of the 
attack, and the success, possessed the air of fiction. 

V/ith the Fort in his possession, which commanded 
Kaskaskia. Clark had the means of enforcing any mandate he 
might issue. The people were in his power and regarded him 
with mistrustful awe. The day after the conquest, Clark 
organized a temporary military government, and put some 
suspected persons in prison. Governor Rocheblave was re- 
fractory, and Clark put him in irons and sent him in charge 
of Capt. Montgomery to Williamsburg, then the capital of 
Virginia. 

The people, fearfully excited, and seeing these pro- 
ceedings, concluded that some terrible doom awaited them. 
Clark designedly remained silent, and appeared to be medita- 
ting some mode of awful torture to inflict upon the people. 
On the third day, U. Gibault, the priest, and some others, 
came to Clark and asked that they might have permission to 
assemble in the church once more before they were destroyed, 
and bid each other a last farewell. 

Clark replied, in a very careless manner, that he 
cared but little how they took their final separation— that 
they could go to the church if they wished. He look de- 
struction, and his words, which were few, scorched as if 
they proceeded from out a fiery furnace. 

The whole population assembled in the church, mourn- 
fully chanted their prayers, and took final, leave — never ex- 

-13- 



never expecting to meet each other age In in this world. 
After their parting interview was over — which must have 
been a scene to melt the savage hearts of the imaginary 
"Long-Khives" — Clark, regarding the object of his artful 
maneuver fully accomplished, called them together, and 
thus addressed them: 

"Who do you take us to be? Do you think we are 
savages — that we intend to massacre you? Do you think 
Americans will strip women and children, and take the 
bread out of their mouths? My countrymen never make waxr 
upon the innocent. It was to protect our own wi/es and 
children that we have penetrated this wilderness to sub- 
due these British posts, from whence the savages are sup- 
plied with arms and ammunition to murder us, v/e no not 
war against Frenchmen. The King of France, your former 
master, is our ally. His ships and soldiers are fighting 
for the Americans. The French are our friends. Go and 
enjoy your religion, and worship where you please. Re- 
tain your property — and now please to inform all your 
citizens for me that thoy are quite at liberty to conduct 
themselves as usual, and dismiss all apprehensions of 
alarm, v/o are your friends, and cama to deliver you from 
the British." 

This speech relieved the pressure of anxiety which 
had weighed so heavily upon them, and a revulsion of the 
most uproarious joy prevailed throughout the town. To 
the people it seemed a deliverance from horrible tortures 
and death. They cheerfully and gladly acknowledged Clark 
the Commandant of the country. 

In the winter following, Col. Clark received informa- 
tion that Gov. Hamilton, commanding the British forces at 
Vincennes, had determined to re-capture Kaskaskia. At 
first Clark decided to defend, and commenced preparing 
Fort Gage for the siege, but upon mature reflection he re- 
solved to invade Vincennes and take Hamilton, lest Hamilton 
should invade Kaskaskia and take him. He reinforced the 
remnant of his army still remaining, by a volunteer company 
of Frenchmen from Kaskaskia, under Capt. C harlesville, and 
another from Cahokia, commanded by Capt. Mccarty, and on- 
the 7th of February, 1779, this heroic band, with the brave 
and sagacious Clark at its head, commenced the perilous 
march on the "Old Vincennes trace" to Fort sackville. a 
boat had been dispatched around by the Ohio river, carry- 
ing two four-pound cannon, four swivels, and a quantity of 
provisions. Capt. John Rogers, with forty-six men, was 
entrusted with this boat, and instructed to meet the army 
near Vincennes. V/hen Clark approached the village, he sent 
a note to the inhabitants informing them of his arrival, 
and the object of his coming. To make the people think 
that he had a formidable army, he sent in the names of var- 
ious gentlemen in Kentucky, to their acquaintances in Vin- 
cennes, which made them believe thet nearly all Kentucky 
was in the field. He practiced this delusion upon the 
troops in the garrison, a3 well as upon the people of the 

'-14- 



town, by inarching his army several times around a mound in 
the prairie, changing the colors of the flag every time he 
came around on the side of the mound next the Fort. These 
several divisions of a fine Kentucky army, carefully 
watched and counted by the soldiers in the Fort, had & 
dampening effect upon red-coat bravery. The assault on the 
Fort was made on the evening of the 23d. On the morning of 
the 24th, Clark, moved apparently by an amiable desire to 
prevent further bloodshed, sent in a note ordering Gov. 
Hamilton to surrender the garrison immediately. 

The Governor refused to comply with this peremptory 
order, and Clark renewed the attack with all the force and 
fury he could summon. An incessant fire of eighteen hours 
brought forth a note from Hamilton, requesting a truce for 
three days, and an interview with Col. Clark. To this note 
Clark briefly replied, positively refusing to grar.t the 
truce, but very carelessly remarked that if Hamii-on wished 
to talk with him, he could be found at the church. Hamil- 
ton sought the interview, .which gave Clark to understand 
that the Governor was becoming concerned about his situa- 
tion. Clark was powerfully courageous. He would listen to 
nothing but an 'immediate surrender of the garrison at dis- 
cretion. Hamilton yielded, and on the 25th, the Fort, with 
all its stores, amounting in value to more than fifty thou- 
sand dollars, was surrendered, seventy-nine prisoners were 
paroled, and went to Detroit. Governor Hamilton was sent 
under a strong. escort to the capital of Virginia. 

This reference to the taking of Vincennes diverges 
somewhat beyond the limits of these sketches, but it ap- 
peared necessary as a connecting link in the chain of events 
of which Kaskaskia was the prolific source, and to show more 
fully the operations and character of Col. Clark, than whom 
no man was better fitted for the conquest of Illinois. 
High upon the scroll of fame should be registered, in en- 
during characters, the name of George Rogers Clark. Upon 
the summit of Garrison Hill, amidst the remaining ruins of 
Fort Gage, Illinois should do honor to a gallant soldier and 
pure patriot, by the erection of a monument to his memory. 

ILLINOIS BELONGED TO VIRGINIA 

Col. Clark had now effectually conquered the Illinois 
country, and driven the British from it. Illinois then em- 
braced the territory out of which have been formed the States 
of Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Illinois. This territory 
was claimed by Virginia ? and, as a matter of course, it fell 
under her jurisdiction. In October, 1778, the House of Bur- 
gesses created "Illinois County" — which included the whole 
district on the "Western side of the Ohio River". Col. 
John Todd, of Kentucky, was appointed by Patrick Henry, the 
Governor of Virginia, Lieutenant Governor, or County Lieuten- 
ant, and Civil Commandant of "Illinois County". He arrived 
at Kaskaskia, on the 15th of June, 1779, and proceeded im- 
mediately to put in operation a civil government, by estab- 
lishing courts and appointing officers. He administered the 

-15- 



executive trust of Illinois County until the year 1782* 
In that year he went to Virginia, on business pertaining to 
the county. On his return through Kentucky, finding his 
old companions, Colonels Daniel Boone, Logan, Cooper, 
Major McGary, and others, by whose side he had stood in many 
a skirmish with Indians— going to fight their troublesome 
enemies again, he could not resist the temptation of join- 
ing them. But the romance of an Indian war became a sad 
reality with him. He was killed in the celebrated battle 
of Blue Licks. 

The successor of Col, Todd was Timothy De Montbrun, a 
Frenchman. His name is attached to deeds of conv*<tyr.nce and 
other public papers, now among the archives of ftendclph 
County. 

THF NORTH - WEST TERRITORY 

Virginia ceded the North-west Territory to the conti- 
nental Congress in 1784, but the bill organizing the Terri- 
tory did not pass until 1787. General Arthur St. Clair, 
of Pennsylvania, who had borne a conspicuous part in the 
revolution, and filled many civil offices, was appointed 
Governor of the newly organized Territory. Y/inthrop 
Sargeant wasappointed Secretary, and Parsons, Barnum, and 
Symmes, United States Judges. 

Though these Territorial officers were appointed in 
1787, they did not reach Kaskaskia until the year 1790. 
Upon the arrival of the Governor and secretary, the county 
of St. Clair was organized — the boundary line commencing at 
the mouth of Mackinaw creek, on the Illinois river, and 
running in a direct course to the Ohio; thence down that 
river to its mouth, and up the Mississippi and Illinois 
rivers to the place of beginning. A Court of Common Pleas 
was established, and John Edgar, of Kaskaskia, John Baptiste 
Barbeau, of Frairie du Rocher, and John De Moulin, of 
Cahokia, v/ere appointed Judges, each of whom held courts in 
the district of his residence-r-the county being divided into 
three judicial districts. William St. Clair was appointed 
Clerk, and Recorder of Deeds, and William Biggs, Sheriff. 
Thus the machinery of government was set in motion, and con- 
tinued without interruption until 1795, when Randolph 
County was stricken off from St. Clair, and organized. As 
a Sketch of the county will be given, further reference to 
it will be omitted here. 

To preserve the chronological order designed in these 
sketches, it becomes necessary here to refer to the first 
English settlers in Kaskaskia. 

ENGLISH SETTLFRS IN KASKASKIA 

At this period Kaskaskia was the most important place 
west of the Alleghany Mountains, and was the point to which 
all emigrants to the wilderness Territory directed their 
course. After reaching Kaskaskia, they would explore the 

-16- 



aajacent country ana select locations. Some of these to 
whom we shall refer, remained in Kaskaskia only a short 
time • 

Some of the soldiers under Col. Clark remained in the 
country or returned to the States and brought their fami- 
lies and other emigrants to the newly conquered Ter-itorv 
Among these pioneers were John Dayle, James pirrat nobort 

£ob^ e ^ ri B Tf' T:, BX ^ S > James M ° ore " Shadr!lck'Bond7 
Robert Kidd, Luke Rutherford, and James Garrison. This 

band of brave pioneers who opened the way for that influx 
of emigration which has peopled the west, reached Kaskaskia 
in the year 1781. Dayle, Plggat, Bowen, Biggs, Kidd 
^^f^° rd ' and Whitehead, were soldiers, accustomed 'to the 
Privations of pioneer life and travel. They had pursuaded 
* e other * t0 c ° rae w "h them to the wilderness country? 
and make their home upon the rich soil and amidst the 
deepened forest of Illinois. 

m „ „5 ayle Seated permanently in Kaskaskia, and beirr * 
man of some education., he taught school—whether Fntlish 
or French is now a matter of conjecture. He understood both 

tled^f tiU h^ 17 ^ ° f the ° thers wre farm^rs^ and se?- h 
llt+iZ *£ e £°^° m above Kaskaskia. This was the first 

of their n se°tlin F e hTrl^T in th ° C ° Untry > and fr0 » ^ fact 

abo^t iP o P ne nu^mS. ^^ "° CheSter " a "^W 

About the same time, a Mr. Huff, with his fam-fiv ™,* 

Huf r W h a °H herS ' , ^ L Pe nn^lvania , and ' star ted for IulAols 
Huff had married the widow Mooredock, who had three sons 

np^.J! 1 ^ tn ? party ' Wnile ascending the Mississippi 
™S If the S r ^ d T0wer ' the part ^ were attacked Sy Indians 
*1 l ^-- ? H f f '„ one of «« sons, and some others of the party 
were killed. Urs. Huff was butchered in a shocking mnn^r 7 ' 
the remnant of the party reached Kaskaskia, and settled in* 
M?i A ? e £ iCan Bottoa - A few years afterward!, Mr Huff was 
SftrW *5 e * ndians > ™ the road between Kaskaskia and 
Prairie du Rocher. John Mooredock, (the stepson of HuffS 
n??no n ^\ fi P re , S c °n^icuously in the early events of } ' 

*^u oc vmcennes in 1803, and served again in the 



Legislature at Kaskaskia, in 1814. He held the^rank of 
Major in the militia, and wad field officer under Governor 
Edwards, in the campaign of 1812. 

About the year, 1782, Ichabod and George Camp came to 
Kaskaskia, and resided for some time in the town. They 
afterwards made improvements west of the Kaskaskia river, 
not far from the residence of James O'Hara and Henry D* 
Simpson. Camp's Creek, which crosses the Kaskaskia and 
Red Bud road, between O'Hara's and Simpson's, took its name 
from these men. They af terv/ards moved away, and located et 
"Camp's Spring", in Missouri, a few miles west of St. Louis. 

John and Israel Dodge came to Kaskaskia about the close 
of the Revolution. Israel Dodge was the father of Henry 
Dodge, late united States Senator from the State of Wiscon- 
sin. Hon. A. C. Dodge, Fx-United States Senator from Iowa, 
is the son of the Wisconsin Senator. 

The Dodge family left Kaskaskia in 1794, and went to 
St. Cenivieve. They manufactured salt at the mouth of 
Saline Creek, a few miles below St. Genivieve, on the Mis- 
sissippi. 

John Cook, Jacob Judy, William Music, James Piggat, and 
Robert Sybald, came to Kaskaskia about the close of the year 
1780. Judy remained in Kaskaskia a few years, and then lo- . 
cated on the site of "Judy's Mill," in Monroe County. He 
erected this mill in the year 1794. It was the first water- 
mill of any kind built by the American settlers in that re- 
gion . It did good service for many years. 

In 1784, John Edgar, from the British navy, reached 
Kaskaskia. The circumstances of his quitting the navy and 
seeking a home in this wild country, are of suffici?r.+: inter- 
est to be recorded. During the Revolution he was fighting 
against the Colonies in their struggle for Liberty ai'u Inde- 
pendance. He had courted and married an American lar'.y, 
whose sympathies, of course, were warm and deep for the 
'American cause. She was a woman of extraordinary talent and 
shrev/dness, and was the projector of many plans by which the 
the soldiers in the British array, who became tired of fight- 
ing against the cause of freedom , made their escape and 
joined the Americans. On one occasion she had arranged with 
three soldiers to desert — she was to furnish them guns and 
uniform, and give them all necessary information to enable 
them to reach the American camp. When they came she was ab- 
sent, but her husband, although belonging to the British 
army, v/as her confidant in all her operations, and knowing 
the object for which these soldiers had come, furnished them 
with the outfit prepared for them by her. They unfortunately 
were apprehended, and taken back to the British camp. 

There they were made to reveal the names of those who 
had assisted them. This implicated Edgar, and he had to fly. 
He remained awhile in the American army, v/here he became the 
intimate friend of La Fayette, but deeming the west a safer 

-18- 



retreat for one whose life was in such imminent jeopardy, 
he came to Kaskaskia. His property was confiscated, but 
his wife, with her remarkable sagacity, saved from the wreck 
about twelve thousand dollars, which she carefully hus- 
banded until she joined her husband, two years afterward, 
in his western home. Mrs. Edgar »s name merits a high rank 
among the heroines of Revolutionary memory. 

Leaving the British service for the American cause, 
was a source of no regret with Gen. Edgar. He was an Irish- 
man by birth, and the wrongs of England towards his native 
land had made their impress upon his patriotic mind. 

He engaged in business, and stimulated the commerce of 
the country by his energy, enterprise and sagacity. He 
traded extensively in lands, and left, at his death, large 
tracts in Randolph, Monroe, St. Clair, M adison, Clinton, 
Washington, Perry and Jackson Counties, which are known to 
this day as the "Edgar Lands". He rebuilt the mill of M. 
Paget (which had passed into ruins), and shipped his flour 
to the southern markets. When St. Clair C ounty was organ- 
ized, in 1790, he was appointed one of the judges of the 
C omraon Pleas Court, and his name appears u^on the Court 
Records in some official capacity for more than a quarter of 
a century. He was elected a member of the Legislature which 
convened at Chillicothe, Ohio, under Governor St. Clair's 
Administration. The United States appointed him Major 
General of the Illinois Militia, which post he filled with 
dignified ability for a long series of years. 

John Rice Jones, a welchman, located in Kaskaskia, in 
1790, and commenced the practice cf law. He was the first 
lawyer in Illinois who practiced at the bar. Nature intend- 
ed him for an ornament, and her work was well performed. 
His career at the bar was brilliant. He remained in Kaskas- 
kia until 1802, when he moved to Vincennes. In the same year, 
he v/as appointed a United States Judge of the Indiana Terri- 
tory. He afterwards moved to St. Louis, and finally to Wash- 
ington County, Missouri, and became one of the most conspicu- 
ous men in the early days of that State. He was a candidate, 
in opposition to Col. Benton, for the United States senate, 
before the first General Assembly of Missouri, but was c.e- 
feated. He was elected by the same Legislature one of the 
Judges of the Supreme Court of Missouri, which office he 
held until his death in 1824/ 

Rice Jones, the oldest son of John Rice Jones, having 
acquired the profession of law in Connecticut, located in 
Kaskaskia in 1806, and commenced the practice with much suc- 
cess. He became conspicuous as a politician. He had a dif- 
ficulty with Governor Bond, growing out of political differ- 
ences, which almost resulted in a duel. The preliminaries 
were arranged, and the parties were upon the ground, but 
Jones' pistol went off by accident, just before the word was 
given to fire, and Bond refused to fire at Jones. The matter 
between Jones and Bond was amicably adjusted, but a contro- 

-19- 



versy grew out of it between Jones and Dunlap, Bond's second. 
This quarrel became bitter and malignant. One afternoon, 
as Jones was standing on the side of the street, leaning 
against the railing of a gallery, conversing with a lady, 
Dunlap approached end shot him dead. 

Hon. 0. W. Jones, late united states senator from the 
State of Iowa, is a younger brother of Rice, whose terrible 
death has just been narrated, and son of John Rice Jones. 

The same year, (1790), Pierre, Hy polite, and Francois 
Menard — three brothers — originally from Quebec, arrived in 
Kaskaskia. Pierre established a mercantile house, and 
opened a lucrative trade with the Indians. Endowed with rare 
business talent, a well balanced judgment, and an honest 
purpose, he rose rapidly to a high degree of eminence and 
distinction among the people of the west, and became the idol 
of the Indians. The Federal Government appointed him Indian 
Agent, which post he held for many years, and gave perfect 
satisfaction to. both parties. No man ever enjoyed the con- 
fidence and esteem of the Indians more than he. They wor- 
shiped him; and though he controlled them as a father does 
his children, he never took advantage of that confidence 
and simplicity to wrong them. Purity of intention and up- 
right honesty marked the outlines of his character. In 
private life he was a model. Sympathy and benevolence were 
his ruling traits. From his commercial transactions he 
realized a fortune, which he cheerfully shared with the 
needy. No charitable call ever reached his ear without a 
ready response. 

He was often elected a member of the Legislature, and 
was speaker of the House in 1812. He was elected Lieutenant- 
Governor of the State, when it was admitted into the Federal 
Union. After the close of this term of office, he declined 
to accept public stations, and devoted himself to private 
affairs. He died in 1844, and was buried in a vault pre- 
pared under his own supervision, in the old grave yard at 
Kaskaskia. 

He left three sons — Pierre, Ciprlon and Edmund. The 
two former left the county many years ago. The latter lives 
upon his father's old place, on the eastern side of the 
Kaskaskia river. The oldest daughter of Col. Menard, Mrs. 
Maxwell, is yet living in Kaskaskia. she has spent her whole 
life in the village of her nativity, and has occupied the 
house where she now resides for more than forty years. She 
has in her possession a Damask rose bush, 'which was brought 
from New Orleans more than a century ago. It is the first 
rose bush that ever bloomed in Illinois; and though it has 
been swept over by the floods of the last hundred* years, it 
still retains its vigor and bloom, putting forth its sprouts 
upon the annual recurrence of springtime.— Many an ardent 
lover has plucked a gem from its stately stock, to be pre- 
sented to some loved one, to testify of the heart's devotion. 

Francois Menard became a distinguished and successful 

-20- 



navigator and trader upon the Mississippi. — With an energy 
that bent before no obstacle, and a courage that defied 
opposition, he prosecuted his perilous voyages upon the 
river for a long series of years. Ke died in Kaskaskia, 

flypolite Menard engaged in farming. He was of a very 
lively and sociable disposition, and became very popular 
among the people. He represented Randolph County in the 
General Assembly one session. 

William Morrison was another of the distinguished 
characters who came to Kaskaskia in the year 1790. He came 
from Philadelphia, as the representative of the mercantile 
house of Bryant & Morrison, of that city, and established a 
branch of the business in Kaskaskia. under his sagacious 
management the transactions of the house rapidly extended 
throughout the Mississippi Valley. The field of his opera- 
tions was vast, but the capacity of his mind was fully ade- 
quate to cover it. From his store in Kaskaskia, the mer - 
chants of St. Louis, St. Genivieve, Cape Girardeau and New 
Madrid supplied themselves with goods. 

But the mighty machinery of commerce which he managed, 
did not claim the exclusive control of his capacious mind. 
Home was never crowded out by the pressure of business. He 
found plenty of time to enjoy the affectionate society of 
his family. Sociable and fond of company, his house was the 
welcome resort of every visitor to Kaskaskia. 

Much of his time was devoted to public enterprise. 
Every project that promised to advance the prosperity of the 
country, found in him au energetic advocate. He was the 
moving spirit in constructing a bridge across the river at 
Kaskaskia, the piers of which are yet standing, and form an 
excellent monument to his public spirit. 

He died in the year 1837, leaving a vacancy in life 
which but few have the ability to fill. His remains were 
deposited in the old graveyard at Kaskaskia, where all that 
was mortal of so many of the pioneers has mingled with its 
original dust. 

His descendants have occupied respectable positions in 
community. Joseph was his oldest son. He went to Ohio, and 
resided there several years, then returned, and died at 
Prairie du Rocher in 1845. 

James, the second son, is now a citizen of Wisconsin, 
having gone to that State many years ago. 

William located in Belleville, and died there in 1843. 

Lewis located in Covington, Washington county, and 
practiced medicine there until 1851, when he removed to 
Chester, and engaged in the mercantile business. Ho died in 
1856. 

-21- 



George is the youngest son, and still resides in 
Kaskaskia, whex:e he was born, 

Robert Morrison, a brother of William, came to 
Kaskaskia in 1793. He was of a friendly, sociable disposi- 
tion, and became very popular.. He was appointed Clerk of 
the Common Pleas Court in 1801, and held the office for 
many years. A favorite with the people, he was often se- 
lected to fill positions of important trust. Like his 
brother, he dispensed hospitality in a liberal manner, and 
his house became the home of his friends and visitors to 
Kaskaskia. 

His second wife, who was the mother of his children, 
was a literary prodigy. Many of her poetical contributions 
to the magazines of that day, touched the higher order of 
poetry. She remodeled in verse the psalms of David, and had 
the volume presented to the Philadelphia presbytery for 
criticism. The work passed a critical examination, and re- 
ceived much praise, but was rejected, probably more from the 
fact that it came from an obscure author, that from its 
merits. She took a deep interest in politics, and often 
wielded much influence in a political campaign by her ably 
written communications in the newspapers. 

The sons of Robert Morrison are Edgar, James Lowery 
Donaldson, John Murray, and Robert. 

Kdgar graduated at the West Point Military Academy, 
and entered the array. He died in the home of his infancy, 
while on a visit to his parents, in 1836. 

James L. D. chose the profession of law, and prac- 
ticed at the bar for several years. He joined the volun- 
teers who went to Mexico, in 1846, and wa3 promoted to the 
office of Lieutenant Colonel of Illinois* second regiment. 
He has often been a member of the Legislature, and wa.* 
elected to Congress in 1856. His younger brothers emigrated 
to California, where they now reside. 

Shadrack Bond, from Maryland, arrived in Kaskaskia in 
1794. He was a nephew of Shadrack Bond, whose name was 
mentioned among the first settlers in the American Bottom. 
Nature had designed Bond for a Representative man, and 
though he was surrounded by men of great minds, he soon be- 
came a leader. He was elected first to the Territorial Legis- 
lature, then to the lower House of congress, and the first 
Governor of the state, without opposition. After he retired 
from the Fxecutive chair, he was appointed Register of the 
Land Office at Kaskaskia, and continued in that position for 
many years. He died in 1830— the lamented and favorite 
Statesman of Illinois, with all those noble qualities which 
adorn mankind, the character of Governor Bond was richly en- 
dowed . 

He left two sons — Thomas and Benjamin. 

-22- 



Thomas chose the profession of law, and practiced in 
Randolph and adjoining counties, until the year 1849, when 
he died, in the very vigor of manhood's youth and promise. 
Benjamin is a respectable physician, practicing his profes- 
sion at Evansville. 

In the year 1798, Dr. George Fisher, from Virginia, 
located in Kaskaskia, and commenced the practice of his 
profession. He remained in the town until 1806, when he 
moved out about five miles on the Prairie du Rocher road, 
and opened a farm. By his sprightly activity, and practical 
judgment, he became en influential member of the community, 
and a popular politician. Y/hen the Indiana Territory was 
organized, he v/as appointed Sheriff of Randolph county. 
Upon the organization of Illinois Territory, he was elected 
a member of the first General Assembly, and chosen speaker 
of the House of Representatives. In 1818, he v/as elected a 
member of the Constitutional Convention which fiamed the 
first Constitution for the State of Illinois. 

The region in which he lived has always borne the name 
of "Dr. Fisher's Settlement", because he was the first and 
leading man there. He died in 1820, on his farm at the foot 
of the bluff. Jacob Fisher, who improved a farm upon the 
western side of the Kaskaskia river, near the shoal, was the 
only son of the Doctor. He moved away to Arkansas many 
years ago. 

Dr. Truman Tuthill came to Kaskaskia in 1802 with the 
army, as a surgeon. Pie located and practiced for several 
years in the town, and then ..moved to Cahokia. In 1809, 
he was appointed Judge of the Common pleas Court of St. Clair 
County. 

Benjamin H. Doyle, John Rector, and James Haggan, came 
to Kaska3kia in 1804, and commenced the practice' of law* 
Haggan returned to Kentuc ky, from whence he came, and after- 
wards became a distinguished Judge of that state. 

Nathaniel Pope first appeared in Kaskaskia in 1804, tut 
he located and practiced lav/ at St. Genivieve, Missouri, 
until 1808, when he returned and became a permanent c itizen 
of the former place; The year following, Illinois Territory 
was organized, and Pope received the appointment of secre- 
tary. In the absence of Governor Edwards, who had not yet 
arrived, Secretary Pope, as Acting-Governor, issued a procla- 
mation formally organizing the Territory. In 1817, he was 
elected the Territorial delegate to congress, and became a 
very influential member of that body. It was by his efforts 
that the northern boundary- of the state was changed from a 
line running due west from the southern point of Lake Michi- 
gan and fixed upon latitude forty-two and a half degrees north. 
Upon the admission of Illinois into the Federal union, Pope 
was appointed Judge of the United States District Court, and 
held that office for more than thirty years. Nature, it would 
seem, had designed him for the bench, and he occupied the 
position with such ability and dignity as elevated him to a 

-23- 



high rank among the Jurists of the country. 

In 1844, he moved from Kaskaskia and located In Alton, 
where he died in 1850, having attained the age of sixty- 
six years. He left two sons — William and John, William 
died in St. Louis some y,:r.rs ago, John belongs to the 
United States Topographical Service, and has become some- 
what distinguished for his scientific efforts in sinking 
Artesian wells on the Western plains. 

The Rector family, consisting of nine brothers, came 
to Kaskaskia in the year 1806. They were in the united 
States Surveying Service, and only remained temporarily in 
Kaskaskia. 

prom this period up to 1830, Kaskaskia was the resi- 
dence of many young men who have risen to positions of dis- 
tinction, 

Sidney Breese, who is now one of the most distinguished 
Jurists and statesmen in Illinois, located at Kaskaskia on 
his arrival in the Territory, and remained there several 
years. He was often elected a member of the Legislature, 
and served one or two sessions in the lower House of Congress, 
When the judiciary of the State was re-organized, in 1835, 
he became the first Judge of the Circuit Court whose juris- 
diction included Randolph County, He was afterwards elected 
by the Illinois Legislature to a seat in the united states 
Senate, and bore a conspicuous part among the stalwart char- 
acters of that august body. He is now upon the supreme 
Bench of the State. 

James Shields, an Irishman by birth, came to Kaskaskia, 
and commenced his brilliant career by teaching school. He 
afterwards studied law, and became a politician. He repre- 
sented Randolph County in the Legislature — was Judge of the 
Circuit Court, and when the Mexican war commenced, in 1046, 
he was appointed Brigadier-General of the Illinois vclui.teers, 
and distinguished himself as a brave and intrepid soldier in 
several battles. After his return from the Mexican campaign, 
the Illinois Legislature testified their appreciation or his 
military services by electing him to the united staten v c, en~itc. 
He now represents the new State of Minnesota in the senate ^f 
the United States. 

Elias K. Kane commenced the practice of law in Karka3k. J .a, 
v in 1814, before the time of the two gentlemen previously re- 
ferred to. He was a man of brilliant talents, and rose to a 
high position among the members of the bar. He served in tbe 
Legislature, and was elected by that body to the United States 
Senate. He rose high, and died early. 

David J, Baker commenced his successful career at the bar 
in Kaskaskia, He enjoyed a lucrative practive for many yeers. 
He now lives in Alton, having retired, in his old age, from 
the profession. 

-24- 



KASKASKIA , PI MCE 1800 

About the commencement of the year 1800, a different 
class of people, bringing different customs and character- 
istics, began to disturb the quiet repose which the happy 
people of Kaskaskia had enjoyed for nearly one hundred years, 
and a rapid transition from a French to an American city was 
commenced. At that time it was essentially a French villarc, 
with all their peculiar customs. The French style of archi- 
tecture had been adopted and preserved in the erection of 
their buildings, and though there were some fine and ele- 
gantly furnished houses, an altitude of one story was as 
high, as they ever rose. The only brick house in the place 
had been standing for fifty years or more, and at the time 
it was built, it was the only brick house west of Pittsburg. 
The brick of which its walls were m ade were brought from 
Pittsburg in flatboats. It is still standing— an interest- 
ing relic of Kaskaskia «s former days. 

A new order of things was inaugurated by the new class 
of citizens, and the place began to experience the symptoms 
of those convulsions in which "junction cities" spring into 
existence. General Edgar erected a large dwelling, end fur- 
nished it in grand style. The ruins of this building still 
remain. — the posts and chimney are standing — the more inter- 
esting as a relic of days gone by, because it was the house 
in whose spacious parlors General Lapayctte was entertained 
when he visited Kaskaskia, in 1824. William Morrison, also 
erected a large stone mansion, where he displayed hospi- 
tality in a princely style. The walls of this building are 
still standing, cracked, and shaken, however, It, too, is 
interesting, because the complimentary ball to General La 
Fayette was given in its richly furnished parlors. 

In 1809, when Illinois Territory was organized, Kas- 
kaskia became the seat of Government — the Governor and secre- 
tary resided there, and brought all the concomitants of 
municipal regulations. The first 303Sion of the Territorial 
Legislature convened in Kaskaskia, on the 25th day of Novem- 
ber, 1812, and continued to hold lt3 sessions there until 
the capital v/as located at V^ndalia. Kaskaskia was, and had 
been since the year 1795, t he county seat of Randolph 
County; where the courts were held, from the supreme down to 
the Justices. 

The first newspaper in Illinois was established in 1809, 
by Mathew Duncan, from Kentucky. He conducted it until 1815, 
when it was purchased by Robert Blackwell and Daniel P. Cook. 
During its existence its columns were edited by many persons 
who have become distinguished lawyers and statesmen — Judge 
Breese is one of them. 

During the period of ten years, from 1810 to 1820, 
Kaskaskia was the rendezvous of an immense floating popula- 
tion, which gave it the air of a bee-hive. Every emigrant 
to the Territory directed his course to it as the point from 
which to explore the country and select locations. A census 
taken then showed the population to be seven thousand and 

-25- 



some hundreds. 

About 1820 other towns began to spring up and claim 
attention. The confusion, bustle and storm raised by the 
swarming emigrants in Kaskaskia, began to die away, leav- 
ing the village to gradually and quietly resume its origi- 
nal character. 

THE CONVENT 

In 1832 the Sisters of the Visitation came to Kaskas- 
kia, and commenced the erection of a Convent. By the as- 
sistance of Col. Menard the enterprise promised a success, 
and early in 1833 the foundation of the structure was laid. 
The main building is one hundred and ten feet long, thirty- 
two feet wide, and four stories high. The wing, two stories 
high, runs back one hundred and fifty feet. It wa3 com- 
pleted and opened for the reception of pupils in 1836. and 
continued a flourishing institution until 1844. The build- 
ing cost C>30,000 and was the largest of its class in the • 
v/est, at the time of its erection. 

The great flood of 1844 so damaged the building and the 
prospects of the institution that it was abandoned by the 
Sisters. Since then it has been yielding to the wear and 
waste of time, and must soon pass into ruins. It is a state- 
ly though crumbling monument of the- christian enterprise of 
these pious and holy women. They came from Georgetown, 
D. C, and during their stay in Kaskaskia two of them died. 
The others — four in number — went to St. Louis, where they 
have a popular institution. 

The flood of 1844 — the most destructive that has oc- 
curred since the Mississippi river has been known— blighted 
the prospects of Kaskaskia, as it did those of every place 
in the river bottom. Its commercial importance was de- 
stroyed, and all that which give3 life and vigor to a place 
was paralyzed. Many of the houses were twisted and racked 
upon their foundations. The damage to property was incalcula- 
ble. 

Again, in 1851, t he bottom was inundated, and though 
the water did not reach the higher localities, its effects 
were damaging in destroying the crops of the vicinity, upon 
which the trade and life of the town were dependent. And 
again, in 1857, the waters covered the bottom, visiting de- 
struction upon the crops and property of the Kaskaskia peo- 
ple. These floods have left their impress deeply marked 
upon the once beautiful cottages of the village, and but for 
a few buildings that have been repaired and improved by the 
more enterprising citizens, it would seem that the work of 
decay and ruin had commenced; but it may be a century henco 
ere another flood shall come, in which time the place may 
fully recover from the shocks it has received. 

But whatever may be the fate- which destiny has fixed — 
whethor it shall rise again to eclipse its former greatness, 
or whether it shall pass into ruins like Troy and Babylon— 

-26- 



it will ever claim an important place in the annals of this 
country. The past, at lecst, is secure. It can never pass 
into oblivion while the history of America remains. All 
that which imparts interest and fascination to historic 
recollections is found in its records end traditions. With 
an existence stretching back into the darkness of an unex- 
plored wilderness, its history blends the wild romance of 
Indian life with the thrilling adventures of the French 
pioneers; their life, exploits and gayeties, for nearly one 
hundred years; the pious labors of the Jesuit missionaries 
among the untamed saveges; the founding of the first parish 
church in America; the military exploits of the English in 
1755; the transfer of the country from France to England; 
the extraordinary campaign of Col. Clark; and the series of 
events by which the state Government of Illinois was brought 
into existence. 



In these sketches, a superficial outline is all that 
has been attempted. The student of history may form some 
conception of t he prolific fountains, whose sources only 
have been pointed out. 



FORT GAGE 

During the time of the Chickasaw war, in 1836? a Fort 
was built upon the high hill on the eastern side of the Ka3~ 
kaskia, opposite the town. Of its dimensions and the mater- 
ials of which it was constructed, nothing is now definitely 
known. Tradition alcne is the authority for the fact of its 
erection at that period. It war. repaired in 1756, and oc- 
cupied by a French garrison during the "Old French v;ar." 
From this time the bluff on which it stood has borne the name 
of "Garrison Hill." This old structure was destroyed by fire 
in 1766, and another Fort upon the same spot was soon after- 
wards erected by the F.nglish. This new structure was built 
of immense square timbers, and was two hundred and ninety 
feet long and two hundred and fifty-one feet wide. Within 
the main building was a. magazine constructed of stone, a 
commandant's chamber, and some smaller houses, v/hen Fort 
C hartres was abandoned in 1772, the Governor and the Brit- 
ish garrison moved to, and occupied "Fort Gage" — the Fort 
having received that appellation in honor of General Gage, 
the then British Commander-in-Chief At the time Col. Clark 
besieged and took the Fort, in 1778, it v/as occupied by a 
garrison of twenty soldiers, under the command of Governor 
Rocheblave, and strongly guarded by four cannons. It was 
then the headquarters of the British government in the west, 
and contained the records of the Territory from the time the 
English took possession, in 1763. V/hen the governor was 
taken prisoner in his private chamber in the Fort, his wife, 
with a solicitude that never deserts a woman in the moment of 
peril, concealed or destroyed the archives, so that the land 

-27- 
*Note: I think 1836 is a misprint and should be 173G.EPL. 



grants and other valuable documents of that period, have 
been lost* 

Col, Clark occupied the Port while he remained, and 
after he left the country and the war ceased, it was de- 
serted, and remained without an occupont until 1801, when 
Col. Pike»s regiment occupied it for a short time. Prom 
this date it began to decay, and its walls soon crumbled 
and fell to the ground. It is now an obscure ruin. The 
truces of the walls are faintly visible. The outlines of 
the magazine, and the breastworks thrown up during the 
time of the Revolution, may yet be seen. 

RILEY i 3 MILL 

Some most deeply interesting historical recollections 
cluster around the place, known in modern days by the name 
of "Riley's Mill", situated on the eastern side of Kaskaskia. 
For aught that is now known to the contrary, the first mill 
that was erected in Illinois may have stood upon this mill 
sitcj for tho time previous to the building of a mill there 
has passed from the traditions of Kaskaskia, Certain it is, 
however, that a mill was standing there one hundred and 
fifty years ago. According to the title records, now in 
possession of Mr. Riley, the name of him that owned the mill 
at that period was Prix Pagi. (Thi3 name is somewhat con- 
founded with that of Paget, and aa the French pronounce 
both names the same, it is probable that it is the same name, 
though spelled differently. Peck and Reynolds both employ 
Peget, in reference to this miller, but the name in the deed 
of Conveyance which Mr. Riley holds, is spelled Pagi.) He 
erected a stone building, and manufactured flour for the New 
Orleans and Mobile markets. How long he continued to run 
the mill is not know, but he lost his life in one of those 
tragic scenes common to Indian barbarity. One day while 
superintending the operations of the mill, the premises were 
attacked by a band of Kickapoo Indians, and he was murdered 
in a most shocking manner. When the attack was made upon 
the mill, a negro escaped by a back way, fled to the town 
and gave the alarm. The people came and found the body of 
Pagi upon the floor mangled and cut to pieces. The head was 
severed from the body, scalped, and thrown into the hopper. 

After the death of Pagi, the mill was abandoned, and 
became a ruin — the walls only remaining. About the year 1795, 
General Edgar purchased the tract of land and rebuilt the 
mill. The mill-pond, situated about three hundred yards dis- 
tant from the mill, was made by nature, and apparently de- 
signed for the purpose. It covers an area of about 40 acres, 
and is surrounded by an irregular range of hills, with an 
outlet for the water on the side towards the mill, about 
three hundred feet wide. An embankment, or dam, was made 
across this outlet, and the water forced to pass through an 
arched culvert, at the end of which is a gate to regulate the 
passage of the water. During the interval in which the mill 
ceased to run, this dam was almost destroyed by the wear of 

-28- 



the floods, but it was repaired by General Edgar, and made- 
more substantial than before. At the time these repairs 
were made, Mrs. Edgar and "Dice", a negress belonging to 
the family, planted some little cotton-wood cions in the 
mellow dirt, which have grown to be stately trees. The 
regular order in which these trees are standing upon that 
embankment has prompted many a curious conjecture, stran- 
gers visiting the ground are apt to notice this regularity. 

Gen. Fdgar kept the mill in operation for many years, 
and the pioneers, as they came to the country and settled 
in different parts of the county, resorted to it to have 
their milling done. A few of those relics of early days 
are still remaining, and they retain vivid recollections of 
the days when they rode astride a horse, with a sack con- 
taining tv:o bushels of corn for a saddle, a distance of 
ten or fifteen miles, to "Edgar »s Mill," and waited and 
fished' in the mill-pond until their "turn" v/as ground. 
Waiting for "turns" was an interesting epoch for boys whose 
sociable disposition found but few opportunities for exer- 
cise in their isolated homes. Many a happy hour has been 
v/hiled av/ay around that old mill, by the boys who congre- 
gated there from the different settlements. "Mill boys" 
did not require the formalities of an introduction before 
they joined in a game of marbles or bat. It was a privilege 
to go to mill, and the longer they had to wait the better it 
pleased them. With men it v/as different. They were always 
in a hurry, and jealous of their rights. If one was ever 
cheated out of his "turn", which sometimes happened, a 
fight was the result. But these happy days for the boys, 
and hours of nervous anxiety for the men, have passed away. 

The mill ceased to operate again while yet in the hands 
of General Edgar, and remained still for several years. In 
1832, it was purchased by Messrs. Feaman & Co. It was again 
repaired and put in good business order. This company con- 
ducted it for some years, when it again changed hands. 

It came into the possession of the present enterpris- 
ing proprietor, Mr.- Daniel Riley, 1842. Formerly, the 
water was conveyed to the wheel through hollow logs, since 
Mr. Riley has had it, he has constructed a substantial 
frame work for this conveyance, and has made such other im- 
provements a3 prevents the was te of water, and secures a 
sufficient quantity to keep the mill running, with about 
fourteen horse power, during nearly the whole season. The? 
wheel is an over-shot, and no more water is allowed to es- 
cape from the pond than is necessary to drive the machinery. 

Such is a history of this ancient mill. All that now 
remains of the original structure is the northeast corner. 
This part of the building has stood through all the changes 
of its eventful existence, and its permanence would indicate 
that it may defy the corrosive attrition of another century. 

r»i ift+^LSiS**!^?-. 1 *? ^ ont ^°C the mill stands a beauti- 
ful little mound, called "Mound Isabella", named in honor of 

-29- 



Mrs. Edgar. Some fruit trees , planted by her and naunt 
Dice", are still growing upon this mound. This negro 
woman was the house servant of Mrs. Edgar. She died i 
three year3 ago, having lived one hundred years. 

A spring of pure cool water gushes out of the side 
of .the bluff, close to the place where Mr. Riley »s store- 
house is now located, whose clear stream has slaked the 
thirst of those who brought the germ of civllication to 
the Western world. A former age may claim it, and the 
associations of antiquity may cluster around it, but its 
waters are as fresh and pure today as when the first 
white man drank from its pebbly urn. 

Mr. Riley established a store a few years ago close 
to his mill, and he has brought around him a very brisk 
and remunerative trade. In 1855, finding the capacity 
of the old mill inadequate to the demands of an increased 
population and the increased growth of wheat, he commenced 
the erection of a steara-mill which has since gone into op- 
eration. Both mills may be kept running most of the year 
by the water of the pond above described. 

FORT CHARTRE3 , 

Under the patronage of the Company of the v/ost, and 
bearing a charter from tho crown of Franco, M. Pierre 
Duquo Baiebriant. tho representative of the government, and 
Marc Antoino do la (joiro do Urainn, tho principal secretary 
of the Company | came to Kaskaskla, in 17} 7$ with instruc- 
tions to erect a Fort which should be made the Seat of Gov- 
ernment for the Illinois country. 

The site selected was in the American Bottom, one 
mile distant from the Mississippi river, and about three 
miles from the eastern range of bluffs, in the northwest 
corner of the present limits of Randolph County. The work 
was commenced in 1717, and the Fort completed in two years. 
It was called "Fort des Chartres", for the reason that its 
erection wa3 authorized by a charter from Louis XIV, King 
of France. It was built of timber, of ample dimensions for 
the erection within of a building to accommodate the Fxecu- 
tive of the Territory, one for the garrison, a magazine, 
and 3ome others. The Fort was surrounded with a strong 
palisade, constructed of 3uch immense timbers, and finished 
so substantially, as to be almost impregnable to the as- 
saults of any implements of war known to those early days. 

It was designed for the purpose, and became the seat 
of government for Illinois. It was the headquarters of the 
French officers while the country remained in possession of 
France. The celebrated Francois Renault resided here, and 
directed his extensive mining operations. Baisbriant and 
Ursins were vested with the power of making grants of land. 
Some of their records are now in the Recorder »s office of 
this county. For a time, Fort Chartres became the centre 
of business, fashion, and gayety. 

-30- 



. The Company of the west- was dissolved in 1730, and 
D'Artaguette was appointed Governor. In 1736, when the 
Chickasaw war commenced, Governor Bienville, of Louisville, 
called upon the Governor of Illinois for all the troops he 
he could raise. Fxerting his influence with the chiefs of 
the Indian tribes west of Lake Michigan, he collected about 
one thousand warriors at Fort Chartres. The gallant Vin- 
cennes, of the V/abash country, united his forces with 
D*Artaguette. All the French soldiers that could be raised 
were rendezvoused at the Fort. Preparations for the expedi- 
tion to meet Bienville in the South, were hastily made, and 
the whole army departed. from Fort Chartres down the Missis- 
sippi. 

The unfortunate fate of the brave and chivalrous 
D'Artaguette and Vincennes has ueun related. La Buissoniere 
succeeded to the Governorship of Illinois. In 1739, a fur- 
ther requisition was made upon him for troops. He collected 
about two hundred French soldiers, and three hundred Indian 
warriors and sailed from Fort Chartres down the Mississippi 
to join the Southern array. 

In 1751, the Chevalier McCarty became Governor of 
Illinois, and arrived at Fort Chartres in August, with 
troops to reinforce the Fort, as war at that time v/as rag- 
ing between France and England, and threatening to disturb 
the Western country, it v/as decided to rebuild and improve 
the Fort. This time it was built of durable limestone, 
quarried in the bluff three miles distant, boated across 
an intervening lake, and carted to the Fort. The plan of 
the new structure was different from the old one, and much 
larger. It was an irregular square, or quadrangle. The ex- 
terior sides v/ere four hundred and ninety-feet, and, there- 
fore, the main building covered an area of five acres and a 
fraction. The walls were two feet two inches thick, and 
pierced with loop-holes at regular distances, and two port- 
holes in the- faces, and two in the flanks of each bastion 
for cannon. A banquette around the interior side of the 
wall was raised three feet high for the soldiers to stand 
upon when they fired from behind the parapets, within the 
square of the main building were erected a Commandant's and 
Commissary's house; a magazine for stores, and two barracks. 
In the gorges of the bastions v/ere the powder-magazine, a 
bakehouse and a prison. On the lower floor of the prison 
were four dungeons. 

The commandant's house was ninety-six feet long and 
thirty feet wide. It contained a parlor, dining-room, bed- 
chamber, kitchen, one small room, five closets for servants, 
and a cellar. The commissary's house was precisely similar 
to the one just described. Opposite these was the store- 
house, ninetyfeet long and twenty-four wide. It contained 
two large store-rooms, a parlor, chapel, an officers* guard 
room, a closet for the storekeeper, and bedchamber. Beneath 
the storehouse was a vaulted cellar. The barracks were each 
twenty feet square, and each contained two rooms for officii s 
and three for soldiers. Over each building spacious lofts 

-31- 



extended from end to end, and were used for storing regi- 
mental stores and entrenching tools, Capt. Pitman, an 
engineer belonging to the British army, visited Fort 
Chartres about the year 1768, and gave it as his opinion 
that it was the strongest and most conveniently arranged 
fortification on the North American Continent, 

When the English took possession of the country in 
1765, (the cession was made in 1763), Fort Chartres was 
made the Seat of Government, and a small garrison stationed 
there, Capt. Stirling formally took possession of the coun- 
try on arriving at Fort Chartres, by issuing a proclamation 
in the name of Wis Britanic Majesty," signed by Thoma3 
Gage, then Commander-in-Chief of the British army in the 
Colonies. Capt. Stirling died in six months after his ar- 
rival. He was succeeded first by Major Frazier, then by 
Col. Reed, then by Col. V'ilkins, each of whom made their 
residence at the Fort. 

When the Fort was first built, in 1718-19, it stood 
about one mile distant from the river. In 1724., a great 
freshet overflov/ed the river bottom, and v/ashed away some 
of the bank in front of the Fort. The margin of the Missis- „ 
sippi, made by alluvial soil, is ever changing. In 1756, 
the river bank was half a mile from the Fort. A short time 
before Capt, Pitman's visit In 1768, a sand bar was formed in 
the river, and directed the current against the bank near- 
est the Fort, which wore it iway rapidly. Two years after- 
wards the river had approached so near as to alarm the offi- 
cers about to the safety of their magnificent Fortress, In 
1772, another freshet inundated the river bottom, and under- 
mined the western wall of the Fort. The balance of the struc- 
ture was greatly injured. It was abandoned, and the seat of 
Government established at Fort Gage, upon the summit of Gar- 
rison Hill, far above the reach of floods. 

Fort Chartres was thought to be the Gibralter of Amer- 
ica, but the turbulent current of the Mississippi, more 
powerful than armies and navies, worked its downfal. It 
crumbled and wasted rapidly. It was deserted, and the de- 
molishing elements played familiar with its crumbling walls. 
In 1020 the southeast angle was still remaining. The traces 
of the front wall were completely gone, and the northeast 
sections were in ruins. ' From this period the process of 
demolition and dilapidation was rapid. Much of the stone 
was taken av»ay, and used for building material in other 
places. It v/as soon a heap of mouldering ruins, and the fate 
of Palmyra, Porsepolis and Balbec, is suggested to the visi- 
tor, as he beholds its remaining vestiges, slumbering in the 
midst of a forest. Trees of stately growth and clinging 
vines are growing upon its foundations. The river had re- 
treated, and is a mile distant from the ruins, upon the inter- 
vening land, which is in the very place where the mighty vol- 
ume of the Mississippi's sullen waters swept along eighty 
years ago, there is a heavy dense growth of timber. -a- 

#Fort Chartres is now a State Park. The foundations of the 
buildings and the fortress wall have been rebuilt to show 
the original plan of the Fort. E.P.L. 

-32- 



PRAIRIE DU ROCHER 

The town of Prairie du Rocher was founded about the 
year 17c2— one hundred and thirty-seven years ago. About 
that time a few French families gathered together and formed 
the nucleus for the town. Others coming to the country, cast 
their lot with them, and a flourishing little village was 
started. The strongest inducements it could hold out to emi- 
grants, was its secluded situation and romantic scenery. It 
stood at the foot of the Mississippi bluff s--whose picturesque 
grandeur is unsurpassed by any range along that great river— 
fourteen miles from Xaskaskia, and three miles from Fort 
Chartres. Though it never attained that degree of importance 
which marked the prosperity of its cotemporaneous rivals, yet 
it acquired, in an early day, all the concomitants of a heal- 
thy, vigorous town. The evidences of water-mills in its 
vicinity, erected there in a very early period of its exist- 
ence, may yet be seen, and the vestiges of stone buildings in 
the town, evidently the work of wealth and enterprise, are 
yet visible. 

In the vicinity of the town were many natural objects 
of curiosity, to attract the attention of those who had a 
taste for the wonderful, and probably- from this cause many 
were induced to locate in that place. The natural mill site 
situated in a ravine which abruptly breaks the range of 
rocky bluffs that overlooks the town, was something to at- 
tract wonder and admiration, as well as to furnish to some 
enterprising capitalist the advantages of a saw mill more 
than half constructed. The range of bluffs on one side of 
this break, following the course of the ravine, describes 
an arc, and a natural ridge starting from a point of the 
bluff on the opposite side of the ravine, marks the diameter 
of the circle, and reaches within two hundred feet of the 
bluff on the other side. This ridge was finished out by 
artificial means in the days of the Jesuits, and gave a fall 
of near twenty feet to the water whure it dammed the ravine. 
The area of the mill-pond is about two hundred acres, and 
the stream of water coming through the bluffs is fed by 
never-failing springs. 

There is a spring situated at the foot of the bluffs, 
one mile above the town, which gushes out at the base of a 
perpendicular rock, towering up two hundred feet high, and 
sends forth an immense volume. Formerly the aperture through 
which the water rose was about six feet in diameter, and its 
depth could not be fathomed. Latterly, it has been nearly 
filled with sticks and stones by wanton hands. The crystal 
purity of this spring would suggest that it might have been 
the fountain so eagerly sought by the Spanish explorers of 
this Continent, which they supposed to possess properties 
that would give immortality to youthful vigor. 

A cave in the side of the bluff not far distant from the 
spring, is another object of curious interest. The entrance 
to the cavern is about sixty feet high from the base of the 



rock; is almost round, and about six foot in diameter. 
Its interior chambers have been explored somewhat, but 
nothing is known of their dimensions. There is a legend 
which relates that at one time the Spaniards hid valuable 
treasures in the cave. Many an avaricious spirit has searched 
and shoveled in vain for the possession of those treasures, 
and the same inducement to search remains. 

The common Field, and Commons of Prairie du Rocher were 
granted to the village in the year 1730, by jean Baptiste 
St. Therse, nephew of Baisbriant, Governor of Louisiana, 
who obtained the title from the Royal Company of the Indies. 
The church propertv was obtained from the same source, and 
the church was erected in t he year 1734. The same build- 
ing is still standing, and forms one of the most interesting 
relics of former years to be found about the village. It 
was constructed in the French style of architecture, by 
driving cedar posts into the ground, and filling the space 
between them with stone and m ortar. For a period of one 
hundred and twenty-five years it hs stood against storm and 
flood, and its walls have echoed the pious articulations 
of many holy m en, who have long since passed to the realms 
of a brighter existence. Within its portals have been 
christened the infants of three succeesive generations, and 
the marriage vows of the parish people in all that time have 
been heard at its sacred altar. But mutation has been 
written upon it as surely as it was upon the minarets of 
ancient Ninevah. Though the rites of the church are yet 
performed within its ancient portals, the time-worn walls 
are yielding to the pressure of the roof, and must ere long 
fall to the ground. Preparations have already commenced for 
the erection of a new one, which will contrast strikingly 
with the rude structure of the old one. 

Among the earliest of the French settlers in Prairie 
du Rocher, appear the names of Etenne Langlois, Jean Bap- 
tiste Blais, Jean Baptiste Barbeau, Antoine Louvier, 
LaCompte, and some others. 

Etenne Langlois came from Canada, and devoted himself 
to farming. He bedame a very influential man in t he com- 
munity, and left a very respectable family. His oldest son, 
Etenne, was a wheel-wright, and a very useful man in the 
town. He left three sons — Etenne, Charles, and William. 
Charles is now living about four miles west of Prairie du 
Rocher. The other two died several years ago. 

Francois was the second son of the first Langlois, and 
the father of Jerard, Antoine, Frencois, Michael, and 
Benjamin, who were conspicuous members of that community 
forty years ago and later. Francois Langlois, now living 
about five miles cast of the town, is the son of Jerard. 
The family is very numerous. 

Jean Baptiste Blais was the germ of that respectable 
family. He devoted himself to the quiet pursuit of farming, 

-34- 



find was a leading man in the village. He reached an ex- 
treme old age, end died in the yeer 1783, leaving four sons — 
Antojne, Joseph, Charles, and Louis — the latter died in 
early life. The others were industrious, respectable citi- 
zens. Joseph and Antoine died in 18<;3; Charles in 1031. 
Antoine Blais, who is now merchandising in Prairie du Rocher, 
and Expedient, his brother, living seven miles east of the 
town, are sons of Antoine, and grandsons of Jean Baptiste 
Joseph. 

Jean Baptiste Barbcau was another of the first emi- 
grants from Canada, and one of the founders of Prairie du 
Rocher. He was the father of the respectable family bear- 
ing his name, who have always held a prominent position in 
that community. Hi3 sons were Andrew, Antoine, Baptiste, 
and Henry, all of whom are dead. Their descendants are 
numerous. Andrew, the oldest son, reached an extreme old 
age, and died suddenly, while walking upon the bluffs, a few 
months ago. Mr. Cole and Mr. Crane, of St. Louis, both mar- 
ried daughters of Antoine. 

Antoine Louvier cane in early times from Canada and en- 
gaged in farming. His son Antoine became a very prominent 
man, and died in 1836., leaving a very numerous family, many 
of whom are still living in the village. 

Damour Louvier was a branch of the same family and 
lived in the town during a long life. 

A Mr» LaCompte was one of the first settlers, and died 
about the close of the last century. He left a son who was 
promoted to the post of Major of the Militia, 1812, which 
place he filled with much popularity. He was among the first 
men of Prairie du Rocher during his life. He has c son now 
residing in St. Genivieve, Missouri. 

Among those who came in later years are the names of 
Jean Baptiste du Clais; Frny, Joseph, Alexis and Isadore 
Godair; Francois and Joseph Tonga: s; Joseph Champagne; 
Joseph Lamore; the Fascair family and some others. 

Jean Baptiste DuClais was a blacksmith, and a very 
useful man to the town, and the surrounding country. He 
lived to be very old, and died in 1838. He had a son, 
Michael, who was an industrious farmer. He died in 1839, 
leaving a large family, many of whom are now living in the 
town. 

The Godair brothers came from Detroit and engaged in 
farming. They became somewhat distinguished for hunting ad- 
ventures. They left a numerous descendency, who are engaged 
in farming. 

Joseph Tongais lived in Prairie du Rocher 'until his 
death, in 1827, having spent an industrious life. His 
brother Francois died in 1827, leaving two sons — Francois 
and Amade— both residing in Monroe County. 

-35- 



Joseph Champagne was a Canadian, and came to Prairie 
du Rocher about the close of the last century. He was a 
carpenter by trade, and built the mansion of Col. Menard, 
at the foot of Garrison Hill, on the east side of the Kas- 
kaskia river. This house is still standing, but in a state 
of rapid decay.* Champagne died in St. Clair County, in 
1828. ^ , fL 

Joseph Lamore was a farmer, and died in 18S5, leaving 
no descendent3 about Prairie du Rocher. 

The Fascair family became numerous, and bore a conspicu- 
ous part in the community. Ambrose, John and Henry Kerr, 
are descendants of this family. 

The history of Prairie du Rocher presents no marked 
event. It was strictly a French village for more than an 
hundred years, and the orderly inhabitants quietly pursued 
their various avocations, enjoying their social amustraenis 
undisturbed. They were a happy, contented people, unambi- 
tious, and careless of wealth or distinction. They were free 
from that strife, contention and turmoil which attends the 
pursuit of wealth and political preferment. Their life was 
an uninterrupted stream of quiet, joyous happiness. 

About the year 1800, the first English or American 
settlers appeared among the people of Prairie du Rocher. 
Archibald McNab came from Kentucky and established a tan- 
yard — the first in the place — and carried on that business 
until 1821. In that year he died* Alexander McNab, now 
living in the town, is a son of Archibald. 

About the same time, or probably as early as 1795, 
Clement Drury, from Maryland, came to Prairie du Rocher, 
and erected a horse-mill. This mill stood near the present 
residence of Mr. Sprigg. % It did a good business, and was a 
great benefit to the people for many years, Mr. Drury died 
in 1812, leaving four sons — John, William, Clement, and 
Raphael. John emigrated and settled in Missouri, v/illiam 
and Clement located in town, and died there some years ago, 
leaving families. Raphael died in California. 

Henry Conner came from Kentucky, in 1812, and settled 
in the town. Two years afterwards, he was appointed to the 
office of Sheriff. He was Marshal of the Territory at one 
time, and filled other offices. He left three sons— Barnet, 
William, and Edward. Barnet located in Monroe county, and 
died there in 1852. William lives in Wisconsin. Edward 
located in Prairie du Rocher, where he died, leaving a family 
which still reside there. 

In 1814, Henry Kerr, an Englishman, came from Boston, 
and established a store. He continued in this business 
several years. Ambrose, John, and Henry Kerr, before re- 
ferred to, are his sons. The two former are merchandising; 
the latter lives two miles from town, and is engaged in farm- 

ing ' -36- 

*The Menard house has been restored. E#P.L# 



In 1824, the population of Prairie du Rocher was about 
five hundred. In that year, Andrew Bar beau built a mill 
about one mile below town. In 1825, the town was incorpo- 
rated, but there appearing to be no necessity for an organi- 
zation, it was abandoned. In 1835, it was renewed again, 
but since has ceased to exist. In 1840, William Kcnry, Isq. 
erected and put in operation a steam-mill upon the same 
ground where the new mill of Brickey & Lee now stands. In 
1850, an impetus was given to the progress of the town, 
since which time it has been improving rabidly, and promises 
a healthy and vigorous growth. 

The place now contains one first class flouring mill; 
four dry goods stores; two grocery stores; two furniture 
stores; one saddlery shop; one tailor shop; one boot and 
shoe shop; one wagon shop; three blacksmith shops; ono wagon 
manufactory two caprcntcr and cabinet shops; two hotels; 
one church— no resident priest. Present population about 
five hundred. 

RAND OLPH COUNTY 

A special sketch having been devoted to the leading 
events which precede the existence of Randolph county, and 
which transpired within its limits; and, also, a sketch of 
the towns which have marked its progress, but little remains 
of its history beyond the transition from a wilderness to 
the high state of prosperous development which it now enjoys, 
and the arrival of the pioneers who laid the foundation for 
that great change. 

1798^-Tradition has it that when Col. Clark took pos- 
session of the country, in 1778, he named the district around 
Kaskaskia "Randolph County", as a como: .'.ment to Edmund Ran- 
dolph, the distinguished Statesman of Virginia. The limits 
of the county were not defined: neither was there a CD-imy 
organization. Upon the arrival of Governor St. Clair, e.'c 
Kaskaskia, in 1790, he established St. Clair C ounty, which 
embraced all the southern part of the state below a point 
on the Illinois river, including the region which Col. 
Clark had previously named Randolph County « 

1795 — in 1795, however, Randolph County was formally es- 
tablished, and the machinery of local government put in op- 
eration. It included all that part of the state which lies 
south of a line running upon the parallel of the New Design 
Settlement, in Monroe county, due east to the wabash river. • 

At the time the county was organized, the area which it 
now includes was an almost unbroken wilderness, interrupted 
only by the villages of Kaskaskia and Prairie du Rocher . 
But the precursors of civilization and refinement were on 
their way, and the rays of a new era were reaching into its 
wild woods. The story of its fertile soil, its delightful 
and health-giving climate, and its crystal streams of water, 
had gone to the Atlantic coast and awakened a spirit of emi- 
gration. Lured by the accounts of a country for which Nature 

-37- 
*I believe this is a misprint and should be 1778, E.P.L. 



had done so much, the pioneers began to dro* in and Join 
the scattering few who had already located amidst its 
darkened forests. These v/erc a brave and noble race of 
men, and merit a place in these sketches. They opened 
the way for the great improvement that has followed, the 
blessings of which are now enjoyed by those inhabiting the 
county.. They, too, furnished the materials, and with them 
occurred the events which impart all that is interesting to 
the early history of Randolph County. 

SETTLEMEHT --AND PIONEERS OF 
RANDOLPH COUNTY 

1780. — A little colony of pioneers— some of whom were 
soldiers under Col. Clark— made a settlement on the east 
side of the Kaskaskia river, three miles from town, as early 
as the year 1700. The names of these settlers were John 
Montgomery, Joseph Anderson, John Dodge, John Doyle, David 
Pagon, M. Augustus, James Curry, and Levi Teel. They 
erected a few rude cabins, and made small farms. John 
Montgomery located upon the identical spot where Stace 
McDonough settled when he came to the country twenty years 
later. The settlement was almost broken up before the year 
1790. 

These pioneers experienced all the incidents common k 
to frontier life, and encountered .perilous adventures of a 
character so thrilling as to assume the air of fiction. 
One day, James Curry and Levi Teel were out hunting, and 
being overtaken by nightfall, they encamped in a new house 
Just erected by David Pagon, but not yet occupied. During 
the latter part of the night, the house was besieged by a 
band of sixteen Piankashaw Indians. Teel proposed to sur- 
render, lest a worse fate should befall them. To thi? 
proposition Curry resolutely demurred. He was brave, Jen 
to desperation; and knowing the house had been built sub- 
stantial, and that the door was strongly barred, he £<? - 
termined to give battle. Teel went to the door, eithe- to 
open it, or reconnoitre, and while standing near it, the 
Indians stuck a spear through a hole in the door into his 
foot, which fastened him to the floor, instinctively he 
seized the spear to pull it out, when another spear was 
driven into his hand. Hu heartless enemies now had him 
fast, and they Jigged and cut his hands in a most shocking 
manner. Curry, fearing lest Teel should open the door, 
mounted the loft and commenced firing upon the assailants. 
He fired three shots in rapid succession, each time bring- 
ing a warrior to the ground. Still fearing that Teel would 
open the door, he descended to the floor, and finding him 
disabled, he again sprang to the loft and renewed his des- 
perate defense. Discovering that the Indians had huddled 
close against the house to avoid his destructive shots, he 
tumbled the weight-poles of the roof down upon them, killing 
their chief, and wounding some others. This intrepid feat, 
and the approach of morning light drove the Indians from zhe 
house, leaving Curry the victorious champion of the siege. 

-38- 



By his fearless daring he saved himself and companion from 
Indian captivity, and probably death at the stake. 

Curry ?/as one of Clark* s favorite soldiers, and dis- 
tinguished himself in the capture of Forts Gage and sack- 
Ville. He was foremost in every perilous enterprise, and 
never quailed before danger. His life v/as one of thrilling 
adventures, and fate doomed him to a tragic end. In company 
with Joseph Anderson, he went out hunting and never returned. 
The presence of lurking, hostile savages, left no doubts 
about the manner of his death. 

Joseph Curry, now an old man, living at Mr, Riley »s 
Mill, is a grandson of the pioneer hero. 

This little settlement was hrrrassed unceasingly by the 
Indians until the settlers were forced to abandon it. But 
it was renewed again in a few years, and became one of the 
most important in the county. 

1780 -" In the same year that this settlement was made 
opposite Kaskaskia, another one v/as commenced on the same 
side of the river, above the mouth of Nine Mile creek, by 
some of Clark f s soldiers, and a few friends whom they had 
induced to Eome to tne country. Among the settlers were 
Daniel Hicks, Henry and Elijah Smith, Hitterbrand, Hayden, 
Lanceford and some others. Kostof these men lived and died 
in this settlement. They were quiet, industrious people, and 
took but little part in any thing beyond the limits of their 
own neighborhood. The descendants of some of them are still 
living in the county. 

1783 — In the year 1783, Thomas Hughs, from Kentucky, 
came to the Territory to select a place with a view of bring- • 
ing out his family. He marked a place for settlement in the 
eastern side of the Kaskaskia river, in the Kontgomor^ 
neighborhood, and then returned for his family in K-n" <^v. 
On his return to that State, he persuaded some friend" \,d ac- 
company him, and a small pcrty started for Illinois, vhile 
crossing the Ohio river, they were attacked by Indians, and 
Hughs and three others of the party were killed. Mrs. Hughs 
was sitting in the boat with her child at the breast, and a 
ball from one of the savages* guns spattered its brains in 
her face. 

The balance of the party escaped and returned to Kentucky. 
Some years afterwards, Mrs. Hughs married James pillars, and 
with his two sons- John and Richard, and the surviving son of 
Hughs — James — they resolved to resume the journey to the wilds 
of Illinois, which ftad been so suddenly interrupted by the 
death of Hughs. 

1795— They arrived at Kaskaskia in 1795, and made a 
settlement on the east side of the r iver — on the farm which 
is now occupied by Henry Hughs, and widely known as the »'o3d 
Hughs place". Pillars remained upon the farm several years, 
find was an industrious, quiet and respected citizen. 

-39- 



James Hughs — son^ of him who was killed by the Indians — 
returned to Kentucky and married, and ccme again to Illinois 
in the year 1800. He was a man of remarkable energy and 
sound Judgment, and became a very important constituent of 
the infant settlement. He was in the United states ranging 
service, in 1812, He obtained possession of his step- 
father's farm, and lived upon it until his death. His sons 
have borne a respected position in this county. 

James Hughs was the oldest, and became a <ery popular 
man. He was often elected to fill important offices. He 
died in Kaskaskia, in 1842. John Hughs v/as the second so:., 
and now lives about ten miles northwest of Chester. stace 
located on the west side of Kaskaskia river, in the : Harra 
neighborhood, and died there in 1857. Felix resides near 
his brother John, is a farmer, and holds the office of magis- 
trate. Henry lives upon the farm of his father where he was 
born. 

John Pillars opened a farm about half a mile northwest 
of his father, but moved soon afterwards, and located on the 
western side of the Opossumden prairie. He was a man of 
high standing, having been chosen major of the militia, 
which position he held for a long term of years. He died in 
1851, on his farm, where he had lived nearly half a century. 

Richard Pillars was of a migratory disposition, seldom 
remaining long at any place. He last lived on Mary's 
River, near the Little Mill seat, and died there in 1844. 
The descendants of the Pillars are still residing in the 
county. 

1797 — Stace McDonough, one of the most conspicuous and 
leading characters of pioneer times, came and located in the 
Pillars' settlement in 1787. He was a soldier in the Ken- 
tucky militia, and was in many expeditions against the Ii.cfj - 
ans. He served under Col. Clark in an expedition to the 
Wabash, in 1786. He v/as in the disastrous defeat of Gen. 
St. Clair, in 1791, and miraculously saved himself from that 
dreadful carnage. He commanded a boat on the Ohio river, in 
1793, and while passing down the stream was shot in the 
shoulder by some lurking savages on the shore. This wound 
affected him through life. He was also with Anthony Wayne, 
and suited the character of that General, whose exploits 
gained for him the sobriquet of "Mad Anthony." During the 
war of 1812, he carried the mail from St. Louis, by way of 
Ka3kaskia, to Shawneetown, and though the route was beset by 
dangers from the hostile Indians, he ra ade his trips regu- 
larly. He was elected Captain of a ranging company, and 
filled the station with marked ability. He lived on the 
farm where he first settled, for nearly half a century, and 
died much lamented. He left two sons — James and David; 
the former settled in the lower cv* of the Opossumden Preiri* 
about the year 1820. He died there some years ago, and his 
family are living around the old farm. David lives on the 
farm made by his father. 



1798 — Another addition was made to this settlement in 
the person of Jonathan Pettit, in the year 1798. He was e 
noble specimen of the pioneer clojj, and by his enterpris- 
ing energy he became a valuable acquisition to the little 

colony in which he located. He erected a mill on Mine Mile 
creek at the point where the Chester and Evansville roar 1 , 
crosses that stream. Some evidences of the existence of 
this mill may yet be found. Pettit was an active, industri- 
ous man, full of life and energy. Like. most of the brave 
pioneers, he Joined the "Rangers" in 181L, and discharge::'. 
his military duties in a manner very creditable to MmscO.f 
and the service. His sons were David, Henry, Jon:.c 1 -.ar, -Mid 
Joseph. The only one of the name of this family r*m*:L!ii;,* 
in the county is Henry Newton Pettit, who lives about five 
miles northwest of Chester. 



1795-- About 1795, John J. vhitesidc, and some others, 

laid of£ a town on the western bank of the Kaskaskia river, 

not far from the northern limit3 of Randolph county, and 

called it Washington, but it ceased to grow and be called a 

town in a very few years. It was a town only in name. Sorre 

of the Going family located in this town, but they remained 
but a short time. 

Before the close of the century, another settlement was 
commenced in Horse Prairie — a name-given it because of the 
great number of wild horses found in it. The settlers here 
were Samuel and Winder Kinney, Jarrot Brickey, Chance Rat- 
cliff, Gibbons, Robert McMahon, and some others. These men 
had first located about the -New Design, in Monroe County. 
For a time this settlement promised to become permanent and 
lasting, but it v/as harrassed by the Indians until nearly 
all the settlers left it. 

One of the most shocking Indian butcheries that ever 
befell the family of any man, happened to that of Robert 
McMahon. The Indians attacked his house one day, while the 
family were all at home, and killed Mrs. McMahon and four 
children. McMahon himself, and two small daughters, were 
fettered and taken prisoners. The Indians, with their 
captives, hurried away, lest the whites should pursue them. 
Some days afterwards, Mr. Judy went to McMahon »s house, and 
instead of finding the family alive and well, as he had ex- 
pected, he found the mangled bodies of five stretched in a 
row upon the floor, and the dead body of the baby in the 
cradle, supposed to have died of hunger. The sad intelli- 
gence was given to the settlements around, and a small party 
started in pursuit of the Indians, but they had made good 
their escape. 

The people of the surrounding neighborhoods gathered 
together and buried the dead bodies, and after the funeral 
was over, a religious meeting was held. The solemn devotions , 
prompted by the awfully sorro\vful occasion, continued until 
a late hour in the evening. Just as the congregation was 
about breaking up, Mr. McMahon came in, nearly exhausted, 

-41- 



and fainting from fatigue and mental anxiety* If some 
mysterious being from the spirit world had appeared in the 
midst of that assembly, no* greater surprise could have been 
produced. He was informed that his family had been buried 
that day, and the awful butchery of which they were the vic- 
tims, had been the occasion of that meeting. Struggling 
emotions of piercing sorrow and thankful Joy filled his 
heart. His* family had been murdered, but kind friends had 
buried them, and mingled tears of sorrow with the sod o^er 
their graves; he had escaped from a horrible captivity, and 
generous friends surrounded him, but the thought or his two 
lovely daughters, still subject to the will of Jiear^leis 
savages, almost made him frantic, imagine, if poss^b...3, tne 
feelings of that man with such reflections upon his mi:^. 
He told the story of the attack upon his house, and how 
brutally his lovely family were murdered before his eyes 9 
while he was bound and tied down, unable to defend them. 
When his wife and four children lay dead upon the floor, he 
and the two little girls were marched off, and started under 
the control of their captors, they knew not whither. The 
first night after they started, the Indians tied McMahon 
down with tug-ropes, stripped him of most of his clothing, 
and put a belt containing little bells around his body, so 
that escape was impossible. 

This night a heavy snow fell, and the weather turned 
excessively cold. The next day they traveled hastily over 
the snowy, frozen ground, v/hich almost killed McMahon and the 
little girls. The third night the party camped above Sugar 
Creek, not far from the locality of Lebanon, in St. Clair 
County. They had nothing but dried venison to eat, and so 
little of that, that it did not satisfy the cravings of 
nature. But McMahon, although nearly starved and frozen, 
determined to make his escape if possible. The Indians took 
the precaution to tie and secure him as they had done the 
previous night, but, after they had all lain down and were 
asleep, he slipped the cords from his wrists and body, and 
tied what little clothes he yet had on. around the belt of 
bells, so that they made no noi3e. He was Just attempting 
to rise, when one of the Indians raised his head up and 
looked around, but not noticing McMahon, laid dov/n again. 
When the Indian again slept, he rose quietly and escaped, 
leaving his shoes and most of his clothing. Traveling a 
short distance, barefooted and almoet naked, he thought it 
would be death to continue, and returned to the camp and 
tried to get his shoes, but he could not without waking the 
Indians. Prefering to die a free man, of cold and hunger, 
in the woods, rather than risk his life with those who had 
cruelly murdered his family, he started for the New Design, 
scarcely expecting to ever reach it. The night following 
that of his escape, he laid dov/n by a log, and covering him- 
self with leaves, he slept a little, but his feet and elbows 
were severely frost bitten. The next day, late in the even- 
ing, he arrived at Prairie du Rocher, nearer dead than alive 
From there he proceeded to the Lemons' Fort to Join his 
friends as above related. 

-42- . 



He did not inform his daughters of his intention to 
escape, fetring they might cry and prevent him from get- 
ting away. He left them bitter as was the necessity, to 
the mercy of the savages, trusting that they might yet 
be rescued; and so they were. 

One incident connected with this horrible affair 
should be related to show the sagacity of a little fiste 
dog. During the few days that McMahon »s family lay dead, 
in the house where they were murdered, this little dog, a 
favorite in the family, would come to the New Design, 
whine piteousiy, and run back and forth towards McMihonts 
house, but no one took notice of him. His visits were re- 
peated daily; but the object of his coming was not imagined 
or thought of until the murder was discovered. 

V/hen McMahon had returned and gone into the meeting, 
previously mentioned, this little dog was in the house. He- 
did not recognize his master at first, he was so changed, 
but after a while he found him out, and then leaped upon 
him, and frisked about almost wild with joy. 

Some yesrs after the murder of his family, McMahon 
married again, and lived in Horse* Prairie. He was appointed 
a Judge of the Common Pleas- Court, and a justice of the 
Peace in Randolph County, which offices he filled with much 
ability and satisfaction a long time. He moved first to 
St. Clair, and then to Madison county, v/here he died. 

As remarked in a preceding paragraph, the settlement 
in Horse Prairie was almost broken previous to the year 
1800. Besides McMahon, Henry Levcns and Jarrot Brie key, 
were about the only ones who remained permanently. The sons 
of Henry Levens — Thomas, Isaiah, Otho and Bazyl — all located 
around the home of their father, and became prominent men 
in that little community, but they, and all their descen- 
dants, are gone now. 

Jarrot Brickey was another of the sturdy, staunch 
pioneers, who braved the dangers of Indian Massacres and 
midnight assassinations. He lived an industrious, respected 
citizen of Horse Prairie for nearly half a centure, and dur- 
ing that time he was prominent in all those scenes which 
mark the pioneer times of Randolph County. Ho was a Bangor 
in 1812. 

His son— Preston B. Brickey— located half a mile north 
of Red Bud, and became a respectable farmer. His sons — 
John and William — are now citizens of Red Bud, and own a 
large flouring mill. 

1800.— Outside of Kaskaskia and Prairie du Rocher, the 
two settlements to which reference has been mede in the pre- 
ceding paragraphs, included the entire population of Randolph 
County, at the commencement of the present century; but the 
way was now opened, and new arrivals beccme more frequent. 
New settlements were commenced, and additions made to those 

- 43 - 



already established, more rapidly. 

v Among the first immigrants to the County, after the 
commencement of 1800 was Robert Reynolds, from Tennessee, 
end formerly from Ireland. After remaining in Kaskaskia 
a few months, he located in the settlement of Hughs and 
Pillars, on the east side of the river. He became a leading 
man in the new settlement, and was often elected to fill 
important offices in the county. He remained in the county 
upwards of twenty years, and then went to Madison county, 
where he died. His oldest son, John Reynolds, became a 
distinguished man in early times — was elected a jud*e of 
the Supreme Court, a member of the Legislature, a member of 
Congress, Governor of the State, and is now more intimately 
known by the people than any other man in Illinois. He now 
lives in Belleville, at the age of sixtyrthree years. Hi"* 
brother, Thomas Reynolds, became a distinguished lawyer and 
judge. 

1801 — In 1801, Joseph Heard arrived in Kaskaskia and 
settled upon Garrison Hill. A few years afterward he movea 
and opened a farm two and a half miles' north of Chester, on 
Gravel Creek, the same that is now owned by J. B. Holmes, 
and cultivated by John Claupick. Heard lived here for some 
years, and improved his farm, and raised large crops. 
Hugh Heard, the oldest son of Joseph, settled upon a farm 
about two miles north of his father, which is yet known as 
the "Old Heard Farm." It is now occupied by Henry Bode. 
Heard occupied this farm for many years, and then moved 
away to Wisconsin. 

James Heard, the second son, located still farther 
north, and made a farm, where he lived to be an old man. 
Joseph, William, and James Heard, now living in the same 
neighborhood, are the sons of James. 

180.1— George Franklin came with Joseph Heard, and made 
the farm on which Lemuel Barker now lives, four miles east 
of Kaskaskia. Some years afterwards he moved and settled 
one mile east of the present location of Pinckneyville, in 
Perry County, on what is now known as the "Old Baldridge 
Farm." 

180£--.In 1802, the "Irish fettlement", neat* the mouth 
of Plumb Creek, was founded. James Patterson, from Abbe- 
ville District, S»outh Carolina, came with his family, and 
branching out beyond the limits of the other settlement, 
made a permanent location at this place, which took its name 
from the fact that he and subsequent settlers were from 
South Carolina — or what is sometimes known as "South Caro- 
lina Irish". 

James Patterson was a man of remarkable energy and 
activity, and always stood high in the community. He often 
held the offices df Justice of the Pease and County commis- 
sioner. In the ranging service of 1812 he bore an active 

-44- 



pert. He had four sons — Joh} Samuel, Reuben, and James 
•Harvey. John located in the same settlement of his father, 
where he lived for many years, and afterwards moved to 
Hill Prairie, where he died in 1837. Samuel settled in 
Horse Prairie: Reuben in Hitchcock Prairie, where he now 
lives, James' H. now lives upon the farm first made by his 
fathei . The Patterson family have always occupied a promi- 
nent position in the county, and are well and widely known. 

1802 — John Fulton, from Tennessee, came in 1802, and 
located in the same settlement. He was a valuable addition 
to this community always active, and foremost in whatever 
promised to promote the best interests of the public. Hi? 
sons — Thomas, David, and Cyrus^-all located in the seme 
neighborhood, where Thomas and Cyrus died. David lives ?i. 
Marion County. 

1802 — William Roberts, from Lexington, Kentucky, came 
in 1802, and settled on the east side of the Kaskaskia river. 
in the neighborhood of Hughs. He opened a farm and in addi- 
tion to this employment, he traded down the river, and be- 
came well known along the banks of the Mississippi, from 
Kaskaskia to New Orleans. Having spent twenty years of an 
eventful and useful life, amidst the pioneer scenes of I.'JK- 
nois, he died in 1822. 

1802 — Thoma3 Roberts, son of William, who had nearly 
reached his majority at the time of coming to Illinois, 
located upon a farm near his father. He became a highly 
respected citizen as he advanced in age, and was often pro- 
moted to positions of importance. He held the office of 
Justice of the Peace for a long term of years, and v/as 
County Commissioner at various times. Towards the close of 
his life he became a devoted Christian, and gave his time 
and means liberally to the church. He died in 1858. His 
descendants are numerous. His sons were Thomas, Darius, 
William, John, Daniel Preston, Jacob, wyley, volney, and 
Perry. All have families except Darius, who died in early 
life. 

— 1802 — Robert Tindall came from Chester County, South 
Carolina, and settled on what is now known as the Fleming 
Farm, situated some five miles northeast of Chester. Here 
he commenced the erection of a water-mill, on a small stream 
which flows past the farm, but before it v/as completed the 
Floods washed it away. He then erected a horse-mill near 
his residence, at which the settlers around were supplied 
with their breadstuff. The advantage of this mill was felt 
by all the new comers, and it was a great inducement for 
them to settle around it. Mr. Tindall was a valuable pioneer 
In the settlement, and spent a life in some useful employment 
to himself and his neighbors. 

He had four sons, two of whom are yet living— Reuben 
and Robert. The former is a citizen of Chester, and known 
as one of the oldest natives of Illinois. Robert lives in 
the vicinity of Steelsville. 

-45- 



1802— John and Ephraim Bilderback came to Illinois In 
the year 1802, and located permanently. Ephraim made a 
farm in the region of the settlement on the east side of 
the Kaskaskia river, about one mile north of Edgar's — now 
Riley's mill. John settled upon a farm which adjoins, or 
forms a part of the one now occupied by Armsted Jones. 
These two men were intelligent, active, and industrious; ani 
by their solid, substantial ability, they soon became the 
representative men in the little community of which they 
formed a part. 

1802— John was in the ranging service, end displayed 
the same traits of perseverance and "bravery there that 
characterized him in the retired but equally responsible 
sphere of life. He died, leaving no descendants. 

Ephraim devoted himself to farming, almost constantly, 
and displayed an industry that is worthy of imitation. He 
was the father of William, Stuart, James, Charles, Franklin ; 
Henry, Ephraim, Thomas, and John, each of whom became re- 
spectable citizens of the county. William located a short 
distance below the site of Liberty, near the dividing line 
between Randolph and Jackson counties, where he lived for 
many years, then moved away to Wisconsin, and died there in 

1849. Franklin lived at the old place. Ephraim went to 
Perry County, and remained a few years, but returned and 
made a farm on Mary's river, and remained until his death. 
John settled in Lively Prairie, where he died. James is 
still living upon a farm about four miles north of Chester. 
There are many of the descendants of these men now living in 
the county. 

1800 — Benjamin Crane, with seven sons — Benjamin, 
Squire, William^ James, Joel, Lev/is, and John — c ame to Illi- 
nois about 1802, or probably two years earlier, and settled 
en Mary's river, about four miles above the mouth. These 
were men of decided character, and soon became known in all 
the other settlements. Their traits of character were well 
adapted to a pioneer country, and their influence in advanc- 
ing the new region in which they had decided to live, was 
successfully exerted. They were the leading men in settling 
the country around the mouth* of Mary's river, and the is- 
land opposite, which bee rs the name of Crane's Island. John 
lived upon this Island for many years, and died there in 

1850. Joel died the same year. The other brothers, except 
Lewis, who now lives in California, died several years pre- 
vious. James Harvey and Nelson R. Crtnc, residents of Ches- 
ter, are sons of John Crane. 

1802 — Paul Harelston settled on the west side of the 
Kaskaskia river, in 1802, near the mouth of camp's Creek. 
He became a very prominent man in those early days, and held 
the office of Sheriff for a short time. No other information 
could be obtained about him. 

Abijah Leavitt was a soldier in Col. pike's division, 
which came to Fort Gage in 1803. He obtained a discharge 

-46- 



from the army, and made a farm one mile back of Garrison 
Hill. He lived upon this farm until a few years ago, when 
he died. A quiet, industrious citizen, he enjoyed the es- 
teem of his neighbors. The place where he lived is now oc- 
cupied by his son. 

1803 — Robert Muggins, from South Carolina, settled in 
the Irish settlement, in 1803. He lived there some years, 
and then moved into the Oppossumuun prairie, James Hue? ins, 
son of Robert, settled in Flat Prairie about the year 1017, 
and made the farm which is now known as the "Arche Mcpill 
piece." It was the first farm in that Prairie. Tho de- 
scendants of Hucgins are now living in Perry County. 

1804 — John Lacy came to Illinois from south Carolina 
in 1804, and settled upon the farm which has been known in 
later years as the "Major Adair place." He lived here somp 
years, until his death, . Major Adair married the widow 
Lacy. John Lacy, now living upon the same place, is a son 
of the pioneer. 

1804— In 1804, a numerous and valuable addition was 
made to the Irish settlement at the mouth of plumb Creek. 
John McClinton, David and James Anderson, and Adam Hill, 
from Abbeville, South Carolina with their families, number- 
ing in the aggregate thirty-one members — nine of whom are 
yet living — arrived in this settlement, on the £5th of 
December of that year. This company infused into the little 
settlement a life end activity hitherto unknown. 

John McClinton *s wife died a few weeks after they ar- 
rived, and he died about one year after her death, leaving 
John, Samuel, and William — who were placed under the guardi- 
anship of the Hills and Anderson. John and William both 
died many years ago. Samuel located finally near Sparta, 
where he lived for many years, and became widely known as 
an active, respectable citizen. He died four or five years 
ago, leaving a large family. 

1804 — David Anderson, who afterwards obtained the title 
of Colonel, was a leading and popular man in the community 
from the time of his arrival. He was a strong, athletic 
man, very benevolent and kind in his disposition, and a firm 
friend of the church. His merit became known beyond the 
limits of his own neighborhood, and he was often called upon 
to fill stations of official trust. As Colonel of the mili- 
tia he was a favorite, and displayed an ability creditable 
to himself and the high position he filled. His sons all 
died while young. His oldest daughter married Robert G. 
Shannon. 

1804 — James Anderson lived but a few years after coming 
to Illinois. He was noted for his retired, unassuming dis-" 
position, and kindness of heart. He left five sons— James, 
John, William, Thomas and David, all of whom became respects 
ble citizens of the county. William and David are dead; the 
other three are still living. Thomas is a prominent member 

-47- 



of the church. 

1804— Adam Hill settled on the farm now occupied by 
Mrs. Kelly, near Evansville. Here he lived in the quiet 
pursuit of farming until his death. His sons, John, 
William, Adam. Robert and Samuel became well known citizens 
of the county. William is now living in Marion county. 
John, Adam and Robert are dead. Samuel is living near the 
old place of his father, a kind, sociable citizen. 

1804— The Irish Settlement was increased by another 
party of emigrants from Abbeville, south Carolina, during 
the same year, or in the commencement of the year follow- 
ing. Absalom Cox, James and Archibald Thompson, William 
McBride and Robert McDonald, were the leaders of this party. 

Absalom Cox was elected in later years a Captain of a 
militia com]>any. He was an important member of the commun- 
ity, and lived a useful life. He established a ferry across 
the Kaskaskia river, which is known to this day as "Cox's 
Ferry." He died on the farm where he settled, leaving four 
sons: — John, William, Thomas, and Absalom. 

John is now fin old man living upon his father's farm. 
William lives adjoining the same place. Thomas and Absalom 
are dead. 

1804 — James Thompson located upon a farm in % this settle- 
ment, and lived a life of an industrious, respectable citi- 
zen. He was a man of patriotic feelings, and his country 
never called for his services without a ready response. His 
sons were Robert and Archibald, the latter died in youth. 

Robert lived on Plumb. Creek, where he died in 1830. 
His sons were James B., John B., Andrew and Robert. The 
former two are living in the settlement of their father and 
grandfather; the latter tv/o are dead. 

1804 — Archibald Thompson was a man of excellent char- 
acter, and a very efficient member of the community. He 
lived some years in the settlement where he first located, 
and then moved, in the year 181c, to a pltce two miles south 
of the present t own of Evansville. Reaching an advanced 
age, he died in 1833. His sons were' Robert, William, Hoses, 
Archibald, John and James. Robert lived upon the farm, made 

by his father until he grew to be on old man, and died only 
a few weeks since. William settled two and a half miles 
south of Preston, where he still resides. Moses settled 
about 1816 on the farm now occupied by John M. Thompson. 

He afterwards moved to St. Clair County, and died there 
in 1846. Archibald went to Hitchcock Prairie in 18<:2, and 
lived there until his death, in 1856. His descendants are 
living in the same neighborhood. John Thompson became a 
very prominent man in the county. He was once County Com- 
missioner. In 1836 he was elected a member of the Legis- 
lature, and died during the session of that body. James 

-48- 



Thompson, the youngest of the brothers, lived upon his 
father's farm until he died, in 1835. 

1804 William McBride was a valuable constituent of the 

Irish Settlement. He labored much, and lived in a manner 
which rendered him a favorite in the community. He was 
somewhat advanced in age when he came, but he endured the 
privations of pioneer life very well. He died in 1818. His 
sons, Thomas— who had a family when they come, John and 
William, settled around their father, and were industrious, 
highly esteemed citizens. They arc all dead now. Thomas 
left two sons— William and John. The former lives in Wash- 
ington County; the latter on the old place. William McBride 
was Captain of a militia company in 1813, and once held the 
office of County Commissioner* Mrs. Wilson, now living in 
Chester, is the only surviving one of John McBride »s family. 

1804 — Robert McDonough remained in the settlement until 
his death. His family then moved away, and none of his 
descendants are now in the county. 

1804— In the same year — 1804— Samuel Cochran located 
upon the land which is now known as the "Haskin farm." He 
was far out from the settlement at that time, and lived some- 
what secluded, yet he was very sociable, and fond of company. 
He was an influential and popular man, and held several im- 
portant offices. He died in Jackson County, in 1824. His 
sons were John, William, George, Alexander and Elisha. 
John improved a farm near the Bilderbacks, and lived upon it 
until his death. William settled, lived and died upon the 
farm on which Joseph Hardin now resides, one mile northwest 
of Chester. Mrs. Vanzant, now living in Chester at an ad- 
vanced age, is the daughter of Samuel Cochran. George moved 
to Jackson County, and there became a very prominent man. 
The other brothers also went to Jackson county. They were 
noted for their exploits in hunting. 

1804 — About this time a man by the name of Emsley Jones 
settled in the region of Liberty. Another man named Reed 
and settled in the same neighborhood. Jones and Reed got 
into a quarrel, which finally resulted in Jones killing 
Reed, for which crime he v/as hung, in Kaskaskia. This was 
the first execution upon the gallows in Randolph County. 
A short time afterwards, an Indian was hung for murdering a 
white man, These are the only two instances where capital 
punishment has been resorted to within the limits of the 
county since it had an existence, and it is earnestly hoped 
that such a proceeding will never again blacken her fair 
fame. If, however, the necessity should occur, her courts 
must yield obedience to the requirements of imperative laws. 

1805 — Alexander Barber came in 1805 from Ohio. He 
first settled near the Bilderbacks, on the east side of the 
Kaskaskia river. Being a man of strong native intellect, a 
clear Judgment, and robust constitution, he took a leading 
position among the other stalwart characters of the settle- 



ment in which he located. His employment was farming, but, 
as the settlements increased, he was engaged in building 
mills. Skilled in this branch of business, and possessing 
a great energy, he was a very useful man in the new country, 
and did much for its advancement. About the year 1825, he 
located on the farm where he now resides, two miles north 
of Liberty. Here he erected a mill; and he has been engaged 
with mills nearly ever since. The name of Barber suggests 
the idea of a mill. More than forty years ago he was elect- 
ed a Justice of the Peace— a position for which Nature 
seems to have designed him — and he still holds the office, 
having filled it during all that time without intermission. 
There is probably no man in Illinois who has held that of- 
fice so long, and probably no man that ever filled the of- 
fice whose official acts have given such general satisfac- 
tion. A few months more and he will have attained his four- 
score years, yet he retains his intellectual faculties in 
their vigor and brightness. He has fifty-four years of the 
history of this county fresh in his memory. He belongs to 
a generation past, but lives yet as a noble specimen of his 
compeers. 

Alexander Clark was another of those who came in 1805. 
He located three miles south of the present town of Evans- . 
ville. How long he remained, or what position he occupied, 
could not be learned. 

1805 — Joseph Lively came, in 1805, from Abbeville, 
South Carolina, and settled the Seymour farm, three miles 
north of Kaskaskia. He lived u±;on the farm until 18£3, 
when he moved and settled in the lower end of Oppossumden 
Prairie. He moved the next year and settled upon the place 
where Judge John Campbell resides. He was active, industri- 
ous, and benevolent. He died in 1833. His sons were Amos, 
Shadrack, Inoch, Richard, James, and Reuben,, who have be- 
come well known to the people of the county, and from whom 
a numerous descendancy has sprung. They were farmers, gen- 
erally, and good neighbors. Some of them are yet living, 
though old men. 

1805 — John Lively a brother of Joseph, who came at the 
same time, settled in the Prairie northeast of the Irish 
Settlement, from which circumstance the prairie has been 
c ailed "Lively Prairie". He was the pioneer of that part 
of the county, and sustained his position in a manner which 
excites sentiments of pride in his descendants. He lived in 
this prairie during his life, which closed in 18L6. Reuben 
Lively, who lives near Athens, in St. Clair County, is the 
oldest son or John Live!;*. His other sons were James, Turner , 
William and Hugh P. — the latter was accidentally killed by 
the falling of a tree. Turner and William are residents of 
the prairie where their father lived. James is dead. 

1806— In the year 1806, George Wilson and Samuel 
Crozier, from Abbeville, South Carolina, arrived in the 
County. George Wilson settled on Plumb creek near the forks. 

-50- 



From there he went to the mouth of Dozar Creek, and re- 
mained until 1812, when he moved into the Fort, He 
lived in the Fort for some years after the settlers had 
returned to their homes. In 1827 he moved into Hitch- 
cock Prairie,' and lived there until his death in 1857, 
Mr. Wilson was a man in whom were blended all those 
noble traits of character which distinguished the early 
pioneers — high-minded, generous, brave. Through his 
long life he maintained a high position among his neigh- 
bors, and though he had reached the age of seventy-five 
when he died, his death was a loss felt by the community. 
Hi3 sons are John A., George, Willie m L. , James and 
Andrew. John A. Wilson ha3 filled the office of Sheriff 
of the county, and is now the Major of the city of 
Sparta. George lives upon the old place of his father, 
William L. is a citizen of Chester. James lives near ishe 
old place in the prairie. 

1806 — Samuel Crozier opened a farm on Nine 
Mile Creek, two miles south of the location of Evancville. 
He was a man of high intellectual abilities, soci^Dle and 
benevolent. He rose to position and influence without 
an effort. In 1827 he was chosen a member of the Legis- 
lature, He died in 1834. His sons were John, James, 
Andrew, Archibald and Samuel B. John Crozier settled 
upon the site of Red Bud in Horse Prairie, in 1824. He 
was the father of Samuel Crozier who was one of the 
founders, and a highly esteemed citizen of Red Bud, and 
who died a few weeks ago; also James, who is still liv- 
ing in t hat town, and Thomas. The brothers of John 
Crozier became citizens of the county, and lived in it 
until they died. The Crozier family has always sustained 
a very respectable position in the community, 

Mr. Mansker, .father of Samuel Mansker, made a settlr- 
ment on Liberty Island, in 1806, but the farm he made 
washed away in a few years, and he removed. Samuel 
M ansker settled upon the farm where he now lives in tlv 
same year that his father located upon the Island. He 
has been a sturdy, persevering and respectable citizen. 

1807 — John Campbell, from Abbeville, South Carolina, 
settled near the mouth of Nine Mile Creek, in 1807. He 
lived upon that place until 1620, v/hen he moved to a 
place four miles east of Fvansville, and died there in. 
1827. His life was that of an unassuming, retired and 
respectable citizen. His sons, John, Samuel, Archibald 
and James all settled in tne neighborhood of their father, 

1807 — During the Jrear 1807, John Taggart, from 
South Carolina, came to the county. He remained for 
some time about Xaskaskia, finally joined the ranging 
service, and after receiving his discharge he settled 
upon the farm where he now resides, about nine miles 
north of Chester. Amos Taggart, who lives on the Chester 
and Sparta road, is a son of John, 

-51- LIBRARY 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 
AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN 




1907 Daniel Taggart, brother of John, came from 

South Carolina at the samo time. He was also in the 
ranging service, and after the company was disbanded he 
located upon a farm near his brother. His sons are John, 
William, Amos and Daniel, ail of whom are living in the 
neighborhood of their father. 

1807— John Steele, from Tennessee, came to the county 

in 180 r 
and 
mentL 

now stands. Here he formed the nucleus of a settlement, 
which increased rapidly. During his long life he displayed 
the seme energy in every undertaking as had done in 
establishing this settlement. He was a man of sterling 
worth— a noble specimen of the pioneers. His sons were 
George, Archibald. Janes, John, and Thomas, from whom 
the numerous family bearing their name, living around 
Steelesviile, have descended. George Steele was th3 
founder of Georgetown, since called steelesviile, and the 
proprietor of Steele's Hills, a point widely known in 
early times. He v/as a man of enterprising energy, and a 
very useful citizen. He was the father of James and 
Thomas Steele. 

Archibald Steele, the Second son of the pioneer, 
opened a farm one-half mile southwest of Steelesviile, 
and lived there until his death, a few months ago. 
Inheriting the characteristics of his father, he was a 
leading, influential member of the community in which he 
lived. He was the father of Anthony, Jefferson, Rllen, 
Merrit, Jasper, and Lindsay. Anthony now holds the of- 
fice of Sheriff. 

James Steele remained a citizen of the county until 
1849, when he moved away to Iowa. John and Thomas are 
living near Steelesviile. 

1803 — In this year, one of the most remarkable 
pioneers that figured in the county, came and settled 
about three miles south of Steelesviile. That man was 
Jacob Bowerman. Decision of character was a leading 
trait, and shone out in all his operations. He was a 
representative man, and filled the position of a leader 
with, marked ability. His ingenuity was unbounded. He 
was master of almost every trade, and from the fertility 
of hi3 genius he could manufacture guns, though he never 
served an apprenticeship to the trade. As a marksman, 
with the rifle he had no superior. He lived on the farm 
where ho first settled only a short time, then opened the 
farm on which Archibald Stucle lived during life, and 
afterwards settled upon the farm, on the western side of 
Steelesviile, which i3 known as the "old Dov/erman place. 
He had four sons- Jonathan, Jesse, Michael, and William — 
three of whom are yet living — Je-3se being dead. Jonathan 
resides in Jackson county; Michael lives three miles south 
of Steelesviile; and William lives three miles north of 

-52- 



the same place. 

1808 — In this year, another addition was made to the 
Irish Settlement. Robert Foster and John Anderson arrived 
from South Carolina, Abbeville District, having made that 
long journey on horseback. Foster first located near the 
settlement of Killer and McCormack, where James and George 
McCormack now live. He afterwards moved on to Plumb CrPel; 
and erected a steam distillery and a horse-mill. With this 
appendage to the settlement, inducements were offered to 
immigrants which brought many to it. Foster »s mill was the 
center of attraction — the place for all public gatherings, 
musters, &c. Mr. Foster, as his work3 indicate, was a man 
for the time3 — enterprising, determined, and accommodating. 
Possessing a practical judgment, his efforts were directed 
to such projects as promised to advance the public inter- 
ests. He was sometimes called to fill official stations, 
which he did with high satisfaction. He was a devoted 
friend of the church, and a Christian in the- fullest sense 
of the term. He died in 1831. His sons were samuc.i , John, 
James A., William, and David. Samuel died in Sparta, some 
years ago. John died before Samuel. James A. Foster was 
one of the founders of Sparta, and he has been a successful 
merchant of that place for many years. . David and William 
Foster reside near Sparta. 

&808 — John Anderson settled near the farm of his 
brother, Col. Anderson, and there lived until his death. He 
was a faithful friend of the church, and filled the office 
of ruling elder from the time the church was organized until 
his death, in which position he acted well his part. He 
held the office of Justice of the Peace for a great number 
of years. 

1808 — A fSr. Henderson, from South C arolina, came in 
1808, and settled the farm n ow occupied by James Walsh, on 
the western side of ths Kaskaskia river, at Evansville. 

1808 — John Clendenin, from Green County, Kentucky, came 
to Illinois in 1808, and settled upon the farm which for a 
long time was known by the name of the "Porter place," now 
an addition to Chester. He was a Revolutionary Soldier, and 
an excellent representative of that class of brave, patri- 
otic men. It is related of him, that once while guarding 
some prisoners, a lady came and asked of him permission to 
see her brother, who was a prisoner. Too gallant to refuse 
the lady the privilege of seeing her brother, and confiding 
in her integrity, he divested himself of his uniform and 
loaned it to her. She put it on, made the visit to her 
brother, and returned it to him according to her promise. 
This incident is a mirror which reflects the noble character 
of the man. His life among the pioneers was that of a high- 
minded, honorable, industrious citizen— and to which his 
descendants may revert with sentiments of pride. James, 
Henry, John, and Harvey Clendenin, who have filled so large 
a space in the history of Randolph County, were his sons; 
all of whom were approaching manhood when they arrived in Illi- 
nois - -53- 



James Clendenin opened the farm where Harvey Lemons now 
lives, and afterwards moved to the neighborhood of Liberty, 
where he died, in 1851. He was the father of Simpson and 
John H. Clendenin. 

Henry Clendenin died in early life, leaving no family, 

John Clendenin is yet living, having spent fifty-one 
years of his life amidst the scenes and events of Randolph 
County, He is the father of James Harvey, and Henry simp- 
son Clendenin, 

Harvey Clendenin became a prominent man in the county, 
and filled the Office of County Commissioner, in which 
position he distinguished himself as a man of sound judg- 
ment and clear discrimination. He was the father of Ephrarn 
R,, John C . , Samuel, Harvey, and Henry Clendenin, who have 
become well known citizens of the county. 

1808— Richard Robbison came from South Carolina, in 
1808, and first settled in the Bilderback settlement, but 
afterwards he moved into the region of the Steele settle- 
ment. Here he lived and raised a large family. His sons 
are John, Joseph, Richard, James, Shadrack, William. Thomas, 
and Jefferson, from whom the numerous family of that name 
now living in the county have descended. 

1808— Andrew McCorraack settled in the Bilderback settle- 
ment in the year 1808. His sons, James and George, live in 
the same neighborhood where their father located. 

1808— John Miller settled in the same neighborhood 
about the same time. 

1808— James White came from South Carolina in 1808, 
and settled on the hills one-half mile north of the road 
from Chester to Steelesville, v/here the road crosses Mary's 
river. 

1808 — Augustus Davis, first settled, in 1808, near 
Kaskaskia, and afterwards moved to the Steele settlement. 
Some of his descendants are still living in the county. 

1808— William Barnett came from Kentucky, and located 
in the Irish settlement. He wa3 a man of industrious habits, 
retired disposition, yet bold and firm when necessity re- 
quired it. He died in 1818, His sons were John and William 
Barnett, John lived upon his fathers farm, and reared a 
large family. William M., Alexander C, Samuel, Corrydon 
and John Barnett were his sons, Corrydon is the only one 
now living, 

AVilliam, the second son of the pioneer, was drowned. He 
was out in the campaign against the Indians in 1813, and 
when returning home, having reached Plumb creek, only two 
miles distant from his father's house, he was drowned, 

1809 — John Beatte was added to the Irish settlement in 

-54- 



1809. He was from Abbeville, South Carolina, and became a 
valuable citizen in the community. He was retired and very 
quiet, yet a man of much force and decision of character. 
Johv Andrew and Charles Beatte were his sons. John and 
Andrew died several years ago, leaving large families. 
Charles is still living. 

1809— Choslcy Allen, from Virginia, settled in Horse 
Prairie, in 1809, and formed the nucleus for a settlement in 
that region of the county. He was a man possessing all the 
qualifications of a pioneer leader, and left a memory re- 
vered and esteemed by his neighbors. His sons were James, 
John, Albert, William and Miner, who became highly respected 
citizens of that prairie, John W. Allen, now a citizen of 
Red Bud, is the son of James Allen; and James R. Allen, a 
merchant of the same place, is the son of John Allen. 

1809— Raleigh Ralls, settled in Horse Prairie about tho 
same time of Allen. He came from Virginia, and brought with 
him the characteristics of a Virginia gentleman. Edward 
and John Ralls who became prominent citizens of that prairie 
were his sons. John v/as known as a pioneer preacher, and 
he filled the duties of that sacred office until his death, 
in 1857. James M. Ralls, who is Clerk of the Circuit Court, 
is a son of Rev. John Ralls. 

1809 — Edward Faherty located on the southern border of 
Horse Prairie in 1809, and lived there, a highly respected 
citizen, until his death. Patrick and John Faherty, now 
living in the prairie, are his sons. 

1809 — This year came Ezra Owens and Thomas J. V. , his 
son, who settled in the Dr. Fisher neighborhood. Owens be- 
came a prominent man. He -was chosen Ma 2 or of the militia, 
and filled the office with creditable ability. His son 
Thoma3 J. V. Owens filled the office of Sheriff at one time, 
and was a member of the legislature. 

During the period of ten years, from 1800, through 
which the arrival of the settlers have been faithfully 
chronicled, according to the best available data, no event 
occurred of special moment. From this time, however, com- 
menced the Indian troubles which continued until after the 
close of the war of 1812. Fortunately, however, for the 
infant settlements of this county, they were free from those 
midnight butcheries which were visited upon the settlements 
in other portions of the surrounding country. In Washington 
County the family of John Lively— a relative of those of that 
name who had settled in this county — fell victims to savage 
barbarity. One afternoon, when all the family but two were 
gathered within the cabin, the Indians came, brutally mur- 
dered every one in the house, and then set fire to it, and 
consumed the freshly made corpses with the timbers of the 
building, as no one present was left to tell the particulars 
of this horrible tragedy, they have never been known. A son 
of Mr, Lively, William, who was then a small boy, was out at 
the time of the murder, hunting horses. On returning he dis- 

-55- 



covered the flames and smoke rising from his father's cabin, 
and fearing lest the sad reality be true, he went away to 
a neighbor's house and gave the information of what he had 
seen. They went and found only the crisped and charred 
forms of their friends smouldering in the ashes of the cabin. 
William and Jane, a little girl, who happened to be visiting 
some of her little friends in the neighborhood, escaped the 
terrible fate of their parents, and brothers and sisters, 
and are yet living. William is one of the oldest citizens 
in Washington County. Jane married William Caudle, of this 
county and is the mother of a large family, and still liv- 
ing at an extreme old age. 

From 1810, until after the c3ose of the war of 1812, 
there v/as but little emigration to the county, and but lii,+le 
advancement of any kind. There was but one arrival in 1811 — 
that of Michael Harmon, and emigrant from Tennessee. He 
explored the country around Kaskaskla, ind decided to set- 
tle in the region now known as the "Harmon settlement." H p 
returned to Tennessee and brought out his family. Iu the 
ensuing fall he died, leaving his seven sons to maintain the 
ground he had claimed, for cultivation. They all settled 
around the place where their father died, and gave to the 
region an importance which attracted attention at the time, 
and which is well known over the county yet. rive of the 
sons of the pioneer are yet living — Joseph, Abraham, George, 
John, and James — and around them live their children and 
grandchildren. This is probably the most densely popu- 
lated of any settlement now in the county. Twenty-two years 
ago, a Methodist society was organized in the settlement, 
by Rev. Lopez, and has been an institution ever since, under 
the supervision of the Southern Illinois Conference. In 
1855, a church edifice was completed and christened 
"Palestine Church". 

With Harmon is family came John Young, who located upon 
the farm now occupied by Mr. Hargus, in the region of 
Ellis* Grove. Stephen Young, living in the same neighbor - 
hoos, is a son of John Young. 

1812— In 1812, William Nelson, (an Irishman by birth,) 
from Abbeville, South Carolina, settled on Horse Creek. 
He was a man of enterprising habits, and erected a distill- 
ery, which gave to his place an attractive importance. He 
became a prominent man, and held the office of County Com- 
missioner, and was Justice of the Peace for a long term of 
years. He died in 1844, upwards of seventy years of age. 
He had four sons—John G., Isarc. William, Robert, and 
Wilson--all of whom (except the last one), became citizens 
of the county. John G. Nelson was often elected justice of 
the Peace, and at one time was elected County Commissioner. 
He died in 1852. Isaac H. Nelson, Clerk of the County Court, 
is a son of John G. Nelson. Isaac is still living upon the 
old place of his father, having filled the office of Justice 
of the Peace for meny years. William and Robert settled, 
lived, and died close by the farm where their father settled. 

-56- 



1812— Hugh Leslie came from Abbeville, South Carolina 
with Nelson; Samuel, and Mathew Leslie, living in Hill 
Prairie, are his sons. 

During the year 1812, the hostility of the Indians 
rendered it necessary for all the settlements to seek pro- 
tection in the Forts. A block house, or fort, was erected 
in some central positionin al.l the principal settlements. 
One was erected in the Irish Settlement, of convenient 
size to accommodate all the settlers. Another one was 
erected in Dr. Fisher's neighborhood; another at Georgetown; 
another at Jacob Bowcrman»s. The settlers on the east side 
of the Kaskaskia river took refuge in Fort Gage. Tne peo- 
ple abandoned their private houses, and quartered in these 
forts, living as one family, adopting for the ci:ae being 
something of a community system. The men pursued their 
ordinary business, but never left the forts without their 
guns. They were sometimes attacked while in the field at 
but no instance of a murder ha3 been found. 

1814 — James and Samuel Thomson, from Abbeville, south 
Carolina, arrived at Kaskaskia in 1814. They v/ere both 
young men. James taught school in Kaskaskia three years, 
then located upon the farm where he nov; resides. He was 
skilled in surveying, and was employed for twenty years in 
the United States Surveying Service, and ha3 in late years 
filled the office of County Surveyor, several terms; and 
he is now the chief deputy in that office, with its full 
control and management. He commanded a company of militia 
in the Black Hawk War. Under Governor Reynold's adminis- 
tration he was appointed Judge of the probate court, in 
which position he continued during seventeen successive 
years. In all these stations he discharged his duties in 
a manner that won universal satisfaction. His profession 
is that of surveyor; and whenever the name of James Thomp- 
son is mentioned, the idea of surveying is suggested. His 
foot has probably made its impress upon every section of 
land in Randolph county. John P. Thompson, who died in 
1851, while holding the office of Sheriff, was the oldest 
son of James Thompson. 

Samuel Thompson, brother of James, was also a sur- 
veyor, and often held that office in the county. He, too, 
was employed in the United States Surveying Service for 
many years. He died about the year 1848, leaving a largo 
and respectable family. 

1814— William and John Allen, from Georgia to Ohio, 
from whence they came to Illinois, in 1814, settled ad- 
joining the Irish Settlement. They were upright, honorable 
men, and highly esteemed by the community. William died at 
North's Ferry, on the Kaskaskia river, about the year 1840. 
John died five years later. Aaron M. Allen, a prominent 
merchant of Sparta, is the son of John Allen. 

4-u ^15 — Alexander Gaston, from Kentucky, settled upon 
the John McFarland place in 1815, He wa3 succeeded by his 

-57- 



son, Alexander, who lived and died upon the same place , 

1816 — Andrew Barders (note: this name also spelled 
Borders, F.P.L.) came to the Irish settlement in 1816. 
He was then a young man, full of hope and vigor. He lived 
for a time with Robert Foster, and attended his distillery. 
Afterwards he located upon the farm where he now lives. 
Possessing a strong, robust constitution, a vigorous mind, 
end clear Judgment, he has been the leader of his neighbor- 
hood; and by his industry, economy and cautiousness in tra- 
ding, he has become very wealthy. 

1816— -Thomas Mudd, from Kentucky, came in 1816, with 
sevan sons — James, Francis, Fdward, Joseph, Phelix, John, 
and William — all of whom settled on the high lands in the 
prairie back of prairie du Rochei . This family has always 
occupied a very respectable position in thin county. Three 
of the seven brothers are yet living — Edward, (who lives in 
Iowa,) Francis and John live where they settled forty-two 
years ago. William Mudd, who is an Associate justice of 
the County Court, is a son of James Mudd. The family has 
become very numerous. 

1816 — Samuel Crawford, from Tennessee, came in 1816. 
His residence was transient until 1819, when he settled in 
the lower end of Oppossunden Prairie. He became a popular 
man, and was often promoted to official stations. He held 
the office of Justice of the Peace, v/as Receiver of Public 
Monies in the Land Office, at Kaskaskia, and served one 
session in the Legislature. His sons were James H. , Hugh 
M., William, Stace ? and John. Jcir.es lives in Galena. Hugh 
in Camptown, and William in Florence; stace and John both 
died in California, Hugh and William have held the office 
of Justice of the Peace. 

1816 — William Fowler came from South Carolina, and 
made the farm on which Abram Harmon, Sr., now lives. He 
was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and a zealous 
patriot. When he died, in 1846, his death was deeply re- 
gretted by those who had an opportunity of appreciating his 
worth. He had three sons, only two of whom came to this 
county — James and Washington. James lived near his father 
some years, and then moved to Perry County. His two sons, 
William and John, became citizens of this county, and died 
here— the former in 1856, the latter in 1859. Washington 
lived and died in the neighborhood where his father settled. 
His children live around the old place. 

1816 — John Layno came from Tennessee, and settled near 
Georgetown, whore he died. Ellsha Layno, now living in 
Chester, is the only son of John Layne now in the county. 

1816— Jam^ Slater settled necr the residence of Hughs 
in this year, and lived there until his death. Joseph 
Slater, living in the same neighborhood, is the only son 
now remaining in the county. 

-58- 



1816 — In this year, Cornelius Adkins made a settlement 
in the lower end of short *s Prairie. He remained there many 
years . 

1816 — Benjamin Brown settled in the Bradley neighbor- 
hood. How lcr\F 3 he remained here, or whether his descendants 
are in the county, could not be a seer tained . 

1816 — In th c - same year, Emanuel Canady came from Tennes- 
see, and settled hear the Steeles. He afterwards moved to 
the Bradley settlement, where he still resides. Though he 
has passed through the privations ci' pioneer life, and 
reached an old age, he is still strong and active. 

1817 — In 1817, the Bradley family settled in the region 
of Shiloh, and opened the way for the settlement of that part 
of the county. Each member of this family was a tower of 
strength within himself. In all „;*. se enterprises, whether 
civil or military, which interested the public, the name of 
Bradley was conspicuous. James, Frcr.ld.in, William and 
Richard Bradley are now the representatives of the family, 
and are old men. Their descendants are numerous. 

1817 — Robert Mann came to the county in 1817, and opened 
a farm near the Irish Settlement, where he lived until his 
death. Such was his character that his descendants, who 
have risen to high positions, may regard him with feelings 
of pleasure. His sons are John, William, Robert, and Alexan- 
der. John came to the county some years after his father, 
and lives five miles northwest of Chester. He once held the 
office of- Judge of County Commissioner »s Court, from which 
fact the appellation of "Judge" has been given him, and by 
that title he is well known. He is the father of a large and 
respectable family. William Mann still lives near the placo 
where his father settled, and has his children around him, 
who are active members in the community. Robert Mann has 
filled several important offices — was an officer in a company 
of militia that went out in the Black Hawk campaign, once 
represented the county in the Legislature, and filled the 
office of School Commissioner. Alexander Mann lives upon 
the old place made by his father. 

1617 — Colonel Gabriel Jones, from Adair County, Kentucky, 
came in the year 1817, and settled on the farm one mile west 
of Steelesville, which is widely known as the "old Col. Jones 
place.". His talents, energy, activity, and high sense of 
honor, placed him forward as a lector, and he became a promi- 
nent actor in all the public matters of those times. In the 
Black Hawk War he was promoted to the position of Colonel, 
and he distinguished himself as an able officer and gallant 
soldier. He has represented the county in the General Assem- 
bly, and filled other offices of responsible trust. He is 
now the Mayor of the city of Chester, and holds the office 
of Justice of the Pecce. Though he ha3 reached the sere of 
life, he is yet active and vigorous. 

1817 — Ignatius Sprigg, an emigrant from Maryland, settled 

-59- 



in the American Bottom, between Kaskaskia and Prairie du 
Rocher, on the Rector farm, in 1817. He was another of the 
sound, practical, honorable minded pioneers, and the people 
often testified their appreciation of his worth by electing 
him to positions of responsible trust — first to the office 
of County Treasurer, and next to thn ; ; of sheriff, which he 
held during a period of ten years. H* is now a citizen of 
Arkansas, engaged in the United Stat™ Surveying service. 

1817 — James and Henry 0»Ha?a caae to the county in this 
year, and settled in the region whsre James now lives. 
Both of these men have occupied positions of official trust* 
and stand high in the estimation of the people. They are 
both still living, having attain jd r. old age. The settle- 
ment where they live has taken their 11**1$, and assumed a 
position of note and importance. St. Patrick's Church was 
organized in this settlement some years ago, and in 1353, a 
church building was erected under the supervision of Father 
Hane. Father Gifford, a very old man» is now the officiating 
priest. 

1817 — Curtis Coon came to Kaskaskia about the year 1817. 
He was a native of Boston, Massachusetts, and had spent 
several years in the V/est Indies engaged in heavy commercial 
transactions. After remaining a. year in Kaskaskia he pur- 
chased and settled upon the Haskin farm two miles southwest 
of Chester. His talents were of a high order, and he pos- 
sessed an energy and business qualifications which peculiar- 
ly fitted him for public office. He filled the office of 
Judge of the Probate Court for a term of years, and his of- 
ficial acts in that Court were usually regarded with high 
satisfaction. In every station whoro he presided he was a 
model. 

1817 — Daniel Alexander, from Maine, c ame to the county 
in 1817. For a time he worked at the mouth of Okaw; then 
purchased a farm in the Hughs settlement, which he afterv/ards 
sold to Charles Stratton. Some years ago he went to Texas, 
and was murdered there. 

1817 — James McFarland came from South Carolina and 
settled on the west fork of Maryts river, near the Kaskaskia 
road, and lived there until his death. Andrew McFarland, 
who lives in the same neighborhood, is the only surviving 
son of James McFarland. 

1817— Samuel Nisbet from South Carolina, made a settle- 
ment one mile east of Eden, in 1817. He was an industrious, 
honorable man, and a firm friend of the church. But few men 
ever possessed the faculties of enduring the privationa of a 
pioneer country more than ho> Ho io still living. 

1817— William Morris, from Ohio, settled in the Oppossum- 
den Prairie in 1817. His son lives upon the same place. 

1817 — In this year, or shortly afterwards, Cwin. Barrows, 
Houseman and 3orae others, settled in the Bradly settlement. 

.60- (Bradley) 



They were valuable additions to that community, and men of 
high character. Their descendants are numerous and respect- 
able. 

1817 — Henry Will settled upon the ^oint of the bluff 
above Kaskaskia in 1817. His character was that of an in- 
dustrious farmer and good neighbor. His con, Daniel V/ill, 
now lives upon the same place. Around this point an im- 
portant settlement was formed, and a church organization was 
made several years ago. 

1818 — Joseph and Thomas Orr, from Virginia, settled in 
the O'Harra neighborhood in 1818. Joseph was cfcD^'i Major 
of a militia regiment, which post he filled with civcvi u .able 
ability. He was an early citizen of Sparta, and ^ i in 
that place in 1850. Thomas moved to Pitte county in 1J?9. 

1818--Bencdict Harrel was added to the o»Har'- settlement 
in 1818; Cornelius and Thomas Harrel now living is the same 
neighborhood are his sons. 

1818--John Brewer, another emigrant from Kentucky, came 
to the O'Hara settlement in 1318. He brought with him six 
sons— Thomas, Felix, Vincent, George, Pius, and John, all of 
whom became important constituents of the community. John 
once filled the office of County Commissioner, and is now a 
Justice of the Peace. 

1818 — The Hull family arrived in the O'Hara settlement 
in 1818. They were from Kentucky — four brothers — Norton, 
Samuel, Lev/is, and Thomas. Norton Hull was a conspicuous 
man, having conferred upon him the office of captain of a 
militia company. He and his brother Samuel died where they 
located. Thomas and Lewis died in Pike county. 

1818— In this year, Rev. Silas Crisler, from Boone 
county, Kentucky, arrived in Illinois, and made a farm six 
miles east of Kaskaskia, not far from the Harmon Settlement. 
Possessing strong natural faculties, a large amount of kind- 
ness and generosity, and some eccentricity, he became well- 
known, and highly esteemed. Much of his time was devoted 
to his sacred calling. Gravel Creek Church, of which he was 
the founder and pastor for many years, was amonj the first 
Baptist churches in Illinois. He died in 1851. His three 
sons — Abel, Leonard and John are all living, having been 
highly respected citizens of the county during life. 

1818 — Amasa Aldrich., a native of Worcester County, Massa- 
chusetts, came to Kaskaskia, in 1818. He remained a few years 
and then located upon a farm two miles north of Chester, in 
a region around which there were no settlements near. He 
was the pioneer of his settlement. In 1853 he died, having 
lived to see the country around changed from a wild into a 
thickly settled and highly cultivated district. 

1819 — Alexander Campbell, from Tennessee, came to the 
Irish Settlement in 1819* He remained here a few years, then 

-61- 



removed to a farm near the Bowerman settlement. He was e 
quiet, good, industrious citizen, and died in 1827, leaving 
a large family. His sons were Edward, John, Andrew. Y/illiam, 
and Alexander, The latter three are dead, Edward Iive3 
near his father's old place. Has been County Commissioner 
and Justice of the Peace. In 1838, John Campbell was elect- 
ed to the office of Sheriff, and continued in that position 
ten successive years; was afterwards elected Judge of the 
County Court, then sheriff again; and he now holds the of- 
fice of Judge of the County Court. 

1819— Eli Short was an emigrant from Kentucky. He 
settled on the eastern edge of the prairie which b*ers his 
name, and lived there until his death, in 1844, H? vas a 
soldier in the war of 1812, having enlisted in a Kei :ucky 
regiment, and was at the celebrated battle of Tippecanoe, 
where he received a wound, from which he never full recovered. 
He drew a pension as long as he lived, seeing the want of 
Gospel ministers in the new country, he commenced preaching 
and continued to discharge the duties of his holy office 
until he died. His oldest son, Abraham, remained in Ken- 
tucky, and died there. Three others came with him to Illi- 
nois. Denard Short settled near his father, and died in 
1830. John is still living, and occupies a farm two miles 
east of steelesville. Jefferson Short went out in the cam- 
paign against the Indians in the Black Hawk war, and was 
killed. 

1819 — David Hathorn came from Ohio, and settled first 
near the present location of Evansville. In 1825, he lo- 
cated in the southern end of Oppossumden Prairie, where he 
remained until his death. He was a good citizen, and bore 
the part of a high-minded, generous man. His sons were 
Samuel, James, Thomas, David, and William, of whom James 
alone is living, 

1819 — James Baird, from Ohio, came in 1819, and 
settled the place three miles south of Sparta, now occupied 
by Alexander Wylie. In his younger days he was strong, 
athletic, and a leading man. He is now in the sere of life, 
and his friends are as numerous as his acquaintances. One 
of his sons, John Baird, is Judge of the county court of 
Perry County, 

1819 — Adanijah Ball made a settlement upon Rock 
Castle Creek, in 1819— penetrating a little farther into 
the wilderness. He lived and died in that region. One of 
his sons, Franklin Ball, became a prominent man, and once 
represented the county in the General Assembly. He died in 
1856. 

1819— Arthur Parks ceme out from Kentucky in the 
spring of 1819, and cultivated a crop during the summer. 
In the fall he returned and brought his family. Ho made a 
farm on the eastern end of Lively Prairie, where he spent 
the remainder of his life, which closed in 1844. Possessed 
of a strong, practical mind, and discriminating Judgment, 

-62- 



he was a man in whom the people placed confidence. He once 
held the office of County Commissioner, and was a justice 
of the Peace for a great number of years. He had eight 
sons, four of whom arc now citizens of the county; James B. 
Parks, of Sparta, who has held the office of County surveyor; 
John Parks, of Chester; Arthur and Alfred, who live upon the 
farm of their father. 

1819 — Gegrge Stratton came in 1819, and settled in the 
American Bottom. Soon afterwards he bought the land on 
which that part of Chester situated upon the hill now stands, 
and made a farm which embraced what is now known as the 
Buena Vista Addition. 

1019 — Isaac Rust, a native of Maine, who had spent 
several years at sea, came to Kaskaskia in 1819, After re- 
maining a few years, he went to sea again, and spent a year 
upon the "Ocean Wave"; then returned and located permanently 
in Kaskaskia. He was a wagon m a!; r, and introduced an im- 
proved style of that vehicle among the people of that vil- 
lage. In 1836, he purchased and moved upon the farm two 
miles east of Chester, where he now lives. Firmness, deci- 
sion, industry and generosity are the leading traits of his 
character. He is the main pillar of the community around 
him, and often neighborhood difficulties are referred to 
him for adjudication. The appeal of want never reached his 
ear without a cheerful response. 

1819 — Shelton Evans and Levi Simmons settled on the 
point below Kaskaskia in 1819, or probably before that date. 
In 1825 they moved and located permanently in Horse Prairie. 
Emanuel Evans, living near Red Bud, is a son of shelton 
Evans. Levi Simmons left a large family. One of his sons, 
William Simmons v/as a joint proprietor of Red Bud. 

1820 

lft£0 — Robert Bratncy came from Tennessee to the Irish 
Settlement, in 1820. His life was that of an industrious 
farmer, good citizen, and generous neighbor. But one of his 
sons came to this county with him. He settled upon Plumb 
Creek, and lived a long and useful life in that community. 
He was the father of John B., Robert N. , and James C. Brat- 
ney, all citizens of the same neighborhood where their 
father lived and died. John B. Bratney holds the office of 
Justice of the Peace. 

1820 — Martin Smith, an emigrant from the State of New 
York, came to the county in 1820. The greater part of his 
life was spent in Randolph County. His only surviving son, 
John S. Smith, now well advanced in years, lives two miles 
from Chester, on the Plank Road. He improved this farm more 
than thirty years ago, and he has spent his life thus far 
upon it. He is a quiet, industrious, intelligent, good citi- 
zen, end an accommodating neighbor. 

1820 — John Thomison made a farm in 1820, four miles west 
of Sparta, where he lived several years. Towards the close 
of his life he spent his time with his children, in Short's 

-63- 



Prairie • George Thomison, a highly respected citizen and 
merchant of steelesviile, is a son of John Thomison. 

1820 — Mr. Adams, from Kentucky, settled in Horse 
Prairie, about the year 1820. He was an excellent repre- 
sentative of the Kentucky pioneers. His son, Samuel B. 
Adams, is a prominent citizen of that prairie, and has 
filled the office of Associate Justice of the County Court. 
He now holds the office of Justice of the peace. 

1820— About the year 1820, the Mc Dills— Thomas, William 
and John, settled in the region around the present city of 
Sparta, They became the leading men of that part of the 
county. Thomas McDill is yet living at an extreme old age, 
an admirable representative of a past generation. He made 
a farm one mile end a half west of the location of Sparta, 
and has lived upon it ever sine e. William and John settled 
in Flat Prairie, where they lived, highly esteemed citizens 
for a long series of yoars. The descendants of theso men 
are numerous. 

1820— Alexander Alexander came in the latter part of 
1819, or the beginning of 1820. He was from Chester, South 
Carolina, and located upon a farm one mile south of the 
locality of Eden. He was the pioneer of that now populous 
and wealth region. His five sons are still living, respect- 
able, industrious citizens like their father. 

1820 — John and Samuel Cochran, from Belfast, Maine, 
arrived in the county in 1820. John first settled upon the 
farm now belonging to Mr. Darwin, near the mouth of Mary» s 
river. Soon afterv/ards he settled upon the farm now occupied 
by Isaec Rust. He moved away to Hancock County about the 
year 1829. Andrew Cochran made the farm two miles and a 
half from Chester on the plank road, which is occupied by 
the V/idow Douglas. He moved to Hancock County about the 
year 1830. 

1820 — About this year, or probably the year before, 
David Cathcart, John Dickey, and John McMillen, came and 
settled in the lower end of Flat Prairie. The arrival of 
these three men with their families added much strength to 
the little settlement, and gave it a prominence and charac- 
ter which induced others to settle in it. They became in- 
fluential, highly esteemed citizens. Their descendants are 
now numerous, and among the best citizens of that region. 

1821 — Ebenezer Alexander, from Chester, south Carolina, 
and James Anderson, from Pittsburgh, came to the settlement 
in the lower end of Flat Prairie , in 1821. Mr. Alexander 
is still living, having spent nearly forty years of an in- 
dustrious, useful life in the same neighborhood. He has a 
large family. 

James Anderson was an intelligent, honorable, high 
minded citizen, and died much lamented. He left two sons — 
Francis B. Anderson, Esq., of Sparta, who occupies a respecta- 

-64- 



ble position et the Rtndol^h Co. E^r fend Jemes /nderson,a respect; 
ble farmer, living near his father's old place. 

1822 — This year, Samuel Douglas, with James Bean, Thomas 
McBride, James Redpath, and some others, made a settlement 
in Hitchcock Prairie. Samuel Douglas came to Illinois in 
1804, with John and James Anderson. He was then but ten 
years old. Having reached man«s estate, he married and lo- 
cated as previously stated, and became an influential, lead- 
ing man in his settlement. He once held office of County 
Commissioner. His five sons — John A., Archibald, George w., 
Samuel H. , and James T. Douglas, are all living, and their 
descendants are numerous, 

James Coulter, John and Alexander McKclvcy, settled in 
the Grand Cote Prairie, in the northeastern port of tho 
county, in 1822, and were, thcreforo, tho pioneers of that 
region. They are all still living, having gathered around 
them a numerous population. They have always held a re- 
spectable position in the community, and stood high in the 
church. 

In the same year, Elisha, George, Charles, and Fortiss 
Hitchcock, settled in that prairie, from whom it has taken 
its name. There is none of this family now remaining in the 
prairie. 

Gv.'in 
Sometime previous to 18£5, William Swlaa, Burko, House- 
man, and James Gillespie had settled in the region of tho 
Bradleys. The descendants of Gwih are living in the same 
neighborhood. John K., and Thomas C Burke, sons of the 
pioneer, are leading men in that community. James M. House- 
man, a respectable farmer in that region, is a son of the 
pioneer. James Gillespie is still living, and the people 
of the county have often testified their appreciation of his 
worth by electing him a member of the County Court. He now 
holds the position of Associate Justice. 

(Thus meeting each pioneer as he arrived, and noting 
the locality of his settlement, a mirror-like view of the 
settlement of the county has been presented. It is diffi- 
cult to decide at precisely what period of time the immi- 
grants ceased to be pioneers, but reference has been made 
to them just so long as it was required to settle the vari- 
ous districts or settlements of the county. Omissions have 
probably occurred; indeed, if they have not, it is remark- 
able. There may be some inaccuracies respecting dates. 
The authority which was considered most reliable has been 
followed, though it has been difficult to decide, in some 
instances v/here a difference has occurred, which was en- 
titled to preference.) 



Scattering settlements having been made in nearly all 
parts of the county, the transition from the wild state in 
which it was found, commenced with determined certainty. 

-65- 



Making farms and raising corn was the chief occupation of 

the settlers until about the year 1825, when they commenced 
planting and exporting cotton. During the next five years, 
much attention was given to the production of this article 
in the neighborhood of Columbus (now Sparta) and several 
cotton gins had been erected. In 1830, about eighty bales 
of cotton, of good quality, were exported from smith's 
Landing, (now Chester), 

The production of cotton gradually gave way to the rais- 
ing of castor beans, which, for some years, was the chief 
article of commerce. Oil mills were erected in various 
parts of the county, for the manufacture of castor oil, 
which was shipped to eastern markets, and always supplied 
the country with money. 

About the year 1839-40, the Messrs. Cole, who had 
erected a steam flouring mill at Chester, commenced export- 
ing flour to Southern and Eastern markets. This induced 
the cultivation of wheat, which has gradually increased 
until now it is the staple crop. Corn, oats, and hay have 
grown to be important crops, and great quantities above 
home consumption are. annually exported to foreign markets* 

In the past twenty years the increase in every depart- 
ment of agriculture has been most wonderful, There are now 
thirteen first class merchant mills in successful operation, 
and yet great quantities of wheat are shipped to distant 
markets. The production of fruit has become an important 
item of commerce, and the soil and climate are found to be 
well adapted to its successful growth. Irish potatoes have 
proved a profitable crop, and farmers are devoting much at- 
tention to its cultivation. 

The county contains about five hundred and sixty square 
miles of Territory. Its western boundary is the Mississippi 
river — forty miles in extent. The Kaskaskia river, navi- 
gable during a greater part of the season, divides it nearly 
through the centre. Its northern and eastern boundaries in- 
clude the extreme points of the great prairies of the state. 
Along its southern border stands a heavy growth of timber. 
The interior i3 an intermixture of the boundaries. 

Though the agricultural capacity of the county is im- 
mense, its great source of wealth is stone coal. Nearly 
the area of three townships, in the centre, is underlaid 
with a seam of stone coal, of a superior quality, varying 
from two to six feet in thickness. 

The population of the county is about twenty thousand. 
The census to be taken next year v/ill probably show a great- 
er number, as the population is increasing rapidly. 

For more minute particulars of the progress of business, 
and its present commercial capacity, the reader is referred 
to the sketches of the cities and towns which follow. 

-66- 



RA NDOLPH COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY 

In the year 1851, the enterprising farmers of Flat 
Prairie conceived the idea of organizing an Agricultural 
Society. On the 9th of January, 1852, the Messrs. Addison, 
Crawford, Craig, Robertson, Brown, Beattie, and a few others, 
met together and constituted the society. Robert Brown 
was chosen President, Jacob B. Beattie, Treasurer, and Will- 
iam Addison, Secretary. 

The first Annual Fair, or Exhibition, was held the 
third Wednesday in October, 1852, on the farm of James 
Craig, Flat Prairie. The second Fair was held at the same 
place, 4th October, 1853. And the third Annual Fair on the 
farm of William Robertson, Flat Prairie, 25th October, 1854. 
The members of the Society — and consequent need of addition- 
al accommodation having greotly increased — the citizens of 
Sparta Joined with those of the surrounding country in rais- 
ing subscriptions to board-fence a lot in Sparta, which Mr. 
Matthew McClurken handsomely gave free, for five years. On 
this lot the three successive Fairs of »55,'56,and »57, were 
held, each surpassing the other in interest and attraction, 
and in the numbers in attendance. 

In the early part of 1858, the Executive Board pur- 
chased a beautiful piece of land, of ten acres, at Sparta — 
and at an expense of nearly two thousand dollars, have had 
it substantially fenced, with extensive stables for horses, 
cattle, &c, and buildings erected for exhibiting ladies' 
work, mechanical, and other articles. On this ground the 
Fair of 1858 was held, on the 6th and 7th days of October, 
and every year they are, adding to the improvements and em- 
bellishments of the grounds. The grounds and improvements 
are not the property of any company or of individuals — but 
belong to whoever are the members of the Society. The 
Officers, and Executive Committee for 1859, are: John A. 
Nelson, President; William Addison, Secretary and Treasurer. 
Executive Board: Samuel L. Boyd, V/m. Robertson, James 
Craig, Aaron M. Allen, and John Watson — with Vice ^residents, 
who ere ex-off icio members of Executive C ommittee — for 
Sparta, James Crawford; for Georgetown, Her. Heightman; 
Liberty, H. McLaughland; Chester, Jacob M . Bair; Kaskaskia, 
Joshua G. Burch; Prairie du Rocher, V/m. Henry, Esq.; Union 
Precinct, R. D. Durfee; Burnet's, Wm. Rutherford. 

WESTERN RANDOLPH COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY 

The enterprising farmers around Evansville organized 
an Agricultural Society in 1854. After holding four suc- 
cessive and creditable exhibitions, wisdom suggested the 
propriety of uniting with the other Society; hence this one 
has been discontinued. 



-67- 



DIRECTORY 



Township 6 South, Range 7 West — Kaskaskia 



Anderson, John — farmer 

Buyat, Joseph, — farmer 
Bauvais, Alexis— H 
Barker, Lemuel » 
Barker, Fayette » 
Barlow, William — Clock re- 
pairer 
Beiter, Danatus, shoemaker 
Beare, Christopher, farmer 
Beare, John »' 

Bilderback, James » 
Boucher ie, Edward, coroner 
Barnskawky, Joseph farmer 
Balweizer, Daniel farmer 
Bond, Squire A. » 
Bode, Henry " 

Brown, Charley " 
Buyat, August « 
Buyat, Belonle •' 
Burghard, Joseph » 
Burch, J. G. " 
Burk,jamos » 



Caplot, Pierre » 
Caplot, Antoine P. » 
Caudle, Henry » 
Caudle, Gregory » 
Caudle, William » 
Caudle, John »• 
Caudle, Elney " 
Caudle, Anderson, Jr. " 
Caudle, Harrison « 
Cannady, Henry » 
Cannady, James, laborer 
Crew, John laborer 
Chenoix (Che-nu) , Julian, 

farmer 
Chenoix, Henry, farmer 
Canbery, Charles, tailor 
Conrad, John farmer 
Colbert, George » 
Conant, Nathan " 
Conant, Sullivan, cooper 
Crisler, Leonard, farmer 
Crawford, William H. , cooper 
Crisler John M. cooper 
Cullen, Ov/en " 
Cullen, Daniel »» 



Deppe, F. C. farmer 
Derouse, Peter wagonmaker 
Derouse, Belo J. farmer 
Derouse, Lewis » 
Detrech, Conrad wagonmaker 



Evans, Adam 


farmer 


Feaman, Jacob capitalist 


Feaman, Adam 


farmer 


Fisher, Henry 


ii 


Gary, Theodore 


ii 


Gant, Thomas 


ii 


Gant, Alfred 


tt 


Gant, Harvey 


it 


Gant, Wesley 


it 


Cant, Robert 


ii 


Gant, William 


ii 


Gant, Thomas, Jr. 


ii 


Gardner, A. 


ti 


Gould ing, James 


it 


Gubernater, George E. " 


Huls, Joel, Sr. 


ti 


Huls, Joel, jr. 


ii 


Hartman, Michael 


n 


Haney, Patrick 


ti 


Hargus, James H. 


n 


Haney, John 


ti 


Haney, James 


it 


Harmon, Joseph 


it 


Harmon, James 


it 


Harmon, Henry 


it 


Harmon, Elijah 


ti 


Harmon, Michael 


ti 


Harmon, Abram, Jr, 


, cooper 


Harmon, John, Sr, 


farmer 


Harmon, Lewis 


ti 


Harmon, Felix 


ti 


Harris, E. 


merchant 


Harris, John 


farmer 


Heard, Jomes 


farmer 


Harmon, James 


ii 


Heard, Joseph 


ti 


Heard, William 


if 



-68- 
(Note: Since this history was written in * ., this directo- 
ry would be the people living in the county then.) 



Hill, Stephen farmer 
Hock, Henry- 
Hunt, James 
Hunt, Henry 
Hughes, Henry 
Hughes, John 
Hughes, James 



Jones, Armstead, Sr. 
Jones, Armstead, Jr. 



farmer 
it 



Kavanaugh, Davis 

Kane, John 

Kamynski, Otto physician 

Kavanaugh, John far met 

Karstetter, Samuel » 

Karstetter, Martin « 

Karstetter, William « 

LaChapelle, Lev/is farmer 

LaChapelle, John " 

Labrier, Antoine 

Labrier, Peter 

Leavitt, Abijah 

Leavitt, John 

Leavitt, Fdward 

Ledbetter, John 

Ledbetter, Martin 

Lehnherr, Jacob 

Leniing, Harvey 

Leming, William 

Link, John 

Lilly, John J. 

Linch, Isaac « 

Lortz, Henry M. , blacksmith 



Mac key, James, 


farmer 


Mac key, William 


it 


Mackey, George 


f? 


Mann, Jonathan B. 


11 


Mann, W. H. 


» 


Mann, Alfred 


ii 


Mann, John 


ti 


Maxwell, Robert A. 


« 


Maxwell, William 


ii 


Maxwell, John 


ti 


Maxwell, Ferdinand, raer- 




chant 


Menard, Edmund, 


farmer 


Milligan, William 


A. » 


Milligan, James 


ri 


Milligan, Thomas 


ii 


Morrison, H. H. 


« 



Murphy, William farmer 
Murphy, Owen farmer 
Mulholland, William " 
Meyers, Christian « 
Morrison, George « 
McDonough, Thomas J. « 
Morrison, Rev. A. A. » 
Morrison, Hugh 



Nif ong , John 
Nifong, H. 
Nixon, William J. 
Nixon, James 
Nixon, William 



Oatt, John 
Owens, Anthony, 
Owens, George £• 
Owens, Timothy 



Pearman, James 
Pearman, Jesse 
Pariset, P. 
Porter, Joseph 
Porter, H. 
Prew, Francis 



teacher 



farmer 
ti 

ii - 
ii 
tt 



farmer 
ti 
ti 
ii 



Reily, Daniel, miller & mer- 
chant 
Raleigh, William farmer 
Roam, John 
Ruckenberg , Henry 
Rocke, John, 
Rocke, Thomas 
Ruckle, John 
Roberts, Hiram 
Roberts, Jacob 
Roberts, perry 
Roberts, Wiley 
Roberts, Volney 
Roberts, Daniel P. lawyer 
Runck, Frederick E. farmer 
Runck, Fred 



•69- 



Seymour, Edward 
Seymour, George 
Seymour, Henry 
Scharppell, John S» 
Scharppell, John 
Sinker, Henry 
Smith, William 
Smith, Stephen 



farmer 

ii 



"">" " ■ ■■ ■■ ■ ' ■" 



^ mUMW' I f i' mWMi l 



Snow* William E. farmer 
Spindle, John D* n 

Styles, David " 
Stype, Henry, Justice of 

the Peace 
Staley, George W. -Merchant 
Sulser, R. M. farmer 
Syke3, Aaron B. " 
Stanley, Joseph laborer 



farmer 
ti 
it 
it 
ii 
ii 



farmer 
u 



Uhls, Alonzo 
Unger, Eli 
Unger, Philip, merchant & 
postmaster 



Verlin, Joseph farmer 
Vansan, Samuel » 
Vansam, William " 



Welch. John, 
Weigel, Peter 
Wundt, W. H. 
Williamson, Bird 
V;clr, James W. 
Weir, William J. 
Wiswell, Andrew 
Wis sal, Conrad 
Wood, A. C. 
walster, Nicholas 
Wright, Isaac, jr. farmer 
Wheeler, James M. « 



Young, Andrew 
Young, Stephen 



farmer 
ti 



CHESTER 



In the early part of the year 1619, a company was 
organized in Cincinnati, Ohio, composed of the late Major 
William Oliver, W. Bart, David Brora, Daniel D. Smith and 
others, for the purpose of purchasing the lands at the Junc- 
tion of the Mississippi and Kaskaskia rivers. Daniel D. 
Smith (afterwards killed by Winchester, at Fdwardsville,) 
came to Illinois as the agent of the conpany and purchased 
a large tract of land near the mouth of the Kaskaskia, and 
commenced what he intended should be th-3 future metropolis 
of Illinois, and named it Portland. The year following, the 
late Benjamin A. Porter (afterwards the founder of Helena, 
Arkansas,) came out and erected a number of dwellings under 
a contract with the proprietors, and also built a steam 
mill. But towns in those days were not needed, and despite 
the prodigious efforts of the proprietors, this town obsti- 
nately refused to grow. Ten years afterwards it had be- 
come a ruin, and now only the faint vestige of the mill may 
be seen. 

In 1829 Samuel Smith, James L. Lamb and Thomas Mather 
purchased the land on which Chester now stands, from the 
late Judge John McFerren who had entered it in the year 1818. 
In the summer of 1829 Mr. Smith built the first house in 
Chester, the s&me that is now occupied by R. H. Mann as a 
residence. In the same year Mr. Smith commenced the erec-* 
tion of a mill on what was then known as the "screw Auger" 
principle. This, however, was abandoned before c ompletion. 

In the fall of 1829, Mather, Lamb & Co., (then mer- 
chants of Kaskaskia,) built a slaughter house for the pur- 
pose of slaughtering and packing the beef of the county, 



-70- 



which was then plenty, and of good quality, In the same 
year Mr. S. B. Opdyke, representing the house of Mather, 
Lamb & Co., built a storehouse and opened a stock of goods. 
A large warehouse was erected at the same time. 

In the spring of 1831, Samuel Smith laid off that 
part of his land below Wall street into town lots, and 
Mather, Lamb & Co., laid off a few lots above v/all street. 
The idea of building a town having become fixed, Mrs. 
Jane Smith gave it the name of Chester — she was a native 
of Chester, England. At this time the population consisted 
of Samuel Smith, Seth Allen, R. B. Servant, with their 
families, and S. B. Opdyke, Elias Reeder and Samuel Perry. 
The late, lamented Seth Allen, had established a cooper 
shop in 1029, which he conducted for a number of years, 
manufacturing barrels for packing beef, and for castor oil. 
R. B. Servant established a mill for the manufacture of 
castor oil, in the fall of 1830, which for several years 
was the institution of the place, and gave to the young 
town a considerable commercial importance. In 1831 Silas 
Leland established a blacksmith shop. The first brick house 
in this place v/as erected by Amizi Andrews, in 1832. This 
house was knocked down in 1844 by a steamboat. The same 
year, Horace Francis erected the stone building which he 
now occupies. At this time the forest trees were growing 
around where the mill, Swanwick's Row and Holmes » resi- 
dence now stand. The storehouse nov; occupied by D. Block 
& Bro. was built by Holmes U Swanwick in 1833, in which 
they opened the second stock of goods ever brought to this 
town. 

About this time, the venerable father Mathews, then in 
manhood f s vigor, commenced holding religious service, and 
gave an origin to the Presbyterian church of Chester. 

The first physician of Chester v;as Dr. Barbee, who 
located in 1834, but died shortly afterwards. Dr. Ferris, 
who was a prominent physician of Chester for several years, 
came in 1835. In the same ye.'.r Walker & Wilkerson opened 
a large grocery store. The Messrs. Cole built a mill in 
the lower part of town, in 1837. It was both a saw and 
grist mill. At the same tijjic a ferry boat, driven by 
horse power, took t he place of the flat boat which had be- 
come inadequate to the business. These horse boats gave 
place to steam ferry boats about 1849. In 1836 a frame 
school house (the house now used as the African church,) 
was built and used a3 a union church and Sunday sc hool 
room. The Messrs. Cole made improvements in their mill in 
1839, and commenced exporting flcr to the southern markets. 

In 1840, the name of the Presbyterian church was 
changed from the Kaskaskia to the Chester Presbyterian 
church, and Rev. C. C. Riggs became the permanent pastor. 
He was succeeded by Rev. B. F. Spillman, late of Shawnee- 
town. In 1846, the stone church was commenced, and completed 
the year following. The late Rev. John Kennedy assumed the 
pastoral charge of the church in the early part of 1850, and 

-71- 



continued until relieved by death, in the summer of 1851, 
Rev, P. D. Young succeeded to the charge of the congrega- 
tion in the latter part of 1852, and remained until 1056. 
Rev. B. H. Charles took charge of the church in the latter 
part of 1857, and he i3 now the officiating pastor. 

A Baptist church was organized under the ministerial 

labors of R ev. Peters, of Waterloo, as early as 

1842, end probably some years before. Capt. Rogers, a de- 
voted Christian, was an active, zealous member" of this 

church; and contributed much to its propserity. Rev._ 

Jenkins became pastor of the church in 1845, and continued 
to labor for the congregation nearly three years. After his 
retirement the church v/as left without a pastor, and during 
a two years absence of Capt. Rogers, about 1849-50, the 
organization was abandoned. On the return of Capt. Rogers, 
in 1851, he collected the members together, and effected a 
new organization. Rev. IT. L. Phillips occasionally preached 
for the congregation. In 1853, the large brick church was 
erected, and Rev. J. B. Kelly installed as pastor. In the 
latter part of 1854, Rev. 0. L.Barler succeeded Mr. Kelly, 
and he is now the officiating minister. 

In the year 1840, Rev. H. Hatton, a Methodist minister, 
collected six communicants of that denomination, and orga- 
nized the Methodist Church of Chester. It was placed under 
the southern Illinois conference, and regularly supplied 
with a preacher. A German Methodist church was organized 
in 1848. The two congregations united their efforts and 
erected a brick church in 1850. 

The Associate Reformed Church of Chester wes organized 
by Rev. James McAuley in the year 1843. The congregation 
depended upon the Synod for supplies in preaching until 
1858, when Rev. V. A. Pollock v/as duly ordained pastor of 
the church. Under his efforts a church edifice is in course 
of erection which will be an ornament to the place. 

In 1844, Rev. William Mitchell, a clergyman of the 
Episcopal church, came to Chester, and commenced his labors 
with the few members of that denomination living in and near 
the town. Shortly afterwards, the church was organized. The 
unceasing, quiet labors of Dr. Mitchell soon gathered 
strength to the little congregation, and in 1848 the fine 
church edifice in which the congregation now worship was com- 
menced. Four years afterwards it was completed and opened 
for public service. 

Rev. Mr. Butterman organized the First Lutheran church 
of Chester, in the early part of 1849. The following fall, 
Rev. M. Eirich succeeded Mr. Butterman, and commenced at 
once the erection of their beautiful church building, which 
was completed in a few months. Under the constant labors 
of Mr. Eirich, the church has gradually increased its member- 
ship. 

In 1849 Father Peren, of Kaskaskia, (died Oct. 4, 1859) 



came to Chester , and, collecting the members of the Catholic 
Church, first commenced spying mess. He occasionally visit- 
ed the congregation, and performed the rites of the church. 
The church building was erected in 1852. Father Pcren con- 
tinued his v-sits imtil a few months a^o,when Father Repies 
took charge cf the church. 

Messrs. Holmes & Swanwick commenced the erection of 
the stone flouring mill in 1842, and completed it in 1846. 
This gave a fresh impetus to the prosperity of the place, 
and its bounds began to expand. In 1848, Chester became 
the county seat of Randolph County, and the large Court 
House, (an engraving of which may be seen on the front page) 
was erected. From that time the improvement of the place 
has been steady. 

At the session of the General Assembly, in 1855, a 
city charter was granted to Chester, v/hich v/as adopted and 
went into operation a few months afterwards. At the first, 
charter election the following City Council was elected: 

Joseph Williamson, Mayor 

Aldermen — R. H. C rittenden and G. S. Jones, First Ward 
« I. H. Nelson and Henry Stump, second Ward 
w Frederick Buckman and Alfred whitaker, Third ward 

1857 — At the next annual election the Board consisted of: 

Frederick Buckman, Mayor 

Aldermen — R. H. Crittenden and A. S. Palmer, First Ward 
" I. H. Nelson, and Henry Stump, second Ward 
" Alfred Whitaker and J. G. Middendorf , Third Ward 

1858— Third Board: 

Seth Allen, Mayor 

Aldermen— A. Block and A. S. Palmer, First Ward 

I. H. Nelson and Henry Stump, Second ward 
F. Buckman and J. G. Middendorf, Third Ward 

1859— Fourth Board: 

Gabriel Jones, Kayor 

Aldermen— A, Block and A. Dunn, First Ward 

I. H. Nelson and Henry Stump, second ward 
F. Buckman and J. G. Middendorf, Third ward 

The erection by the city of a large public school house 
in 1858, closes the leading events of her history. This 
building is an ornament to the place, and will be a lasting 
monument to the intelligent spirit of her citizens. 

-73- 



■■ ' ' ■ - . ■ ■ ■■ - .... 







MENARD 

Menard is a part of Chester, though It lies outside of 
the city limits. It is the seat of H. C. Cole & Co is ex- 
tensive corawr.rc.ta3 operations, which gives it a local char- 
acter and smitV;S it to a name. It will probably be brought 
into the chaste.' limits of Chester before long, and consti- 
tute the Fourth Ward. 



CHESTER DIRECTORY (1859 E.P.L.) 



Andrews, Amzi, druggist 
Adams, Robert, cooper 
Allmyer, John H. , merchant 
Allmyer Frederick, stone mason 
Allen, Thomas G., lawyer 
Anderson, Charles C, merchant 
Anderson, A. A. keeps Chester Hotel 
Assman, V/illiam, physician 
Andrews, Truman, Rev. farmer 

Baumann, JohnF., cigar maker 
Barler, 0. L. Rev. teacher 
Bewie, Carl, Shoemaker 
Beare, Joseph, merchant 
Beare, Nicholas, lumber merchant 
Block, Charles, grocer 
Block, David, " 
Block, Adolph, commission mer- 
chant 
Bommelman, F. shoemaker 
Burns, V/illiam, grocer 
Bungie, William " 
Brown, Andrew^* teamster 
Brown, A. F., laborer 
Buckman, Frederick, merchant 
Burbes, Peter, stone mason 

Cole, H. C. merchant 

Cole, A. 8. » 

Crissey, Morris, salesman 

Cole, John P. " 

Christian, James M. stone mason 

Clement, JUdson, plasterer 

Crittenden, Richard H., clerk 

in mill 
Chapman, A. B., carpenter 
Clieman, William, grocer 
Crain, Nelson R., wagon maker 
Callaway, Thomas H. , constable 
Charles, B. H. Rev. 
Childs, C. J., Dr. 
Clemens, Curtis C, proprietor 

of "Democrat" 
Crisler, John W. , clerk 



Decker, Harmon, teamster 

Detmore, Lewis, stone 
mason 

Dillon, Martin, stone 
cutter 

Dunn, Alexander, merctoit 

Dunn, Frank, clerk 

Douglas j Thomas Resales- 
man 



Elliott, Ed., engineer 
Edwardc, John L. drug- 
gist 



Finne, William, farmer 
Francis, Horace, street 
commissioner 



Gindraw, Peter, cabinet- 
maker 

Gahrs, Henry, cabinet 
maker 

Oansman, Frank, black- 
smith 

Glister, Henry, flour 
packer 

Griswold, George R. , 
farmer 

Gray, Ftnerson. cooper 

Griss, Frederick, porter 
at Coles' mill 

Gordon, W. A. physician 

Gnaigy, Jacob, grocer 



Hall, E. J. Druggist 
Hartenberger, Jacob, 

wagon maker 
Hartenberger, Peter 

teamster 
Haskin, C.J , keeps 

T 4 ...TV*.,. n *-rkl< 



Haskin, Charles I., commis- 
sion merchant 

Holmes, J. B., dealer in real 
estate 

Holbrook, J. C, lawyer 

Hoff, Nicholas 

Horn, Casper, liOtel keeper 

Hobbs, Tnomas, butcher 

Harmer, Geo, W. , clerk of 
wharf boat 

Hobls, James, butcher 



Naler, Isaac, laborer 
Nelson, Isaac H. , clerk of 

county court 
Neville, Harvey, Sr.. lawyer 
Neville, Harvey, Jr. 'engi- 
neer 
Nisbet, Hugh B. , proprietor 

of "Democrat" 



Ochs, Adam, cooper 



Jones, James, H. , merchant 
Jones, G. S. " 
Jones, Gabriel, mayor and 
justice of peace 
Jourdan, Jar;?d B., saddler 



Kipp, John Henry, salesman 
Knapp, J, J., carpenter 
Kerr, David, druggist 



Lannaman, Harmon, clerk 
Lakeman, William R., gardener 
Layne, Elisha, carpenter 
Leittleton, John A., engineer 
Lish, A. P. brewer 
Lybarger, D. S., blacksmith 
Loughran, Hugh, merchant 
Loughran, Charles " 
Lieper, A. H. , physician 



Mattingly, J. B., steamboat 

coptain 
Mann, Robert, wagon maker 
Mann, Robert H. , salesman 
Middendorf, John G., merchant 
Morey, A., lumber merchant 
Morrison, Thomas S., lawyer 
Montague, C, plasterer 
Montague, E. J, publisher of 

Directory 
McCullun, Uriah, cooper 
Mc Qui stan, John C . , inn- 
keeper 
McNabny, John, deputy post 

master 
Mann, John H. teacher 
McBrine, William, keeps hotel 



-75- 



Palmer, A. S. , iurniture mer 

chant 
Paulus, John, orickmaker 
Phillip, E' grocer 
Phillip, A. " 
Pollock, Vi. A. Rev. 



Ralls, J. II., clerk of cir- 
cuit court 
Rader, Henry, cooper 
Robbe, fredcrick, laborer 
Rehfeldt, William, miller 
Roberts, William, saddler 
Robison, J^mes W. , capt. of 

"Wild Duck" 
Ritter, Valentine, grocer 
Reno, John w., cooper 
Runger Henry, stone mason 



Sonnamann, Harman, plasterer 
Sauppe, Henry, Dr. 
Schuchert, J. F. merchant 
Schuchert, William, sales- 
man 
Schuchert, J.F.M, blacksmith 
Schrader, Charles, cooper 
Shane, Phillip, brickmaker 
Servant, R.B., justice of 

peace 
Shrader, E. , laborer 
Sherman, J.G. , carpenter 
Shardong, Charles » 
Shutz, Henry, clothier 
Smith, Davis, butcher 
Smith, Thomas, baker 
Sonnanberg, Henry, miller 
Speckman, Henry, gardener 
Stump, David, stone mason 
Stump, Henry, carpenter 
Stolle, H. R. grocer 



iniM mifimn MiiiiiiiifiiiKffniifiiiiinTiinn *.».,.„,. 



ii ■iirffcmtiiii.iMiniiwiii ii urn 



Biir-M'MiiililiM 



Swanwick, John 
Swanwick, Francis 

Tackenbery, Henry, tailor 
Trefte, Frederick, wagon 

maker 
Threldkell, w. H. , keeps 

boarding house 
Toppe, David, carpenter 

Walker, F., grocer 
Widen, W. s. 

Warren, Stanford, carpen- 
ter 
Warren, Alfred, teamster 
Warren, John K. Carpenter 



Wassell, Charles, merchant 

tailor 
Wegner, August, cabinet maker 
Weibuck, C ., mason 
Wheerly, Raymond, jeweler 
Whi taker, Alfred, furniture 

merchant 
Wilbern, James, wagonmaker 
Wester, Frederick, jailor 
Wegner, Christian, carpenter 
Williamson, Joseph, tinner 

f-nd stove merchant 
Williamson, c-C. keeps ^err^ 
Williamson, IVanci': M., tinner 
Williams, j, 



* ■* * # * # # 



TOWNSHIP 7 SOUTH, RANGE 7 WEST— CHESTER (1859) 



Arpin, Michael, laborer 
Abbey, William, farmer 

Barnes, Thomas, farmer 
Burch, J. G. " 
Boga, Frederick » 
Benvenn, Lewis, cooper 
Bair, Jacob M., Sr,, farmer 
Bair, Jacob M., Jr. " 
Bair, David, teamster 
Bartles, C, farmer 
Brown, A. F. » 
Burk, William, farmer 
Browder, William M. , farmer 



Clampick, John farmer 
Clore, Harrison " 



Johnson, Robert, farmer 
Janna, Andrew « 
Janna, Michael « 



Kipp, F. W. n 

Kriege, H. " 

Lahmann, August 

Marlin, William, C. farmer 

Miller, William, » 

Mitchell, Rev, W. « 

Montreal, Joseph. laborer 

Montreal, Michael, Sr. f^r^r 

Montreal, JUchael, jr. farmer 

Montreal, John farji^- 

Menard, Lewis i'arinor 



Farley, David, farmer 

Gross, Ferdinand, farmer 
Gindran, Francis C. " 
Gindran, Peter »» 



Hess, Antoine 
Hanna, J. c., Jr. 
Harden, Joseph 
Hirte, Christie 
Herbert, peter 
Hoff, Nicholas 



Pettit, Henry N. farmer 

Rockwell, Laurin farmer 
Rockwell, Ephraim D. 
Rockwell, Justus 
Raville, John B. , 

Sanders, Charles L. , 
Seguin, Antoine 

Tindall, r. w. , teamster 
Tindall, Nelson, cooper 
Thompson, William, farmer 



Weibuck, Christoff, farmer 
Webb, Solomon, farmer 



TOWNSHIP 7 SOUTH, RANGE 6 WEST— CHESTER ( 1859 EPQ 



Adam, James, farmer and 
lumber merchant 

Adam, James P. , farmer and 
lumber merchant 

Biermann, Frederick, farmer 
Bisner, Henry, farmer 
Bilderback, S. P. " 
Brown, Lemuel M. " 
Brooks, John « 



Crisler, Abel « 
Crisler, Thomas J. » 
Cassell C, " 
Caney, August " 
Clare, Abram " 
Clare, Franklin B. « 
Cander, Martin » 
Crittenden, William farmer 
Crawford, Hugh M. farmer (jus- 
tice of the peace) 
Campbell, Elisha, farmer 
Craige, Robert farmer 



Dixon, Mungo, farmer 
Dame, Charles R., farmer 
Demack, Lewis " 
Douglas, Robert S. » 
Douglas, Adam « 
Douglas, Launcey " 
Douglas, James, farmer & 

miller 
Douglas, Andrew, farmer 
Dravies, Henry » 
Darwin, John G., farmer & 

wood merchant 
Dean, John, farmer 



Ebers, Henry, farmer 
Emery, Robert " 
Esselmann, Bernard, farmer 

Fey, Phillip, farmer 
Fleetwood, George, farmer 
Fulford, Thomas, farmer 



Graham, Robert S., farmer & 

carpenter 
Gilchrist, Archibald, farmer 
Groh, Frederick, farmer 
Greenawalt . Henry, farmer 
Griffith, vtflliam farmer 



Hartenberger, C. , farmer 
Hays, Joseph C. , brickmaker 
Hahn, Christian, farmer 
Hansick, Albert « 
Harkness, George « 
Heine, Henry » 
Hinkback; Girard " 
Hillerman, Frederick farmer 
Hill, Thomas « 
Hindman, Junes H. » 
Haney, John « 
Holloman, Ezekiel « 
Harnbush » 



uohnson, Bartholomew, farmer 

Kettler, Christopher, farmer 
Kennedy, Eli, farmer 
Kean, Joseph " 
Knapp, Philip C. f » 
Knapp, Jacob « 
Knope, Lewis » 
Kazma, Jacob " 

Lively, Fleming, farmpi 

Lively, Reuben 

Laws on, Mason 

Lawson, Andrew K« 

Linder, Lewi3 

Lively, Richard 

Lybarger, Edmund S. farmer 

Mason, James W. , farmer 
Merchencosky, Peter" 
Miller, Matthew » 
Myers, Peter, blacksmith 
Moore, William, farmer 

Noach, Simon, farmer 

Oldenslaker, Peter, farmer 



77- 



— 



Pettit, Thomaa, farmer 
Peck, Jacob, Sr. If 
Pinker ton, David J. " 
Peck, Jacob, Jr. « 
Proctor, Thomas » 



Ray, waiter, 
Rushka, M. 
Riggs, D&vid 



Kiggs, Dfcvia 
Robison, Joseph, Sr." 
Robison, Joseph, Jr." 
Rust, George S., keeps 

hotel 
Rust, Isaac, farmer and 
wagon maker 

Runger, Frederick, farmer 



Shutz, Charles 
Shutz, Benjamin 
Schrader, Frederick 
Schrader, Julius 
Smith, John S. 
Smith, Francis 
Sullivan Lessenbee 
Schzirkosky, C. L. 



Tagder. John farmer 
Tindall, Reuben, jr. farmer 
Telfer, Charles M. " 
Turner, Wilson " 



Vanover, Samuel 

Welge, Conrad 
Whitson, H. C . 
Williamson, cird 
Wilcox. William 
Wilagala, Martin 
Wood, Enock 
Wood, John M. 
Woolshack, Joseph 
Woolshack, Voluntine 



Young, John fanner and tailor 
Young, Richer! M. , nurseryman 

Young, James, "Farmer 
Yarres, Damon, farmer 



* # # # # # 



-78- 



SPARTA 



The ground on which the City of Sparta now stands was 
originally purchased and owned by John Armour, an emigrant 
from Pennsylvania , who located upon it in the ye; r 18^6. 
He erected a small log house, and made a farm upon the 
ground. Anticipating the wants of the growing settlements 
around him, and being a man of enterprise, he erected and 
put in operation a tread-mill, which stood near the spot 
now occupied by the Mansion House. The erection of this 
mill was the "circumstance" to which the ci~y owes its ex- 
istence. Robert G» Shannon, (v/ho v/as then keeping a store 
one mile south of the embryo town,* seeing that nearer the 
mill would be a better locality for selling goodL. pur- 
chased a small quantity of Mr. Armour's land, and erected 
a small store house near the locality where now stands the 
large brick building known as "Shannon »c Old store House." 
Here he commenced that successful business career which so 
distinguished him through a long life, and which has left 
an enduring name in the annals of Sparta. 

V/ith a mill and a store as a basis for a town, the 
enterprising proprietor had his land surveyed into town lots, 
and proceeded to dispose of them at public auction. The 
first lot sold was purchased by Samuel Hill for the sum of 
four dollars. This sale took place in the year 1829, from 
which period the place nuy date its existence, as it com- 
menced to improve and assume the character of a village 
from that time. 

During the same year, James McClurken, whose name was 
intimately connected with the progress of the place for 
thirty years, built a house on the hill southeast of the 
town. In the same year, Lawson Murphy, another of the promi- 
nent citizens of the place, established a brickyard, and 
commenced making brick. About the same time, Cornhill Eal- 
lard built a shop, and commenced blacksmithing. Alexander 
Campbell established a carpenter shop, several dwellings 
were erected in the same year. In the spring of 1830, Dr. 
Pyles, then a young man, came to the town and openeda' 
school. The year following, James A. Poster settled in the 
town and has been a citizen ever since. Dr. Joseph Farnon, 
who has been the leading physician of the town and vicinity 
for many years, located in 1830. In 1833, William H. McDill 
opened a hotel. In 1834, John A. Wilson, John Little, John 
Gray, Thomas Gaston, and John W. Slade became citizens of 
the town, and gave it quite an impetus for improvement. 
Slade & McClurken established a store — the second in the 
place. 

The prospects of the town induced a steady increase of 
population and business importance, sufficient progress had 
been made to establish the certainty of building a town, and 
the beautiful location and the rich farming lands around, 
which have since been reduced to a high state of cultivation, 
increased the inducements for persons to locate. In 1836, 

-79- 



the town received a valuable acquisition in the person of 
William Rosborough, who established the well known and ex- 
tensive mercantile house of which he is the senior partner. 
He opened his store first in the neighborhood four miles 
from Sparta, but seeing the advantages of the location and 
prospects of the place, he moved into town. 

In 1837, the town was incorporated, and received the 
name of Columbus. The first Board of Town Trustees consisted 
of Dr. Joseph Farnon, Lawson Murphy, John A. Wilson, James 
A. Foster, and John VV. Slade. A code of ordinances was en- 
acted, and the town government put in successful operation. 
The first business transacted by the Board was imposing a 
five" of one dollar upon Robert G. Shannon for the offense 
of leaving his wagon in the street during the r.:.gnt. 

The brick School House, known in later years as "Sparta 
Seminary", was built in 1038, and though somewhat antiquated 
in appearance now, it was then a magnificent structure, far 
in advance of the times. It gave to Sparta her reputation 
for schools, which she has always sustained with high credit 
to herself, and advantage to the youth. 

In 1839, a steam grist and saw mill was erected by 
James McClurken. This gave an additional importance to the 
commercial interests of the place, and new improvements im- 
mediately followed. Mr. McClurken had previously put in op- 
eration a cotton gin, which stood south of the town. 
Cotton was raised and shipped in considerable quantities from 
county thirty years ago. 

In tho same year — 1839 — the "Columbus Herald" was es- 
tablished by James Morrow. He conducted the paper nearly a 
year, and sold it to John F. Detrich. It was during the year 
1839 that the name of the town was changed from Columbus to 
Sparta, and Mr. Detrich changed the name of his paper to 
"Sparta Democrat". 

The first oil mill for the manufacture of c aster jjl! 
was put in operation by James McClurken, in 1840. The manu- 
facture of castor oil, and the buying of castor bean:;, 
formed an important item in the commerce of Sparta for many 
years. Oil mills were afterwards erected by R. G. Shannon 
and William Rosborough, and the farmers in the vicinity found 
a ready market at these mills for their castor beans, of which 
great quantities were raised. 

In 1843, the members of the Associate Reformed Church 
commenced the erection of their spacious brick building, 
which wa3 completed three years later. The congregation had 
been organized somo years before, and the Rov. William M. 
Graham was tho preacher. He was succeeded, in 1047, by Rov. 
David McDlll, a distinguished minister of that denomination. 
Rev. John F. Stuart succeeded Dr. McDill two years ago, and 
is now the pastor of the church. 

In 1842 ,a Methodist Society was organized by Rev. M. 



Martree. A church building wa3 erected in 1848, and the 
pulpit has been supplied by the various ministers appointed 
by the Methodist Conference. 

A Baptist Church was organized by Rev. H. S. Deppe, 
in 1854. A church building was erected the following year. 
Rev. J. B. Campbell is the regular minister. 

One of the most important additions to the business of 
Sparta, was the erection, in 1850, of a Woolen Factory, by 
the Messrs. McClurken. It was constructed at a heavy expense 
and has been in successful operation ever ;jnce. The pres- 
ent proprietor, Mr. Thomas McClurken, has f»*de additions 
to its manufacturing capacity during this Sanson, and now 
the wool growers of this and adjoining couitujcj Lave a reedy 
market for their wool. 

Since 1853, two large merchant mills iv-vt ocen erected, 
each one v/ith a capacity of producing two hundred and fifty 
barrels of flour per day. The construction of these mills 
was the work of joint stock associations, and the enterprises 
have given a fresh impetus to the raising of wheat, which is 
now produced as a staple crop. 

At the last session of the General Assembly, sparta ob- 
tained a City Charter, which went into operation a few 
months ago. At the Charter Election, the following city 
officers were elected: 

JOHN A. WILSON, Mayor 

Aldermen: 

First Ward — Robert Gammell and John Watson 

Second Ward — Matthew McClurken and Hugh Kirkpatrick 

Third Ward — J. F . McCandless and John W. Mccormack 

Fourth Ward — Robert J. Harmer and Samuel Niel 

Street Commissioner — James Laughlin 

Treasurer — Joseph McHenry 

Assessor — H. C. McCormack 

A steady increase of all the concomitants of a town 
has marked the progress of Sparta from its commencement. 
Situated in the centre of one of the most fertile and eligi- 
ble farming regions in Illinois, the town was surrounded by 
a class of industrious, enterprising and practical farmers, 
who have reduced the soil to a high state of cultivations, 
which has produced a healthy advancement in every department 
of commerce. 

The young city now contains ten dry goods stores; three 
grocery stores; one boot and shoe store and manufactory; 
three boot and shoe shops; two stove and tinware stores; three 
tailor shops; one jewelry store; three millinary shops; two 
confectionery stores; one bakery; two furniture stores; two 
saddlery and harness shops; two wagon, one plow, and four 
blacksmith shops; one steam barrel manufactory; two flouring 

-81- 

l» ,, I.I J . W I ^ | l. 1 II I II J IIi p > | l W I J | J^^ . tW , M I ,l,l . ..M l .. ,.,.■■ ,. . 1, .,,., „«„ „ | „ . , „, . „ , .„ , ,. , „ „ „>. ,, , , ,, . .. IHBI .. -.. I ..HWW. 



mills; one sew mill; one woolen factory; three hotels; 
three churches; three school houses; one academy; two 
literary sooieties; one library; five physicians; three 
lawyers; four resident ministers. 

SPJRTi 2I2I£I0RY 



Allen, Aaron M., merchant 
Abernathy, Thomas, carpenter 
Aitkin, James, Carpenter 
Anderson, Francis B., lawyer 
Anderson, Noble, farmer 
Anderson, William, shoemaker 
Ackins, William P., engineer 
Atkins, John, tinner 
Allen, Andrew, teamster 

Brown, Lemuel, A. C, stove 

merchant 
Brown, M. M. , Rev., principal 

of Union Academy 
Brown, Samuel, tinner 
Brown, Kinsley, tinner 
Brown, John Lyman, proprietor 

of "Herald and Press" 
Brown, Nicholas H., tinner 
Brown, James C, cacpenter 
Brown, James £., miller 
Baird, William M. carpenter 
Baird, Reuben » 
Baird, George C. » 
Baty, Francis H., trader 
Baily, Reuben, Reeps livery' 
Baldridge, William 
Brown, Thomas 
Beaver, David, furniture 

dealer 
Brunson, Frederick, shoemaker 
Ba scorn, Arthur W. Teamster 



Campbell, Louis Hi, painter 
Clendenin. Henry S., Saddler 
Cowel, William, cabinet maker 
Camp, M, canpenter 
Chapman, Hiram, shoemaker 
Caldwell, William J., jobber 
*Chalmbers, William G., saddler 
(Xruther3, Caleb, blacksmith 
Caruthers, Finley blackmmith 

(should be Crothers, F.P.L.) 
Calderwood, Hugh, superintendent 
of Sparta mill. 



82- 



Detrich, John E., merchant 
Detrich, Jacob s. furniture 

dealer 
Dickey, James, laborer 
Dobbins, John S., blacksmith 
Dobbins, Andrew, wagonmaker 

Edward Croslcy, spinner in 

factory 
Fdgar, William, book merchant 
Edminston, Abner 
Eekuph 

Farnan, Joseph, physician 

and druggist 
Farnan, James, physician 
Fair born, John laborer 
Foster, Robert L, expressman 
Ferris, D. S. minister 

Gardner, Henry, trader 
Gardner, Nicholas, grocer 
Gardner, Fayette, carpenter 
Goddard, J. H. 

Goddard, William B. , carpenter 
Gillebran, Adam laborer 
Gammill, Robert, miller 

(this probably should be 
spelled Gemraill) EPL 
Gerred, Hugh, lumber merchant 
Gorsuch, Elijah, boot and shoe 

merchant 
Gorsuch, M. G.> physician and 

druggist 
Gordon, James, merchant 
Gray, James, baker 
Gray, John, tailor 
Gutherie, Hugh R. , physician 



Gutelius, John F., innkeeper 
Gray, William 
Grenslet, E., cooper 
Gobsan, Robert, stone mason 
Graham, George, shoemaker 



Harmor, Robert J., clerk of 

union mill 
Hood, Archibald 



Hood, James, merchant 

Hood, Robert, " 

Hood, John 

Hood, William, mason 

Hopkins, Richard R. , physician 

Hudson, John, salesman 

Kirkpatrick, John, miller 
Kirkpatrick, Hugh, inn keeper 
Klene, Benjamin, brickmaker 

Long, Zachariah, tinner 
Lexton, Matthew, teamster 
Luther, A. A. 



..juker 
binet 



Luther, A. A. 
Lahmann, Bartley, butcher 
Lafferty, Jesse, groom 
Laws on,— Mur-phy?— Teamster 
Lawson,Mary A., confecti 
Lattimore, Joooph, mason 
Little, R. B., merchant 
Lindsay, Samuel, wagon m< 
Luther # James M.C., cabii 

maker 

Laird, Isaac, cooper 
Laird, Martin » 

Maxwell/ Je me s, teamster 

Matlock, William L. , plasterer 

Miller, Andrew, Jeweler 

Miller, James W 

Minner, johnW., ambrotypist 

Monroe, William 

Morrow, John B., lawyer 

Murphy, William P., lawyer 

Murphy, David 

Murphy, John Calvin 

Maxwell, Thomas C, farmer 

McMillan, William, H., farmer 

McLain, Thoron, carpenter 

Mclain, Daniel « 

McCutcheon, John M. , express- 
man 

McCandless, James F. 

McCorraack, John W. , black- 
smith 

McCormack, Matthew S., 
merchant 

McCormack, William, inn 
keeper 

McCormack, Hugh C, merchant 

McClurken, Thomas, factory 
merchant 

McClurken, Matthew, farmer 

McDonald, Robert 

McDill, Robert 

McDill, Thomas, printer 

-83- 



McHenry, Joseph, merchant 
McHenry, Robert, M. teacher 
McHenry, Francis 
McKay, John L. , tailor 
McMillan, John R.,teamster 
McDonald, Marshall » 

Newson, Archibald 
Newman, August, barber 
Neill, Samuel, harness 

maker 
Neill, John, blacksmith 
Nay lor, Presley 

Orr, Thomas A.K., butcher 

and teomster 
Orr, Craton, blacksmith 
Osburn, L. James, painter 



Patteson, Robert F., keeps 

livery 
Parks, James B»* merchant 
Perkins, Jeremiah C. , keeps 
saloon & variety 
store 
Perkins, Fphraim, black- 
smith 
Perkins, Elias, blacksmith 
Pawel, James, oculist 
Pyles, Lucius, carpenter 
palmer, P. W. , cooper 



Rosborough, William, mer- 
chant 
Rosborough, Robert, sales- 
man 
Raybron, Francis, black- 
smith 
Rea, William, teamster 
Rigdon, David, keeps livery 
Roseman, Henry, merchant 



Stevenson, William A., 

wagon maker 
Storraant, H. C, carpenter 
Stuart, John F ., minister 
Spindle, Edward J., laborer 
Sherlock, Richard, teamster 
Smith, Henry, tailor 
Stevenson, William J. , 

merchant 
Shannon, John R. 
Shannon, James 
Shannon, Mooes F. 



Skelley, 

Skelley, 

Skelley, 

Shelley, 

Simpson, 

Shiner, 

Saunders 

Sanders, 

Sanger s, 



Alexander 

John laborer 

William 
James, painter 

George, physician 
John, teameter 
, James, carpenter 

Thomas, tinner 

George, wagonmaker 



Taylor, John, justice of 

the peace 
Taylor James H., merchant 
Taylor, Hugh C, " 
Telfard, William. shoemaker 
Treat, Joseph, laborer 
Taylor, James, '» 



Watson, John, merchant 
Wood, Sidney, carpenter 
Wilson, Samuel 
Wilson, Samuel, constable 

and city marshal 
Wilson, John A- , postmaster 

and mayor 
Wilson, William F. 
Wise, Daniel, salesman 
Wolfington, P. laborer 
Whitim, George, barrel manu- 
facturer 
Watson, James, stone mason 
White, Andrew J,, cooper 

Yontz, John, miller 



TOWNSHIP 5 SOUTH. RANOF 6 WFST-- SPARTA 



Baird, Samuel P., farmer 

Baird, P. » 

Beattie » 

Beattie, J. M. » 

Becket, A, G. " 

Blair, John M. » 

Blair, J. H. » 

Blair, D. « 

Blair, William » 

Blair, James " 

Blair, Alexander »». 
Blackmore, 

Borders, Andrew, farmer 

Boyd, William » 

Boyd, James J, " 

Boyd Robert V. » 

Boyd, Samuel »» 

Boyd, Thomas " 

Boyd, David B. « 

Boyd, James '< 

Brown, Joseph, Jr. « 

Brown, James M. » 

Brown, David « 

Brown, Joseph, Sr. " 

Brown, Henry, B. » 

Brown, Charles E. " 

Chandler, Noel » 
Chalrabers, Thomas A. farmer 
Chalmbers, David ti 
Clendenin, James H. " 
Couch, John » 
Cooper, William " 
Cooper, James A. •• 
Coulter, John '• 
Crothers, B. L. , blacksmith 

-84- 



Cunningham, John R. , farmer 
Cunningham, James W. , " 
Cunningham, George V., " 

and teacher 
Cunningham, Robert, farmer 

nial, Isaac, farmer 
Dillman, John, » 
Dickey, George » 
Dawer, John " 

Fellers, John G., " 
Finley, Francis » 
Foster, v/illiam w 
Frazier, v/illiam, Sr., farmer 
Frazier, William, Jr., » 
Gs — see page 85 
Henderhoff, Peter, farmer 
Hegens, David, W. »■ 
Hood, John, « 
Hood, Alexander « 
Houston, John » 

Kell, John F., farmer 
Kinny, Alexander, " 

Lemmons, Jacob, farmer 
Lessley, R. M. »» 
Lessley, Alexander " 
Lively, A. P. « 
Lively, William " 
Lively, Turner » 
Lochead, J. M. » 
Lyle, Thomas » 

Ma lone, James, collier 



Mann, John B. , farmer 
Martin, William, » 
Mathews, William « 
Miller, John " 
Mirott, John, wagonmaker 
Marrow, William, farmer 
Harrow, James C. " 
Morris, Fphraim » f 
Morris, William, Jr. 
Morris, Isaac, farmer 
Murphy, A. B. n 
McAnullty, James H. , farmer 
McAtee, John A., farmer 
McConachie", David » 
McDonald, David V 
Mc Do land, James li. " 
McDonald, Levi » 
Mc Daniel, James » 
McDill, N. B. " 
McDill, Archibald M. , farmer 
Mc Dill, David A., farmer 
McGee, James farmer 
McLaughlin, Matthew, " 
McNeil, William, Sr. farmer 
McNeil, William, Jr. " 
KcIIenry, William " 



Orr, Thomas 
Orr, John 
Orr, John P 



farmer 
faomer 



Parks, John, farmer 
Parks, James G#, fanmcr 
Parks, A. W. 
Parks, Alfred 
Parks, John II. , 
Parks, Thomas A. 
Perkins, George H. , farmer 
Pressly, Samuel » 



Ritchey, William 
Robinc.n, Frederick 

Sinclair, Robert 
Stewart, William 

Temple, David, farmer 
Temple, John « 
Temple, William « 
Town s e nc". , Da v id " 
Toverea, Arthur T. , farmer 

Weir, Robert, sr., fa 
Weir, James N. fa 
Weir, Samuel T. " 
Weir, William 
Weir, Samuel 
Weir, James B. 
Weir, John 
Wilson, Henry J. 
Wilson, William F 
Wilson, David 
Wilson, Martin W. 



rmer 
rmer 



wi.±son, Martin w. 
Wolford, Frederick 
wolford, Daniel 
Wolford, George " 
Wright, Stephen, sr." 
Wright, Stephen, *•* " 
Wylie, Samuel M. 
wylie, John, Sr. 
Wylie, Jame<- 



G. 



jr " 

n 
ii 



Yates, E. , farmer 
Young, William, farmer 

^Gross, Anderson, it' 
Gross, George Sr. 
Gross, George W. 



TOWNSHIP 4 SOUTH, RANGE 6 WEST—SPARTA 



Anderson, Thomas, farmer 
Anderson, J. A. P. « 
Anderson, Archie " 
Armour, James C. " 



Block, Andrew, 
Block, N. N. 
Borders, M .W. 
Borders, Jas. J,, 
Borders, Elias K. 
Boyle, Thompson 
Boyle, Adam 
Boyle, James 
Burnett, Wm. 
Burns, Joseph 



Campbell, John, farmer 
Campbell, Thos. 
Cathcart, v 'm. J.s. 
Cathcart, Richard 
Cathcart, R. B. 
CathCc.rt, C. M. 
Cathcart, James 
Cathcart, John 
Chassclls, A. M« 
Christy, Jas., 
Crawford, Wm., 
r rthbertson, Alex 
Cuthbertson, Robert » 



-S5- 



Danley, Thomas, farmer 
Dunn, William M. " 
Dunn, James W. " 
Dunn, John " 



Edgar, A. J. 
Edgar, W. M. 
Edgar, R. M. 
Edgar, James 
Edgar, William S. 
Ev/ing, Samuel 
Ewing, John 



Fulton, 
Finley, 
Finley, 
Finley, 
Finley, 
Fawlds, 
Fulton, 



James, 

William 

Thomas 

James 

Matthew 

Jame3 

William 



Greer, Hugh, 
Gregg, Samuel 
Gray, R. W. 
Gray, /, F. 



Harwell, J, C. " 
Hemphill, Matthew « 

Hetherington, George farmer 

Hetherington, James » 

Houston, William " 

Houston, William « 

Johnson, William " 



Keys, Joseph, 
Kilpatrick, John 
Kirkwood, Robert 
Kirkwood, Matthew 

Leslie, Samuel 
Lackey, William 
Leslio, M . M. 
Lindsay, John H. 
Lindsay, Thomas B. 
Little, William 
Little, William C. 
Light body, R. W. 
Lynn, Joseph 
Lynn, William R. 
lynn, John 
Lyons, R. w. 
Lyons, G. 



Marshall, R. W. , physician 

Marshall, J, J # farmer 
Marshall, Adam, teacher 



06- 



Matthews, Joseph B. , farmer 
Matthews. James 
Meek, William 
Meek, Samuel J. B« 
Morrison, Robert 
Murphy, James H. 
McBride, A. 
McBride, John 
Mcclinton, James 
McClinton, William 
Mc Hat ton, Armour 
Mclntyre, John 
Mc II vain A. 
McKelvey, s. W. 
McKelvey, Alex R. 
McMasters, James 
McMillan, James H. 
McMillan, William T. 
McMurdo, John 
McMurdo, William 



Patterson, R. L. « 

Rankin, Robert, " 

Red path, R. w 

Re^ oath, jatios H. " 
Ritchey, jam-rs M. farmer and 

coal xer chant 
Ritchey, ftoberc J., farmer 

Rieddle, Joseph w 

Rodgers, Samuel J,, « 

Rodgers, A. » 

Rodgers, w. » 

Rutherford, William " 

Rutherford, Robert « 

Schrider, Henry, Rev. 

Short, Thomas « 

Smith, Moore, Jr. « 

Smith, James, C. » 

Smiley, Jame3 » 

Stevenson, Michael Sr. »» 



Temple, Robert 
Toverea, Bartley 
Tweede, Hugh 
Tweede, David 
Tweede, John 

Walker, James 
Walker, William 
Wallace, James 
Welsh, James 
White, Francis 
Wilson, Hugh 
Wocu, William 
Wylie, John 
Wylie, Alex. 



wylie, 
Yeoman 



Robert 
, David 



C. 



I £ I 2 

Rev. Samuel Vtylie purchased aud located upon the site 
of Eden, in the year 1822-3. Sometime afterwards, Adam 
V/ylie and James Ford located in the place. At that time 
there were but few settlers in the adjacent country, and 
the idea of making a town probably had not entered into the 
minds of the proprietors. Rev. Mr. V/ylie had collected to- 
gether a congregation of his church, and held public ser- 
vices in a house down near where the grave yard is. As the 
immigrants came into the county, they were induced to settle 
around this place, in order to enjoy the privileges of the 
church. The congregation, therefore, increased as rapidly 
as the country was settled. About the year 1833, the spa- 
cious brick church in which Mr. Wylie's congregation still 
worship was erected. This was the beginning of the town. 
About the same time the congregation suffered a division, 
and the seceding portion erected another large church in 
three years afterwards. Two spacious churches and a few 
dwellings around them now stood upon the beautiful little 
mound in the prairie, and suggested to the proprietor, who 
appreciated the beautiful, the idea of building a town, 
which should be called Eden. It was then the closest type 
of Eden of any spot in Illinois • 

In the year 1837, a portion of the Ian/ was surveyed 
into town lots, and but a short time af:crvVe;ds Eden con- 
tained a store, oil mill, carding machine^ .'oundry and 
machine shop, and many other town fixtm cj. ^ts churches and 
its shops have constituted the chief materials of interest, 
and given the character of a religious . moral, intelligent 
and industrious people to its inhabitants. The first wagon 
shop in Eden was established in 1839, by w. R. Brown, since 
then several have gone into operation. For many years, the 
shops of Eden have supplied a large portion of the southern 
part of Illinois with wagons carriages and plows. 

Rev. Samuel vylie, who is the founder of the place, 
first came to Kaskaskia in 1817, and was the first man in 
Illinois to give form and stability to the Reformed Presby- 
terian Church. For more than forty years he has proclaimed 
the words of truth and life to the people of his church. He 
alone of the pioneer ministers who appeared in Illinois 
previous to 1818 i3 living. He is a distinguished light in 
the church, and a faithful gospel minister. 

Eden now contains a population of about three hundred; 
has one dry goods store; four wagon shops; one carriage and 
plow manufactory; one school house; one literary society, 
with a large library; a saddlery shop, and some other town 
appendages. 

a4fr 



M PMHSCTfflK 
Township 5 South, Range S west— Wen 



Adams, 0. K» ; farmer 
Alexander, Ebenozor, termer 
Andcruon, John A. H. , ■' 
Anderson, James B., « 
Alexander, waiter, nurseryman 
Armour, A. 



Bergfeldt., W. 
Bates', Joseph C, 



farmer 
black- 
smith 
farmer 

ii 

ii 

ii 
merchant 
farmer 

ii 

ii 



Banister, Oliver, 
Banister, Jesse 
Be&ttie, Juseph 
Beattie, Robert 
Bottom, Luke, 
'Brooks, Robert, 
Brown, George 
Brown, Hugh 
Brown, W. R.. lumber merchant 
Drown, Lemuel A. C. tinner 
Burna, Samuel, manufacturer^ 
Burlingharae, A. H., carrlag 

and wagon manufacturer 
Beattie, James, farmer 
Bottom, James, blacksmith 

Callighen, John, me hanic 
Campbell, James, farmer 
Campbell, J.B. Rev. painter 
Tampbell, William, farmer 
Campbell ,v.George, " 
Campbell, John " 
Calvin, John, blacksmith 
Cruthers(Crothers) F.R. 

ploughmaker 
Cruras, /.din 
Curtis, Augustus, farmer 

Dobbins, Theodore A., farmer 
Dobbs, Richard, •» 
Dickey, John " 

Dickey, Alexander S. wagon- 
maker 
Dickson, Charles 
Dickey, Alexander, farmer 
Dickey, n 



Enos, James, 

Flack, J. J. 
Foster, A. W. 
Fulton, David 
Fulton, John 



farmer 

farmer 
ii 



-88^ 



Galloway, James, farmer 
Gaston, Samuel « 
Gaston, James, blacksmith 
Gault, H. C# 
Gault, p. B, wagonmaker 
Gault, C . M . » 
Gordon, William C. ,Sr. farmer 
Gordon, William, C. , Jr. » 
Gordon, A. J. " 

Gordon, John R. » 

Gaston, Robert, wagonmaker 

Harrison, G. W. farmer 

Hall, L. I. " 

Hill, Edmund »' 

Hood, Joseph » 

Hughes, John M. » 

Hyndeman, C. F.« carpenter 
Holden, R. L. , blacksmith 

KavanauRh, D^vid, wagonmaker 
Kyle, r. j. 

Lewis, John 
Lewis, Fdv/.ard 
Lucaa , A . , farmer 
Lyle, James, farmer 
Lewi j, Frank 
Lewis, Abram 

Mills, Steven 

Maxwell, Thomas C . , farmer 

Maxwell, John 

Miller, Charles R. farmer 

More, John, carpenter 

Michael, J. , farmer 

McCormack, J# , farmer 

McCormack, M. , farmer 

McConechie (McConachie), David 

McCoughcn, John farmer 

Mc Clint on, John, » 

McMillan, w. H. 

McKee, Alexander 

McKee, R. G. 

McKee, William 

McKee, J. 0. 

McConachie, John 

McMillan, Milton 

Nimock, Samuel, cabinet maker 

Nelson, Thomas, florist 

Nisbet, Samuel t. , farmer 

Nisbet, Robert » 



Nisbet, Samuel 
Nisbet, James, 

Parker, Peter 
Pattan, Joseph 
Pillers, P. W. 



farmer 
painter 



farmer 
t? 



Robbins, Charles, farmer 
Robison, Richard, " 
Ros borough, James » 
Robison, John S. " 

Shrewsberry, Benedict, " 
Snodgrass, Reuben, 
Snodgrass, Rilan 
Snodgrass, Robert 
Stuart, Alexander 
Stuart, James 
Steele, Merit 
Steele, Martin 
Steele, Anthony 
Stevenson, Robert, Sr. mer« 

chant 
Stevenson, Michael, Jr. 

saddler 
Stevenson, John, merchant 
Steele, Albert 
Stevenson, Robert, Jr. 
wagon maker 
Stevenson, Allen, black- 
smith 



Valentine, James. H« 



Watt, Richard, merchant 
v/ard, josiah, farmer 
Wilson, John " 
Wilson, John, (Irish)" 
Wilson, James R. " 
V/ilson, James C. " 
v/ylie, Samuel Rev. 
Ward, Ryly, farmer 
Wilson, Wilson " 
Wilson, M. W. " 
Wilson, Joseph « 



Zumbro, George, carpenter 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

P. B. & C. M. Gault, manufacturers of wagons, carriages, 
Buggies, Sulkies, &C.,&C, Eden, Illinois. This firm has 
invariably taken the "BLUE RIBBON", at the County Fair, on 
Buggies, whenever they have exhibited. Orders solicited, 
and filled on short notice. Our work is warranted. 

* # * #> -it- 

JOHN MICHAN, Attorney and Counselor at Law, Fden, Illinois. 

* « * * * 

Thomas Nelson, Florist, Fden, Illinois, has Dahlias, Roses, 
Tulips, Hyacinths, Bulbs, Greenhoi.:;e plants, and Shrubbery. 
Seeds, known to be genuine, caa be obtained from me. 

***** 



89- 



This thriving town is situated upon a gradually rising 
eminence in Horse Prairie, near the line which divides the 
counties of Monroo and Randolph, Its history embraces no 
events of early times to give it the interest of antiquity 
its origin dating no farther back than the yotr 1044, The 
first house upon the ground whero the town no stands was 
erected in that year by Mr. Richmond D. Durfee. The year 
after he built a storehouse and commenced selling goods. 
About the seme time Samuel Crozier erected a dwelling, 
which at that time occupied a position to the south of where 
the town afterwards stood, but it is now nearly surrounded 
with houses. 

In the year 1847, William Simmons, who owned a pert of 
the town site, had his land surveyed into town lots, and pro- 
ceeded to dispose of them at public auction. The year after, 
Mr. Durfee had his land surveyed and made another public 
sale. Such was the encouragement received from these two 
sales that Samuel Crozier brought his land into market, and 
found ready and anxious purchasers. About the same time a 
flouring mill was erected and put in operation a little to 
the northeast of town, which is doing business yet. 

From this tlrno the town commenced a rapid and success- 
ful improvement, Tho first brick building was the school 
house, erected in 1053, since which time bricks have been 
used almost exclusively for building material. Soon after- 
wards followed the erection of a largo merchant mill within 
tho limits of the town, whose capacity for grinding is about 
two hundred and fifty barrels of flour per day. This gave 
an additional impetus to the business prosperity of the place 
and not long afterwards there arose the spacious storehouse 
of Durfee & Crozier, a row of brick buildings covering a 
large portion of a block, a large brick brewery, and many 
other buildings of note and importance. There is now in 
procees of construction a large hotel, t cost of which 
will amount to $12,000, and a large storehouse by smith, 
Allen & Co., v/hich will be an ornament to the town. 

Though the growth of the place has been marked by a 
rapidity which seldom attends the progress of inland towns, 
it has not gone in advance of the surrounding country, from 
which it draws its commercial vitality. As a farming region, 
Horse Prairie and its margin of undulating timbered land, 
are unsurpassed in beauty and fertility. 

Tho immense crops of wheat, corn, hay and potatoes, 
harvested from the farms in this prairie, would put to a se- 
vere test the credulity of the toiling farmer who gathers hia 
eight and ten bushels per acre from the stony hill sides of 
New England. Among the farmers around Red Bud are to be 
found the most industrious, enterprising and wealthy in the 
county. In this fact lies the secret of Red Bud«s prosper- 
ity. Every inland town depends upon the progress and advance- 
ment of the country around for its own prosperity. The pros- 

-90- 



perity. The prosperous state of the surrounding country may, 
therefore, be inferred from the amount of business done in 
Red Bud. There are five dry goods stores; six grocery 
stores; two flouring mills; two lumber yards; six merchant 
tailors; one drug store; one brewery; one livery stable; 
five boot and shoe shops; three blacksmith shops; three 
wagon manufactories; one saddlery and harness shop; four 
hotels; two brick yards; four carpenter shops; three cabi- 
net shops; three tin shops; one jewelry store; one ambro- 
type gallery; one high school supported by the town, inde- 
pendent of the public revenue, 

RED BUD DIRECTORY 



Township 4 South, Range 8 west — Red Bud 



Albers, J. T.> merchant 
Allen, J. R., postmaster 
Allen, Miner, farmer 
Allen, J. W., notary public 
Addams, J. R., farmer & Justice 
of the peace 
Allrecht, M. - plasterer 
Altman Adam, butcher 

Beresson Earnst, farmer 

Beresson, V/illiam, » 

Besterbortel, Fred » 

Biffar, George " 

Bartles, C. F. " 

Barker, Minor, carpenter 

Barker, D. M. « 

Biffar, Henry » 

Blu, V. , teamster 

Born, John, blacksmith 

Boge, Henry, laborer 

Bauer, Henry, farmer 

Bada Frederick, « 

Brasse, V/illiam " 

Brasse, Louis, « 

Br ockmin, Henry, laborer 

Bruner, John, cooper 

Bricky, William, lumber raerchart 

Brockmin, J. F., shoemaker 

Bosse, Antony, farmer 

Burgo Louis, » 

Bochoff, G., merchant 

Boergherting, Henry, laborer 

Bush, Fred, teamster 

Bush, John, laborer 

Brasse, Henry, farmer 

Brickey, John, miller 

Brown, E. S. laborer 



Clark, Reuben, farmer 
Cline, Wm. » 



91- 



Conoly, John, teamster 
Conoly, Charles " 
Coleman, Henry, lawyer 
Crozier, J. L. farmer 
Cullin, Kil Timor ty, farmer 
Cardwell, W. J., doctor 
Crocher, James, principal of 

high school 
Crouda, Joseph, carpenter 

Donoho, Michael, farmer 
Deterding, Fred, wagonmaker 
Deitzel, William, druggist 
Donouse, John, farmer 
Deaker, V/illiam, do 
Durfee, R. D. , merchant 
Davis, E. R. » 
Durfee, Aaron, retired 
Dooly, Michael, laborer 

Fberding, Conrad, farmer 
Eppers, J. W., barkeeper 
Eisse, Frederick, cabinet- 
maker 
Eberding, Henry, farmer 
Evans, Emanuel, farmer 
Elig, Christian, miller 
Erie, peter, farmer 
Egerding, Cherles, blacksmith 

Flcnigan, John, farmer 
Faherty, Mary « 
Feuerstein, Lecnder, watch- 
maker 
Faherty, Edward, farmer 
Fink, Charle3 " 
Friel, Hugh, barkeeper 
Forcade, Fred, teamster 

Gesting, Henry, farmer 



Leirty, Nicholas, teameter 
Lindess, Casper, Blacksmith 
Gilbert^ Charles H Leifer, Fred., farmer 
Gore, C .G., constable Leifer, Conrad 
Glenor, Julia, farmer Lintner, Phillip 
Guramel, Henry, cabinetmaker Lohman, August 
Geissaman, Henry, Teamster Lohman, Fred 
Gettleman, George, farmer Longpin, Henry 
Green, A. N. , tinner Lipkiman, Fred 
Gubert, Henry, farmer Leifer, Dederich 
Gubert, Christ » Liddy, Timothy 
Griffin, H. B., school teacher 



Gubert, Fred. farmer 
Gubert, William » 
Gubert, Charles H 
Gore, C .G., constable 
Glenor, JUlia, farm 



Henna, Fred, school teacher 
Harrison, R. C. " 
Haak, J. F. , painter 
Hinesens, August, cabinet 

maker 
Huth, Charles, laborer 
Huth, August, » 
Haite, Joseph, carpenter 
Heaferain, George, carpen- 
ter 
Heuer, William, tailor 
Heuer, Henry, brick mason 
Helbick, John « " 
Heigle, Antony " " 
Huth, M athia, farmer 
Henicker, Fred, miller 
Huber, Peter, farmer 
Hack, Mine, farmer 
Hilgamin, William farmer 
Hormbutt, Fred., « 
Haake, Frank., stone cutter 
Heining, William, hotel 

keeper 
Haynes, 0. K. « » 
Heirty, Theodore, stone 

cutter 
Hef, J. C, carpenter 

Jahle, Christian, shoemaker 
Jahle , Paul , - shoemaker 
Jahle, Joseph « 

Kuker, Henry, farmer 
Kuker, Fred » 
Keefer, Antony, stone mason 
Koister, Charles, farmer 
Kline, John, tailor 
Koch, Henry » 
Klepper, Henry, caopenter 
Klepper, William, " 
Krearaer, Charles, farmer 
Koch, Deitrich* " 
Knoka, Charles " 



McCan, Hugh, w 
McCan, Patrick " 
Mann, Christian « 
Mohr, J.C., barkeeper 
Mohrs, Henry farmer 
He Bride, Isaac, « 
McBride, J. T. " 
McBride, T. J. » 
Minholhy, Charles, brickmason 

Nagel, C. H., brickmason 
Nag el, Earnest » 
Nearger, Fred., " 
Nelson, Isaac » 
Nelson, William » 

Owen, Levi, brickmason 
Owen, C. C. » 
Outen, William " 
Outen, " 

Offerding, Daniel, hotel keeper 
Ortgeison, Gehard, shoemaker 
Ohlwein, David, farmer 
Owen, William « 
Obst, Ferdinand, carpenter 



Parrot, 


Peter 


farmer 


Parrot, 


Louis 


it 


Peach, 


John 


ti 


Peurggroth, Fred 


it 


Pelzer, 


Louis 


ti 


Prowse, 


William 


u 


Poston, 


0. N., M. 


D. 



Ralls, J. & R., farmers 
Ralls, William, « 
Ralls, John " 
Rail, John » 
Rail, Louis » 
Rathut, Charles, carpenter 
Rathut, William plasterer 
Ronnerberger, F., farmer 
Rinehardt, Charles, shoemaker 



•92- 



■■i in in n 



Ruhnkorf, Conrad, laborer 
Ruhnkorf, Henry, wagonmaker 
Ritter, Henry, blacksmith 
Ruker, Fred, Sr. , carpenter 
Ruker, Fred, Jr., farmer 
Resse, Fred., capenter 
Roscon, James, farmer 
Ronald, Earns t " 
Ronald, Conrad » 
Ronald, Fred » 
Rollpink, Fred., « 
Rose, Joseph, carpenter 
Rosenmier, Fred, « 
Robbins, Wm. S., teamster 
Ruppel, Leonard, butcher 
Reity, Adam, clerk 

Schrieber, Charles, Jr,,mer 
Schrieber, Charles, Sr., fa 
Schrieber, F. , Sr. « 
Schrieber, F. , Jr. " 
Saxorunier, George, saddler 
Shatter, Fred, laborer 
Shintheln, Margaret, farmer 
Smook, August, farmer 
Snook, William " 
Shrader, Conrad, " 
Short, John » 
Small, David « 
Smith, Henry » 
Smith, Conrad » 
Smith, N., justice of peace 
Smith, R. J., merchant 
Smith, Laurence, hotel 

keeper 
Simmons, Luther, farmer 
Simmons, S. L. " 
Simmons, H. Mc. » 
Sipple, Christian, carpenter 
Sippel, Henry, farmer 
Salger, Earnst « 
Salger, Fred »• 
Sliger, John " 
Stillborn, Fred., » 
Smith, H. C. » 
Starnn, William »' 
Starnn, August n 



Stoehr , ( Joh , Lawyer 
Snyder, Christopher, horse far- 
rier 
Salfrank, Henry, barber 
Seibert, J. a., ambrotypist 
Seibert, H. , stone cutter 
Stineham, Jacob, farmer 
Stineham, prank « 
Stumph,. Jacob, D.D. 
Sturgeon, J. R. D.D. 

Taylor, spencer, miller 
Treaneller, Mathias, laborer 
Teiler, William butcher 
Tummel, John brickmason 
Tummel, Frank " 

chant 
rmer 

Uffuman, Louis, farmer 

Voges, Henry, teamster 
Voges, Conrad, sr., farmer 
Voges, Conrad, Jr. »' 
Voss, Fred n 

Veight, William, M. D. 
Vagely, s. Laborer 

Walker, Fred, farmer 
Wichlien, A. » 
Wichlien, John L. « 
Wichlein, John, gunsmith 
Weaver, Daniel, farmer 
Weaver, Peter »» 
Wehrhelm, Phillip, sr. farmer 
Wehrheim, Philip, jr. » 
Winegertner, Charles, carpenter 
Weber, Jacob »» 

V/undt, Charles, M.D. 
Wagoner, Fred, wagonmaker 
Wipkin, Fred, farmer 
Wipkin, August, « 
Wilson, James G. , farmer 
Wilson, Gilbert « 
Weiss, Leonard, blacksmith 
Wilson, R. s. farmer 
Weiss, Phil. & Adam, tailors & 
shoemakers. 



Yeager, Antony, farmer 
Young, William, « 



ADVERTISEMENT 

A. B. Agnew, M. D. Physician and Surgeon, Prairie du Rocher, 
Randolph County, 111. 



PRAIRIE DU ROCHFR DIRECTORY 



Township 5 South, Range 9 We3t~ Prairie du Rocher 



Agnew, A. B. physician 
Albert, Antoino, farmer 
Atcher, Charles » 

Bachelier, Frank, merchant 

Brickey, Frank W., mer- 
chant miller 

Bachelier, Philibert, car- 
penter 

Barbeau, Benjamin, farmer 

Barbeau, Andrew, Jr. " 

Barbeau, Henry, 

Barbeau, John B. 

Barbeau, /.ntoine 

Barbeau, Baptiste 

Brown, Matthew 

Barber, Francis 

Bege, Leurent 

Buyat, Ambrose 

Benvenu, Raynold 

Blandford, Felix 

Blais, Joseph 

Blais, Thomas 

Boneau, Pierre 

Brewer, John Sr 

Brewer, George 

Brown, Albion 

Blais, Godfrey 

Blandheld, Alb< 

Blais, Narciss\ 



Albert 
~sus 



Cavanau, L. D. " 
Chaudel, Theophill. proprie 

tor Union Hotel 
Chartreau, Michael " 
Chcoweth, Gabriel » 
Clark, James » 

Connely, James » 
Collegnor, Joseph " 
Curat, Alphonse » 
Carr, Benjamin, laborer 



Davis, H. S., blacksmith 
Derouse, Edward, farmer 
Deffry, Maxemilion, farmer 
Danane, Martin » 
Danjan, John » 

Dorron, Lesen « 
Dorron, Ferain » 
Drawry, Clement » 
Drapan, William » 



Due la sp Eugene 
Duo las, Rosemond 



Godair, Pierre 
Godair, John B. 
Godair, eelerin 
Grevet, Danis 
Granmer, John B« 
Guebert, C* 



farmer 
farmer 



farmer 
it 
ti 
ti 
it 
ti 



Harris, Gravais « 

Harris, Thomas « 

Hansbrough, Flija « 

Hare stead, Thomas « 

Haynes, Hosea «» 
Henry, William, justice of the 

peace and notary public 
Hesse, Edraund 



jeffry, w. M. , physician 

Johnson, John farmer 



Kerr, Henry 
Kerr, John 
Kerr, A. 



farmer 
merchant 



LaChapelle, Amedee, farmer 

Langlois, Francis farmer 

Langlois, Antoine »• 

Levery, Joseph « 

- Levery, Godfrey t» 

Louviere, John B. " 

Louviere, Henry « 

Louviere, Ciprain « 

Louviere, Baptiste " 
Lee, A. H. , merchant miller 



Manning, Isadore, 
Medeaf, Fdward 
Medeaf, Charles B. 
Miller, William 
Moass, Solomon 
Mangen, Prosper 
Mongen, Francis 
Mudd, Thomas L. 
Mudd, Vincent 
Mudd, Thomas 
Mudd, James T. 
Montgomery, Thomas L. 



farmer 
it 
ti 
ti 
it 
ii 
it 
ti 
it 
ii 
ii 
ii 



-94- 
(I believe this should be Duclas or Duclos.F.P.l.) 



McNabb, J&tthew, farmer 
McGee, Augustus, saddler 



Neal, Joseph, 



farmer 



Owen, Constantine, farmer 
Owen, Croswell, farmer 

Perrat, Ferdinand, farmer 
Perrat, Francis » 
Phegly, Jacob » 
Phegly, John " 
Panpar, Pela2ie « 
Pairier, Frederick " 

Robbins, William 
Ray, Ely A. 
Ray, Antoine 
Ray, Adolphus 
Ray, Ferdinand 
Ray, Phelix 



Santean, John B. # farmer 
Shea, Michael « 
Simiaons, Henry H* « 

Skedmore, H. M. « 
Steinkop, Frederick, mason 
Sprigg, James D. > merchant 
Sprigg, John " 
Schrider, Dr., farmer 



Thibeau, Israel 
Timpton, Sias 
Tuller, John B. 
Thibeau, Francis 



Wenther, George, 



TWP 5 S., RANGE 10 W. 

England, Robert 

Elliot, Joseph, farmer 

Godair, Alexis, farmer 



Langlois, Etienne, C, 

Louviere, John N., 

Louviere, Eugene 

Louviere, Vital 

Louviere, Benjamin 

Sears, S. S. commission 
merchant 



Waldron, William, farmer 



TWP 7 S., RANGE 8 W. 

Bienvenu, Francis E. 9 farmer 
Bienvenu, Lewis, « 



Casson, Antoine B. , " 

Casson, Felix « 

Charliville, Charles »' 

Charliville, Francois » 



Derou3e, Joseph T. 9 
Dobbs, W. £. 
Dobbs, Jonathan 
Dobbs, Richard 
Doza, Alexis 
Doza, William 
Danis, Antoine 

Gendrou, Luke 

Pujol, Louis, P. 
Planase, Antoine 

Thomas Fulton 
Thomas Matthew 
Thomas Plumer 



.05- 



LIBERTY 

About the year 1805, John Hickman built a house in 
front of the present location of Liberty, on land which 
has long since given place to the current of the river. 
In 1806, Mr. Mansker, father of Samuel Mansker, built a 
house on the island opposite the town, and opened a farm. 
Samuel Mansker built the first house within the limits of 
the present town — the same that is now occupied by Mr. 
Tuthill as a chair manufactory. The first store was es- 
tablished by James McCormack. 

In the year 1832, John Stearns, an emigrant from Ten- 
nessee, purchased the land end laid off the upper part of 
town into town lots. A sprightly improvement followed, 
and the place rapidly assumed tov/n proportions. About the 
year 1836, Capt. w, B. Charles, James Dean, Dr. Manning, 
Harvey Clendenin, Samuel Barber, Thomas Frazier, F. G. Hall, 
Brewster, and some others located in the town, and gave it 
quite a start towards a high destiny. Mansker, Clendenin 
& Barber established a store and carried on a heavy busi- 
ness in buying and shipping grain. At this time there was 
probably more corn shipped from Liberty than from any other 
port in Randolph County. 

The town was incorporated in 1837, and the local 
government set in motion. The first board of town trustees 
consisted of William B. Charles, Nathaniel Manning, John D. 
Stearns, John Stearns and Jacob Parks. John Stearns was 
elected President, and Harvey Clendenin, Clerk. 

The place maintained a gradual improvement until about 
the year 1842. From that period there was but little pro- 
gress until about four years ago. in 185B, the enterpris- 
ing citizens of the tov/n and vicinity organized a Joint 
stock association, and commenced the erection of a large 
flouring mill.' This was the signal for other improvements, 
and during the next two years a great many new houses were 
built. The mill was completed and set in operation in 1856. 
It is of the largest class of merchant mills, capable of 
producing two hundred and fifty barrels of flour per day. 

The town now contains five dry goods stores; two 
grocery stores; one chair factory; one wagon shop; two black- 
smith shops; one boot and shoe shop; one cooper shop; one 
hotel; three physicians; one school house. 

Liberty i3 one of the lergest wood markets on the Missis- 
sippi river. About ten thousand dollars' worth of wood is 
sold from her numerous yards annually. 

A church was organized in Liberty, about the year 1844, 
by Rev. C. C. Riggs. The congregation usually occupy the 
school house. Rev. B. H. Charles supplies the pulpit oc- 
casionally. 

Liberty is situated in the southeast corner of Randolph 

-96- 



County, upon a strip of level lord, with the Mississippi 
front end a range of v/ild, cragged bluffs in the roar. 
The river at this point is probably narrower than at any 
other place between New Orleans and St. Anthony Falls, 
measuring in an ordinary stage of water something less than 
four hundred yards. The country surrounding Liberty is 
somewhat broken, and heavily timbered. The soil on the 
uplands is well adapted to the production of wheat, of 
which the farmers raise large quantities. 

LIBER TY DIRECTORY 
Township 8 South, Range 5 West — Liberty 



Armstrong, William, 
Armstrong, Samuel, 
Armstrong, Hubert 



farmer 



Barber, Fzekiel, wood mer- 
chant 
Barber, Alexander, farmer 
Barber, James « 
Beaver, Charles W. , laborer 
Brown, James M. farmer 
Bryant, Thomas « 
Bryant, William teamster 
Buar, blacksmith 
Barnes, Benjamin, wood dealer 
Bennett, R., laborer 
Barber, Joseph, Br, 
Barber, Joel, Dr. 
Brown, John, farmer 
Barber, Samuel, farmer 

Carter , Coiman , laborer 
Clendenin, E. R. carpenter 
Clendenin, J. C, merchant 
Clendenin, John H. farmer 
Clendenin, Samuel, " 
Clendenin, Harvey » 
Clendenin, William H. , mer- 
chant 
Crisler, John, blacksmith 
Criley, John, plasterer 
Childers, Harvey, farmer 
Carter, Samuel « 
Clifford, C. 
Clifford, Samuel 
Crane, Joseph H. 

Dean, James, merchant 

Emery, William, wagonmakcr 

Floyed, George W. laborer 
Fulford, Thomas, farmer 
Frazier. Thomas " 



Frazier, Alexander, carpen- 
ter 
Frickcy, August, miller 

Gentry, William, laborer 

Gentry, pleasant, » 

Gentry, John 

Gentry, William 

Haskins, Charles R., farmer 
Harry, »v. (}., shoemaker 
Hamilton, Archibald, farmer 
Hooker, George w. , car- 
penter 
Hooker, Jacob, carpenter 
Hooker, William, laborer 
i4 ^bbs, Richard, farmer 
Henderson, B.B. 
Hardy 
Hobbs, Thomas, farmer 

Jones, Samuel T. , merchant 
Jones Cc Clendenin, merchants 
Jones. W.W. , Dr. 
Jernegan, William B. , cooper 
Jeffrey, William M. , farmer 
Jeffrey, Robert, teacher 

Kirk, John, laborer 

Lester, John, farmer 
Lakeman, Jr.mes, M., merchant 
Lawder, William, farmer 
Lawder, James » 
Lively, James, laborer 
Lawson, Samuel 

Mcrgon, John, laborer 
Mann, J#P., merchant 
Mann, C. A., Dr. 
Mc Kenny, James, clerk 



97 



TWP 8 SOUTH, RANGE 6 WEST 



TWP 8 SOUTH, RANG! 

Parres, Vincent, salesman Barnfield, T. H. , salesman 
Purely, Edward F., miller Barnfield, J.J. , farmer 



Reed, James D. , blacksmith 
Ryan, Augustus « 
Reese, Jordan, farmer 
Ray, mate on river 
Robbins, W. S. 
aickards, Benjamin, miller 



Scudamore, G., 
Simpson, John 
Simponn, JamSs 
Stone, J. H. 
Stokes, Elijah 



farmer 



Tope, G. Wt f laborer 
Tuthill, S. P., ch&ir maker 
Tudor, John, farmer 
Tunis, John " 
Tudor, Thomas " 

Underhill, Marion, farmer 



Carr, William, farmer 

Fleetwood, George w. , farmer 
Flin, Pen*y farmer 

Hindman, Harvey, farmer 
Hindman, Alexander, » 
Hindman, Alexander, jr., farmer 

Lawson, Isaac, farmer 
Law, Alexander, » 

Mansker, R. B. , farmer 
llansicer, Samuel » 
Moore, John, -farmer 
Moore, Robert " 
Mansker, William W. , teacher 
Moore, Americus, farmer 

Pearson, Absalom, farmer 
Pearson, William » 



Van Meter, H. M. Weakley, John " 

Vickers, Montraville, farmer v/ilson, John " 

Vickers, Moses cooper Williams, Thomas " 
Vance, William, Dr. 

Walters, George W., merchant 
Walters, A. J., merchant 
Ward, E. J. » 
Wise, E. G. » 
Wingate, R. farmer 
Winthraw, R., laborer 
Wilson, Johnson farmer 
Whitehouse, Joseph, farmer 

ADVERTISEMENTS 

S. Turner, Jones & Co., have in Store a carefully selected 
stock of DRY-GOODS, which they offer at very low prices 
for cash. Attention is called to their Stock of Boots and 
Shoes, Which will be found extensive, and of the best make 
and material. Groceries are selected to answer the wishes 
of regular customers, and can be relied upon for quality. 
Bridles, Harness, &c, constantly kept in store. Liberty, 111, 

* * # # 



J. P. MANN, Liberty, Illinois, Jones' Creek Post Office. 
Keeps on hand a large Stock of DRY-GOODS, GROCERIES, HARD- 
WARE, QUFENSWARE, BOOTS AND SHOES, HATS AND CAPS, CLOTHING, 
WOODEN AND WILLOW V/ARE, All of which he sells low to cash 
or prompt time purchasers. 

B. N. Bond, Physician/ Surgeon, and Accoucher, Evansville, 
Illinois, attends to all calls for his professional services. 

-98- 



EVANSVILLE 

Evansville stands upon the eastern bank of the 
Kaskaskia river, ten miles above Kaskaskia, in township 
five, south of range eight west. At the point where the 
town is located, there is no bottom land, the hill rising 
gradually from either side of the river bank. 

A farm was made upon the locality of the town by 
Andrew White, in the year 1811. some years afterwards 
White sold the farm to Adam Henderson, who sometime after- 
wards sold it to Levi North. Mr. North established a 
ferry across the river in 1826, and "North's Ferry" soon 
became widely known, and kept the name until the growth 
of the town forbid the appellation. North sold out to 
Eli Chappell, and Chappell sold to Cadwell Evans, from 
whom the town takes its name, with the common affix of 
Americrn villages attached. 

Evans laid off the land into town lot3 in the year 
1834, and commenced selling town property, at which time 
the town consisted of Mr. Evans » dwelling house, a shop 
for repairing wagons, stocking and repairing plow's, &c, 
and the ferry. In 1837 Mr. Ivans erected a horse mill. 
The same year Paul Craddock erected a cooper shop. The 
following year Edmund Eccles and Joseph Bratney established 
a tanyard. About the same time Mr. Evans erected and 
opened a hotel. A saddlery shop was established the next 
year by Y/illiam IlcNeal. The next year, 1840, William and 
McKee O'Melvany brought to the town a stock of dry goods 
and commenced merchandizing. At this time the flourishing 
aspect of affairs induced the opinion that Evansville must 
become a place of some business importance, but under the 
heavy financial embarrassment which almost crushed out the 
energies of western prosperity about this time, there was no 
more improvement until the year 1847, when a new impetus 
wa3 given the town by Volien v/eirham, who erected a store 
house and commenced selling goods. Other acquisitions were 
made to the town as time passed along. In 1854, Jonathan 
Chestnutwood, from Ohio, came to the place and established 
a dry goods store. Goon afterwards ctme David Hartzell, 
the now business partner of Chcstnutv/ood. The same year 
Evans & Weirheim erected and put in operation a steam four- 
ing mill. In 1857 Vfunderlick erected a brewery, in which 
is brewed the celebrated "Evansville Beer." 

The growth of the place thus far has depended upon the 
improvement of the country around it,— but the successful 
navigation of the Kaskaskia river during the past season is 
giving advantages to the place which will create much im- 
provement. In addition to what has been mentioned the town 
contains two wagon manufactories; ov/o blacksmith shops; 
five cooper and one saddlery shop; two hotels; two physicians 
several carpenters and masons; one tailor; a good school 
house in which a permanent school is kept by James a. J. 
Martin. Ferry kept by James Walsh. 

.,-99- 



The Methodist denomination have two church organiza- 
tions — English and German — both organized in 1858, Taylor 
preaches for the former. Baah for the latter. Catholics 
are building a house of worship. 

EVANSVILLF DIRECTORY 

Township 5 South, Range 8 West — Evansville 



Anderson, James P. 

Borthal, Michael farmer 

Bart, John, 

Blais, E. 

Braise, Henry 

Braise, Frederick, 

Bruzer, Lewis 

Brown, John 

Brown, George T. 

Brewer, Felix 

Butler, Thomas 

Bond, 3. N. , physician 



Horrel, Benedict farmer 

Horrel, Benedict, J. « 

Horrel, Cornelius 

Horrel, John M . 

Horrel, Francis F. 

Horrel, Thomas. L. 

Hull, James 

Har stead, John 

Hartzell, David, merchant 



Jeffry, C. 



farmer 



Kerston, Henry farmer. 
Knott, Killery » 
Campbell, Archibald, farmer Kucker, Frederick H. " 



Carroll, Martin » 
Clase, John W. " 
Crorgon, James » 

Chestnutwood, J. merchant 

Degner, Frederick, farmer 
Derouse, Phillip, " 
Divers, Andrew » 
Dawling, Michael " 
Douglas, G. W. " 
Doug la 3, John A., farmer & 
justice of peace 

Eccles, Edmund, grocer 
Evans, William, farmer 



Faharty, Manns, 
Flawley, Michael 
Flam, Gasper 



Gueble, John, farmer 
Giberding, Debrich, » 
Gross, Nicholas •' 

Hasemirrer, Lattis, farmer 
Hannaman, Henry farmer 
Hannibutt, Charles « 
Hannibutt, Frederick, Jr. 

farmer 
Hermiss, Phillip » 
Hindraann, Frederick " 
Ha man, Rudd '» 
Hopka, Henry » 



Kucker, William 

Martin, James A* J« 
Marlin, Fleetwood 
Mitchell, Robert 
Mudd, Henry 
Mudd, Francis 
Mudd, Charles 
Mudd,. John 
Murphy, Michael 
McCraw, John 
McCann, James 
McDermot, James 

! Harra, James 
Ohmes, Charles 

*Paulter, Joseph Sr. 
*Paulter, Joseph, jr. 
*Paulter, Paul 

Rabe, Dederick 
Ready, Edward 
Runger, Frederick 

Simpson, John C. 
Simpson, H. D. 
Simpson, Thomus A. 
Simpson, James D. 
Simpson, Thomas L. 
Smith, Lyman 
Skeudmore, A. G. 
Stiffens, Otto 



teacher 
farmer 

ii 

it 

it 

ti 

ti 

ti 

it 

ti 

ii 



-100- 
(*1 believe Paulter should be Pautler. EPL) 



Tillman, Frederick V/egner, Dedrich 
Thompson, John M. Wehrheim, John 

Welshire, C. H. 
Vinsan, John V/halen, Jonathan 

Walsh, James Young, Andrew 

Walsh, Nicholas Yum, Peter 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

Cheap Cash StoreJJ Evansville, Illinois. J. Chestnutwood, 
dealer in Staple and Fancy Dry Goods, boots and shoes, 
sugcr, coffee, tea, molasses, rice tobacco, and every 
article and variety of Goods wanted in the Evansville 
Market. All kinds of Merchantable Produce taken in ex- 
change for Goods. Call at the CHEAP CASH STORE 1 
Evansville, October 15, 1859. 

Thomison & Harmon, Steele3Vllle, 111. Dealers in Dry- 
Goods, boots and shoes, hats and caps, groceries, hardware 
and cutlery, and all other articles necessary to consti- 
tute a complete assortment of such Goods as the country de- 
mands. Our business is transacted on the mutual principle, 
and we invite our friends and the public generally to 
bring us every article of merchantable produce, and ex- 
change it for Goods. Give us a call when you visit Steeles- 
ville. 



Cheap Cash Store, J. II. Malone & Bro., Having established 
themselves in the Dry-goods & Grocery business, would re- 
spectfully solicit a share of the patronage around steeles- 
ville. In our store will at all times be/found a complete 
variety of Dry-goods, Hats, Caps, Boots, Shoes, Sugar, 
Molasses, Coffee, Tea, Pepper, Spice, fcc#, &c Our stock 
is open for inspection, and everybody is invited to call 
and see us. ^ . 



STEELESVILLE 

Steelesville, formerly named and yet called George- 
town, is situated towards the eastern boundary of the 
county, fifteen miles from Chester, on the road leading 
to Pinckneyville. The old Indian trail and road leading 
from shawneetown to Kaskaskia passed over the ground on 
which the town is made, and for* many ydai's before there 
was any prospect of a town, it was the principal thorough- 
fare of travel for the Southern District of Illinois, Emi- 
grants, from beyond the Ohio, crossed the river at Shawnee- 
town, and came thi3 route to Kaskaskia. 

George Steele, the original proprietor of steelesville, 
located upon the land where the town stands, in 1810, and 
made a small farm. The most important event in the early 
history of this, place was the erection of a Fort or "Block 
House," in the year 1812, in which the neighboring settlers 
took refuge from the Kickapoo Indians, whose hostilities 
towards the Americans had been excited by the British. Dur- 
ing one whole season the people lived in this Fort, and 
never left it without their guns and arms of defense. 

The foundation of the town was laid in 1825, by the 
erection of a tread-mill by Mr. Steele. The mill machinery 
was driven by the weight of oxen treading upon an inclined 
wheel, which created sufficient power to drive and run the 
burrs. The mill created the necessity for a store. This 
necessity was supplied two years afterwards by Col. Gabriel 
Jones, who opened the first stock of goods ever brought to 
Georgetown. In the same year-1827-a post office was estab- 
lished, and Col. Jones appointed Postmaster. The post office 
was named 'Steele's Mills," find it still retains the origi- 
nal name, though the tovn was first called Georgetown, and 
afterwards, by Act of the Legislature, changed to Steeles- 
ville. 

V/ith a mill, a store, a post office, a hotel, and a 
blacksmith shop, as a basis to start upon, the enterprising 
proprietor proceeded in 1832, to have his land surveyed 
into town lots, which he offered for sale at public auction. 
Among the purchasers at this first sale of lots, were Capt. 
Rogers, Col. Jones, Dr. Jones, Robert Jones, and Tanner 
Briggs. From this time the town commenced growing, and its 
progress has been slow and gradual — additions being made Just 
as fast as the advancing country around increased the de- 
mands of trade. 

In 1838-9, Mr. Steele erected * brick residence, the 
first brick building in the place, which was an ornament to 
the town. It is now owned and occupied by Harry Jenkins as 
a hotel. 

In the year 1842, the old mill becoming worn and unsteady 
from the dilapidation of age, Mr. Steele built another one, 

-102- 



near where the first one stood, upon the same plan but much 
lareger. It did excellent service for several years, but 
its din and noise are heard no more— only the wreck of it 
remaining. 

The first church of Georgetown wan organized in 1834, 
by Rev. Eli Short. The congregation continued to worship 
regularly for some years, but finally the members becoming 
scattered, the organization was abandoned, Another church 
was organized in 1838, by Rev. J. B. Alcoct, a Baptist 
minister, and this may be called the first Baptist church 
of Stcelesville. A school house, standing c little to the 

eastward of town, was used for church purposes by the con- 
gregation until 1848, when a new building was erected in the 
western part of town. 

In 1854, this congregation divided upon some question 
of difference, and the dissenting portion erected a new 
church building, and have become a distinct organization. 
Rev. H. S. Gordon supplies the pulpit of the new church, and 
Rev. H. S. Deppe that of the old one. 

The Methodists have an organization, (the date of whose 
commencement has been lost) and preaching occassionally by 
Rev. Mr. .ray. 

The Presbyterian Church was organized about eight 
months ago, uy Rev, B. H. Charles, of Chester. The congrega- 
tion occupies the old Baptist Church, and Rev. A. A. Morri- 
son fills the pulpit. 

Stcelesville has one school house, in which a school is 
kept regularly. It is a good, substantial frame building, and 
stands a little to the northward of town. A new flouring 
mill has just been put in operation, with a capacity of grind- 
ing one hundred and fifty barrels of flour per day. They 
have~a good steam saw mill; four dry goods stores; one wagon 
shop; two cabinet shops; one boot and shoe shop; one cooper 
shop; one blacksmith shop; one tailor shop; one hotel, and 
two physicians. 



-103- 



STEBLESVILLE DIRECTORY 



Township 6 south, Range 5 west— Steelesville 



Adams, Tilford 
Arnold, Elias, farmer 

Badgley, David, S., farmer 
Berner, John II. , miller 
Berner, Joseph W. " 
Berner, Frederick, farmer 
Barrand, Robert 
Benson, Christopher 
Beggeman, Henry Sr. 
Beggeman, Henry Jr. 
Beggeman, August 
Black, George F ., physician 
Blair, James H., farmer 
Blair, Robert H. " 
Bowerman, Michael, farmer 
Brown, Joseph » 
Brown, David « 
Brown, Isene B., merchant 
Brown, Preston " 
Brown, William H., farmer 
Brown, Samuel N. blacksmith 
Brown, James T. farmer 
Brown, Alfred A. 
Brown, William 
Brown, Michael 
Blashear, William W. 
Blackelsby, Thomas 
Busher, Henry 



Campbell, William F. " 
Castellow, Alfred " 
Castellow, John T. black- 
smith 
Cross, Francis, farmer 

Deppe, H. S. Rev. farmer 
Dennis, Charle3 J. « 
Dennis, James « 
Deppe, Augustus » 
Dogget, Rev. farmer & 

teacher 
Duncan, Jacob, farmer 

Ebers, Frederick, farmer 
Edwards, Thomas B. P 

Forsee, Napoleon, farmer 
For see, Richard » 



Glapford, Reuben, 
Gordon, George 
Gordon, H. S. Rev. 
Green, Carter 

Guynion, Thomas 



farmer 



Inglaes, B. F. carpenter 

jernigan, W. R., farmer & brick 

maker 
Jenkins, R. H. Hotel keeper 

Kampen, Charles, farmer 
Korn, Abraham »' 
Korn, Flijah " 
Korn, Jacob » 
Korn, John " 

Kane, James » 

Kendall, Fdwtrd, wagon maker 

Lehnhoff, Lewis, farmer 
Lehnburg, Christopher, farmer 
Lively, Lewis, farmer 
Lively, Shadnck, farmer 
Lickess, p:-b^rt, merchant 
Lickess, John farmer 
Lofton, 1-li farmer & school 

commissioner 
Luhf singer, Henry, shoemaker 

Malone, John B. , farmer 
Malone, James M. , merchant 
Malone, J. A. " 
Mathews, John Rev. 
Ma this, Leonard, farmer 
Mathls, John " 
Marion, J. 

Martin, William C. , farmer 
Hossburg, Frederick, » 
Misselhorn, William « 
Minter, Jacob " 
Morgan, J. F . " 
Morgan, G. S. , physician 
Morris, jtmes, cabinet maker 
Morrison, John, farmer 
Morrison, Robert, farmer 
Monteith, John A., farmer 
Myerhoff, Henry farmer 



-104. 



Pahlman, Henry, carpenter 
Parker, Senaca, merchant 

miller 
Perily, Henry, farmer 

Robison, William, farmer 
Robison, Cyrus, cooper 

Robison, Daniel, farmer 
Rossindall, Frederick, farmer 
Ruhrede, Frederick farmer 
Russell, Leonard farmer 
Ruizede, Henry farmer 
Rihnheart, August, cooper 

Shafer, Daniel H., brickmaker 
Short, John T. , farmer 
Short, John E. farmer 
Short, Thomas E. farmer 
Short, Richard J. « 
Smith, Lev/is M . " 
Sower by, A. G. carpenter & 

cabinet maker 
Soaper, Robert, farmer 
Stevens, William H. , farmer 
Stillwaugh, Jacob » 
Stillwaugh, Albert » 
Stoker, James M « ,f 
Steele, Albert " 
Steele, Rilen » 
Steele, Thomas " 
Steele, James » 
Steele, John Sr., " 
Steele, James, C . " 
Steele, Harvey « 
Steele, Jasper " 
Steele, Elvis ti 
Steele, Thomas » 
Steele, M. E. " 
Steele, Carroll " 
Schewsberry, George W. cooper 
Staley, Jacob, farmer 

Tatum, William B., farmer 
Tate, William " 

Thomson, George merchant 

Thomas, John W. farmer 

Uhles, James H. , farmer 

Vaughan, James farmer 
Wilden, B. farmer 
Wcatte, Henry, f armor 

Whitford, S. C. 
Young, Ephraim J. Blacksmith 



Twp 6 S - R. 6 W-Harmon 
settlement 

Arnold, Elias, farmer 
Addler, William « 
Adair, William farmer & 

teacher 
Albert, John, farmer 

Beggamann, Augustus, farmer 

Baird, A. P. " 

Barnet, Martin B. » 

Bean, James J. " 

Bean, Davie » 

Bean, Benj-^in « 

Bean, Will: am » 

Bo swell, Timothy " 

Burrows, Ezekiel " 



Campbell, Edward 
Campbell, John 
Caudle, John 
Caudle, Sampson 
Caudle, Richard 
Carstatter, David 
Carter, Julian, teacher 
#Cieckneyer, John farmer 
Coiman, R. E. " 

Clawscn, vvederick " 

Detmoie ; ^"ederick, farmer 
Dagener , Jenry " 
Dillard, William » 



Dillard, John A. 


it 


Ditty, Amos' 


ii 


Deunsing, F. Sr.,Rev. 


tt 


Deunsing, F. Jr. 


it 


Dresemyer, Henry 


ti 


Delany, A. 


ii 


Delany, John A. 


n 


Dunsing, F. M. 


ii 


L'bers, William 


11 


Elsey, William 


ii 


Elliot, Joseph 


ii 


Fxum, William 


ii 


Exum, Crawford 


ii 


Exum, John 


ii 


Ewbanks, John F. 


ti 


Fanslow, Frederick, 


it 


Ficne, Henry, 


ti 


Flanagan, Michael 


ti 


Fleming, James 


ii 


Fleming, John 


tt 



--105- 
* This name is now commonly spelled Sickmeyer in the county. FPL 



Poster, John farmer 

Fleming, William, farmer 

Gant, John H. , farmer 

Gramels, Henry farmer 
Glenn, Amos H. " 
Gant, Thomas w 



Hackmaster, Henry 

Hanna, James H. 

Harmon, John C. 

Harmon, John Jr. 

Harmon, William " 

Harmon, Phillip « 

Harmon, George Sr. » 

Harmon, George, Jr. « 

Harmon, Abraham Sr. » 

Harmon, Abraham Jr. " 

Harmon, Michael " 

Harmon, James Jr. » 

Harmon, Jacob » 

Harmon, George T. " 

Harris, John « 

Harris, Samuel « 

Harris, Eli » 

Hartman, John H. » 

Hathorn, James » 

Hathaway, Milton " 

Hathaway, James " 

Heard, William » 

Hesemeyer, Frederick" 

Heitmann, Harmanj. " 

Henderlighter,W.J.O." 

Hagranee, Frederick « 

Hoppe, Frederick « 

Hughes, Felix " 

Hartley, Daniel » 

Heitman, Detrick « 

Jay, C. F. R ev., farmer 
Johnson, Peter « 
Jorgens, Detrick « 

Karstens, Frederick 
Karstens, Lewis 
Keller, John P. carpenter 
Knope, Frederick, farmer 
Knope, George » 
Knope, Henry « 
Kern, Phillip « 
Kakle, Henry, farmer & 
blacksmith 

Lohrding, Henry, farmer 
Lively, Reuben » 
Lawrence, Job » 



Lawrence, Charles, farmer 
Lawrence, Joseph, school 

teacher 
Lacy, John, farmer 
Lehnherr, isatc, merchant 
Lendweill, H., farmer 
Lively, Edward, cooper 
Lively, Joseph, farmer 

Maxwell, James, farmer 
Maxwell, William « 
Marlin, John ;<U cooper 
Marlin, Tfcj'i-as farmer 
Marlin, William, jr. farmer 
Malone, v/illiam D. farmer & 

blacksmith 
Mahan, A. J., farmer 
Mahan, John, » 
Mahan, David » 
Monis, William « 
Miller, Frederick, farmer 
Miller, Augustus " 
Moore, Levi. 



Moore, Levi. 
Moore, William 
Moore, James H. 
Moore, Joseph S. 
Morrow, Jam? 3 Sr. 
Meyers, Lewis 
Meyers, Her - 



Meyers, George 
Meyers, Jr-Ln H. 
Meyers, John 
Meyers, Valentine » 
McCan, James B. « 
McDonald, Marshall, 1 
McDonald, W. W. " 
McDonald, John T. 
McFarlin, Andrew 
Mckee, Samuel 
McLaughlin, Robert 
McMannis, William •• 
McMannis, Joseph « 
McNulty, Joseph M •" 
McNabney, James « 
McNabney, Robert 

Neff, George, 
Neerae'yer, August 



r 

farmer 



Oliver, Adam, 

PeEket, William 

Reimer, Peter, 
Rinkle, Henry 
Rotrock, D. S. 
Runger, jergins 



aoe- 



Ray, M. R., farmer 

Simmons, David M • farmer 
Shack, Peter " 
Shernback, Henry f! 
Sonnenberg, William » 
Sternback, Lewis " 
Sternback, Henry » 
Sternback, Frederick" 
Sternback, William " 
*- Snaker, Henry " 
Snider, William " 

TaggarG, John Sr. " 
Taggart, John Jr. " 
Taggart, John L. M 
Taggart, David » 
Taggart, Amos, Sr. " 
Taggart, Amos, Jr. " 
Thils, Frederick, blacksmith 
Teitza, Frederick.,farmer 



Vinyard, William, tollgate 
keeper 

Welshans, Lev/is, farmer 
Westerman, Henry " 
Were, Charles »» 
Wilson, James C. » 
Wilson, Hugh M. » 
Wilson, Alexander M. M 
Were, John, farmer 
Were, Frederick, farmer 
Weiding, Her y " 
Wheitbush, franiy " 
Wilson, joim » 



w # # # 

ADVERTISEMENTS 

Dan'l Reiiy. E. A. Reily, Henry Reily. D&n.n. Reily & Sons, 
Ka^£%$^1ua Mills, north of the Town of Kaskaskia, and East 
of Kaskaskia River, buy wheat, corn, and country produce 
generally; and keep on hand, and sell at *ir.iform and low 
prices, a full assortment of St* pie Dry Goods, Groceries, 
Men's and Boy's Clothing, Boots and Shoes, hats and caps, 
harness, furniture, queensware, tinware, and stoves, dye- 
stuffs, paints, and patent medicines, straw cutters, plows, 
laths, shingles, dressed yellow pine flooring, and assorted 
White Pine Lumber; and in fact, every article that the most 
prompt attention to the wants of a growing neighborhood 
suggests.. Have also on hand, and will sell at an extremely 
low price, the second-hand, single-flue Boilers and Engine. 
Also, one of Clark's Flouring Mills, complete. A rare 
chance for getting a cheap Mill. 

# # # # & 



Kaskaskia Store, George W. Staley, merchant & shipper, 
Kaskaskia, 111., announces to the public that he has on hand 
a complete assortment of Dry-Goods, which will be found to 
embrace every article the market demands. The ladies are 
requested to c all and examine hi;: Fine and Fancy Dress 
Silks, which they will find particularly attractive. A full 
supply of Boots and Shoes, Hats end C aps, Groceries, 
Coffee, Sugar, M olasses, Tar, Tobacco, and every article 
neceesary to the wants of the -country, always on hand. 
G. W. STALEY, Kaskaskia, Oct. 15, 1859. 



RANDOLPH 

About the year 1842, Mr. Capman, late of Randolph 
County, laid off and attempted to fan the breath of life 
into a place on the old Sparta road, seven miles from 
Chester. But the sequel shows the progress was slow. 
In 1855 there was nothing to be seen of the town except 
the small grocery establishment of John wood, and a few 
farm houses in the vicinity. The Germans, however, in 
the meantime, had settled the surrounding country, which 
they were cultivating with a great deal of industry and 
prudence. In 1856, Mr. Isaac Lehiiherr went to Randolph 
and erected a building in which he placed a stock of goods, 
and at once commenced doing a brisk business. A post of- 
fice was established the ensuing winter, which was called 
Bremen. 

Mr. Buckman has since opened a store, and several 
workshops are in operation in the vicinity. 

About the year 1840, the Lutheran Germans built a 
church near Randolph, where regular service has been held 
ever since. This church was organized by Rev. Mr. Dunsing, 
who still continues tc preach for the congregation. Another, 
Lutheran church was organized in 1849, by Rev. M. Eirich, 
of Chester. There are now about sixty families belonging 
to the congregation of this church. Rev. Mr. Tegtmeyer is 
the minister. 

Advertisements 

Old Stone Store, oldest established house in Chester; the 
proprietors of the "Old Stone Store" would call the atten- 
tion of the public to their immense stock of Dry-Goods, 
clothing, superior kerseys, boots and shoes, hats and caps, 
which they offer for sale at extremely low prices. Their 
glass and queensware is of a superior kind, and offered for 
sale at very low rates. A heavy stock of iron, nails, spades, 
shovels, forks, plows, &C, always on hand. 

J. H. & G. 3. JONES 
* -m* # * # 

F. Buckman has in Store a large and carefully selected Stock 
of Fancy & Staple dry-goods, designed for the Chester Market, 
and offered on such terms as must please the purchaser. 
His Stock of boots & shoes is large and varied, and of the 
best quality and latest styles, particular attention is in- 
vited to his Stock of hats & caps, which will be found of 
the latest styles and best material. Clothing, of material 
purchased and made by experienced workmen, always on hand. 
Orders filled on short notice, Catawba grape vines, and 
native wine for sale. 

-108- 



COULTERVILLE 



Coulterville is situated in Grand Cote prairie, some 
eight miles northeast of Sparta. The beautiful region which 
the town now occupies was in a state of nature, and afforded 
pasturage for the wild deer of the prairie until the year 
of 1822 , when James Coulter , John and Alexander MCKelvey, 
James Dickey, Samuel Boyd and James Strohan* came and lo- 
cated in the immediate vicinity. 

Under the management of these industrious and enter- 
prising farmers, Grand Cote Prairie began a rapid change 
from a forest of waving prairie grass to a prosperous rural 
settlement. These improvements continued until nearly the 
whole of this fertile region has been subdued and made to 
teem with the productions of civilization. 

In 1850, James Coulter had a portion of his land sur- 
veyed into town lots, which he offered for sale. The beauti- 
ful locality of the proposed town, and the fertility of the 
surrounding country soon attracted attention. Two years 
afterwards, the place commenced improving. In 1852-3, two 
churches were erected, and Henry Taylor commenced the mer- 
cantile business by opening a dry-goods store. 

The place contains at the present time, two churches; 
two stores; one wagon shop; three blacksmith shops; one 
merchant mill; one saw mill; one shoe shop; one drug store; 
three carpenter shops; one tin shop; one saddlery; two hotels; 
one brick yard; one brick school house, and two physicians. 

It is a remarkably healthy place. During the last five 
years but one death has occurred within a mile and a half of 
the placet 

COULTERVILLE DIRECTORY 



Township 4 South, Range 5 Y/est— Coulterville 



Addison, William, capitalist 
Anderson, John, Sr., farmer 
Anderson, John, Jr. " 
Atkin, John » 

Anderson, James W* " 
Alston, Andrew " 
Alexander, Y/illiam R. » 
Alexander, W. S. " 



Baird, Alexander, 
Becket, Garvin 
Beatte, Jacob B. 
Beatte, R. S. 
Boyd, Samuel L. 
Brown, Robert, Sr. 
Burns, John S. 
Burns, Stewart 
Burns, Archibald 

-109- 
*(Strohan, also spelled Strachan 



Cathcart, Joseph, 
Cathcart, Robert 
Campbell, D. C. 
Carmichael, John 
Campbell, Alexander 
Coulter, John w'. 
Coulter, James Sr. 
Coulter, jcmes jr. 
Craig, William 
Craig, James 
Crawford, Henry 
Cr-wford, William B. 
Crawford, James 
Crawford, Benj. C. 
Crawford, Bryce 
Curtis, William H. 
Curtis, S. G. 
Cunningham, wm. 

and strahan. EPL) 



farmer 
tt 

teacher 
farmer 

M 

it 
it 
n 
n 
it 
ii 
ii 
ii 
ii 
t; 
it 
ft 
it 



Cuthbertson, Robert, farmer 

Dickey, J. L., merchant 
Dickey, W. J., farmer 
Dickey, Alexander, farmer 
Dickey, John A. " 
Jamison, Samuel W. , merchant 
Dickson, J* J., farmer 
Duckworth, James, farmer 
Dunlap, Robert, » 

East, James, " 
Easdale, Hugh » 
Edmiston, William Sr.» 
Edmiston, V/illiam, Jr." 
Edmiston, A. G. " 
Edmiston, Rufus » 
Edmiston, James A. » 
Elliotte, R. B. " 

Finly, John, » 
Foster, David A, » 



Gault, R.H. 
Gault, James C • 
Garver, Daniel 
Garvin, George 
Goring, Peter 
Gordon, Nathaniel 



Haw ley, Samuel, « 

Hays, Isaac H. " 

Hair, John B. " 

Herrick, John « 

Hood, James « 

Hood, William » 
Hughes, John, shoemaker 

Jamison, Joseph, » 

James, Robert « 

Keys, Robert » 
Kirkpa trick, John S. « 

Kerr, John, ti 

Kean> Christopher » 

Kennedy, Hugh » 

King, Alexander " 

Lemmon, Isaiah S. « 

Little, Samuel, 11 

Lynn, Charles E. » 

Matthews, R # 11 

Matthews, W. J. n 

Miller, John G. » 

Moore, Thos # C. . " 

Moore, William B. " 



Moore, Alexander, sr. 


, farmer 


Moore, Alexander, jr. 


it 


Morton, Andrew 


» 


Muir, Robert 


n 


Murphy, John 


it 


Murphy, T. G. 


11 


Munford, David 


ii 


Munford, William 


" 


McDill, James 


11 


McDill, Thomas 


it 


McDill, John 


ti 


McMillan, Matthew 


w 


McMillan, S.W. 


n 


McMillan, Randell 


ii 


McMurray, James 


ti 


Mclntyre, Daniel 


" 


McLaughlin, John 


ti 


McKelvey, James W« 


ii 


McKelvey, Charles 


» 


McKelvey, A. 


SI 


McKelvey, Robt« B. 


ii 


McKelvey, T. E. 


» 


McKelvey, J, C. 


« 


McKelvey, samil w. 


tt 


McRill, 0. G. 


:i 


McNeill, John, blacksmith 



Pinkerton, John, farmer 
Pinker ton, Luther " 
Pinkerton, Benjamin, student 
Pinkerton, James H. 



Robertson, Robert, 
Robertson, William 
Rice , H.H. Dr. 
Robison, John, 
Russell, Alexander 



farmer 
it 

farmer 



Selfridge, John « 
Sinclair, John " 

Sloan, John J. , blacksmith 
Lniith, Robert, farae: 
Smith, A. " 

Smith, Moore »» 

Sproule, James, wagonmaker 
Strahan, Blair, farmer 
Stephenson, Robert, farmer 

Taylor, Henry, farmer 
Taylor, W, B., blacksmith 
Thompson,' J. s., merchant 
Thompson, W. L. , farmer 
Thompson, A. U* farmer 
Thompson, John M» , cooper 

watters, Charles, farmer 
v/hltaker, w. B. , wagonmaker 



110. 



White, William, former 
Wilson, James, Sr. '' 
Wilson, Peter C» « 
Wilson, David « 
Wisely, James M. » 
Woods ide, Samuel Sr, y* 



V/oodside, Samuel, Jr. farmer 
Wood side, James " 
V/oodside, John J, " 
Wright, John " 

Wyley, James « 

Wyley, John " 



****** 

ADVERTISEMENTS . 

Herman C. Cole— Abner B. Cole, H. C. Cole & Co., Cole's 
Mill, Chester, 111. manufacture Hf.G., Ne Plus Ultra, 
Cole's Mills, & Orange Flour. Sell all kinds of Dry-goods, 
Groceries, Hardware, Iron, Nails, Glass, and all descriptions 
of Lumber, Lath, Shingles. Also, all kinds of Agricultural 
Implements. Make cash advances on produce For shipment 
South or Fast. Sell Sight Exchange on New Orleans and St. 
Louis. Pay cash for all kinds of Farm Produce, 

* * * * * 

Clothing of Every Variety and Quality, of the most desirable 
styles, and Superior Work, Received from Superior workmen; 
at Henry Shutz's City Clothing Store, Front street, opposite 
City Mills, Chester, Illinois. A full supply of Boots, 
Shoes, Hats, Caps, &C. And every description of Gentlemen's 
Furnishing Goods, Jewelry, &C. HENRY SHUTZ. 

* * * * * 

CHESTFR & ST. LOUIS Regular Tri-woekly Packet. The fast 
and commodious steamer,"WILLIAM GARVIN" Will continue to 
ply as a regular passenger and freight Packet between the 
above named Ports, leaving Chester every Wednesday, Friday, 
and Sunday mornings, at 7 o'clock; and leaving St. Louis 
every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday evenings, at 4 o'clock, 
ALFX. ZEIGLER, Master. Joe S. Keith, jas. Winburn, Clerks 

****** 

WILLIAM SANNFMANN k BRO. Y'ould announce to the citizens of 
Chester, and vicinity, that they have just opened a large 
Stock of Family Groceries in their new building, at the 
angle of the Plank Road, Chester, Illinois. They have also 
in Store a variety of Dry-goods, to which they invite espv^iel 
attention. Their stock of Boots and Shoes will be found of 
the best quality. They have also an extensive variety of 
hats and caps. They invite a call from every person, feel- 
ing confident that they will be able to please, 

***** 



GAHRS & WHITAXER, manufacturers and wholesale and retail 
dealers in all kinds of vfurniture, Chester, Illinois, 

***** 

- Ill- 



FLORENCE 



This place is situated in Township 6 south, of Range 
7 west, some three miles northeast of Kaskaskia, and about 
two miles from the Kaskaskia river. It has an elevated 
situation, and surrounded by springs of pure water. The 
region in which this village is situated has many natural 
advantages. It has a heavy growth of excellent timber, and 
a fertile soil, adapted to the cultivation of all the vege- 
tables, grains, grasses and fruits peculiar to southern 
Illinois, The Kaskaskia river which is now navigated by 
small steamers during the greater portion of the year, 
serves as a highway for the transportation of its surplus 
produce. 

In 1852, George Ellis purchased a portion of the old 
Hunt farm, erected a house and opened a store, A post of- 
fice was also established, and Mr. Fllis appointed Postmaster, 
During the same year, a Union Meeting House was erected, 
and a school house having been previously built, the place 
began to assume the air of a village. Mr, Ellis now had 
his land surveyed into town lots, and the place was called 
"Ellis Grove". 

In 1855, the Baptists erected a large meeting house. 
This church is well attended, and the society is in a flour - 
ishing condition. Rev. W. R. McClure is the present pastor. 

Mr. Ellis» Store being destroyed by fire, in 1857, he 
sold his property in the place and removed to urbana. Mr, 
William Crawford now removed to the place and took charge of 
the post office, and opened a small stock of goods. A shoe 
shop was soon after established, a cooper shop has since 
been built, and Messrs. Buckman & Peters are erecting a stor^ 
house in which they intend to open a dry good store during 
the coming fall. In all probability a brisk trade will be 
conducted in Florence at no distant day. 

Township 6 South, Range 8 west— Florence 



Andrews, Charles, farmer 



Brown, Peter, 
Besson, Joseph 
Bansen, Clark 
Brewer, John W. 
Burkhardt, John 
Brown, Pias, 
Boyle, Wm. 



ii 

ii 

ii 

it 
cooper 
farmer 



Cecil, F. S. farmer 
Cecil, Piers R. D, , » 
Chenoux, Mitchell, (Che-nu) 

farmer 
Chenoux, Joseph, farmer 

-112- 



Davis, John 
Deninger, George 
Derouse, Charles 
Derouse, Louis C . 
Derouse, Pierre R. 
Derouse, josej>h J, 
Derouse, Francis J, 



farmer 
ii 



Fisher, James G. " 
Fisher, Archibald « 
Fisher, Henry « 

Gradie, Amos 

Glain, Elizabeth 

Gentry, jas. C., wagonmaker 

Gerner, Andrew, farmer & cooper 



Hamilton, Bridget W. farmer 

Heckmann F. Gabriel, carpenter 

Heckmann, Phillip, farmer 
Heckmann, Matthew, « 
Hargus, Jos. H. » 
Hargus, Hamilton « 

Jones, Armestead, " 
James Griffith » 



Kaler, George, 

Mudd, Felix, 
McGuire, V/illiam 



Pavard, Etienne 
Penney, Joseph, 
Phigley, William 

Roberts, S. V. 
Roots, George 

Snider, Phillip, 

Thomson, L. R. 
Tilman, Charles 

Will, Joseph, 
Will, Daniel 



farmer 



Opperman, Grispard, farmer 



* * * * -:<'- * 



Advertisements 



Arazi Andrews — John L. Fdwards, Andrews & Fdwards, dealers 
in every variety of Drugs, Medicines, Paints, Oils, Varnijhes 
Dye-stuffs, Window Glass, Spirit gas, Alcohol, Turpentina, 
Books and stationery, Jewelry, Perfumery, Notions, &C. 
Chester, 111. 



****** 



Thomas G. Allen, Attorney and Counselor. Will practice law 
in the Circuits comprising Randolph and adjoining counties. 
Also, in the Supreme Court of the state, and in the United 
States District and Circuit Courts. Residence and Office. 
Chester, Illinois. 



* -M- » * # fl- 



ames C. Holbrook, Attorney and Counselor at Law, and 
Notary Public, Chester, Illinois, office in the court house. 
Will practice in Randolph and adjoining counties, and Supreme 
Court in Illinois, and United States Courts, &c. 



****** 



Thomas S. Morrison, attorney and counselor at law; office 01 
Sparta Street, Chester, Randolph County, Illinois, 



****** 



Harvey Nevell, attorney at law, Chester, 111. Residence in 
Chester. 



*113- 



LAFAYETTE 

Is situated on the left bank of the Kaskaskia river, 
about ten miles above Evansville. It was laid off at quite 
an early day, although there was not much business done 
there in consequence of its isolation, until a recent day, 
when the successful navigation of the stream on which it 
stands, linking it in the chain of communication with other 
places, rendered it an important shipping point. 

Large quantities of grain are shipped from this place 
and conveyed to the Mississippi river, there to be trans- 
ported to different markets; and a large share of the flour 
manufactured at Red Bud is shipped from this point. 

Also, a considerable is done here in the lumber business 
and something in the dry goods line; a store of this des- 
cription and a saw mill being in operation. 



* # * * * * 

Advertisements 

Raymond Wheerly, dealer in Clocks, watches, jewelry, specta- 
cles, Gold Pens, etc. watches and clocks repaired at short 
notice, and warranted. Shop in Chester, on the Hill, near th< 
Court House. 

****** 

D. Block & Bro., Wholesale & Retail Grocers; dealers in 
foreign and domestic liquors. Chester, Illinois 

* * * * * * 

C. Was sell, merchant tailor, and dealer in Gentlemen* s 
furnishing goods. No. 2 Swanwick's Row. Chester, Illinois. 

****** 

Wholesale and Retail Store. I offer for sale, at my two 
places of business, near the Court House, in Chester, a good,, 
new, and well assorted stock of Goods, consisting in part of 
Men's Boots and Shoes; Ladies', Misses', and Children's bootj. 
Shoes, and Gaiters; family Groceries; Hardware, Queensware, 
Nails, Cedarware, Stoneware, Tobacco, Notions. Toys. 

Also, a large assortment of Baskets, from a very fine 
article to the strong feed basket. Whisky by the barrel and 
half barrel, together with other articles too tedious to men- 
tion. Goods will be exchanged for merchantable produce, and 
the best prices paid, by A. PHILIPP, Chester, Sept. 17, 1853 



-114- 



P £ E S T N 

James Patterson settled upon the town site of preston 
in 1804, and opened a farm. In 1816, washing ton sterrit 
bought the farm, and lived upon it until 1820, when he sold 
it to John Rankin, who shortly afterwards sold to James 
Pollock. lAr. Pollock r»stablished a tan yard in 1825, and 
for several years carried on an extensive business in that 
line. Samuel B. Strenky opened a store in 1833, Two years 
afterwards, Pollock & Bratney opened a store — the second one 
in the place. In 1836, James Pollock laid off his land into 
town lots, from which the town may date its existence. 

It has always been an unobtrusive, quiet town, furnish- 
ing such acccomraodations as the surrounding country demanded. 
It has usually consisted of a church, store, post office, 
blacksmith shop, hotel, and a physician. 

Its history consists chiefly in the church. Rev. s. 
Brown, of Kentucky, visited the Irish Settlement about the 
year 1810, and organized the congregation, some time after- 
wards, Rev. S. Crothers visited the congregation and 
preached a short time. But the church could claim no more 
than a nominal existence until the year 1818, when Rev. 
Samuel \vylJe wcs regularly installed pastor of the church. 
When his services were secured a church building was erected, 
probably the first Protestant church in Illinois. It was 
built of logs, in the usual style of all houses in those 
days. The house was erected and finished for use in two 
days. Rev. Samuel Wylie was succi ded in the ministerial 
charge of this congregation, and continued in that station 
until 1829. In 18?i, a ev. S^ C Baldridge succeeded to the 
charge, and remained five years. He was succeeded by Rev. 
Jamee McAuley, in 1840, the congregation having been without 
a pastor during an interval of four years. The large church 
edifice was erected in 1842. Rev. M. .M. Brown became pastor 
of the church in 1849, end remained until 1854. The year 
following Rev. James W. Glenn cook charge of the congrega- 
tion, and he is yet the pastor. 

This is the mother of Associate Reformed Churches in 
Illinois. 

Union Church, located three miles south of Sparta, 
was a branch of the Preston Church. Rev. John Reynolds and 
Alexander Porter, from 1826, occasionally preached in c 
school house in the neighborhood. Rev. s. C. Baldridge was 
chosen pastor in 1830, and organized the church. The year 
after, the brick church* now standing, was erected. Arthur 
Parks, Maxwell McCormack, and William McKee, were the firsfc 
Ruling Flders. In later years this chirch has been supply 
with preaching by the minister of the spcrta church. 

-115- 



TOWNSHIP 5 SOUTH. RANGE 7 WFST-- PRESTON 



Anderson, James W. farmer 
Ahuhizer, John, farmer 
Alexander, John, " 

Barnett, Corydon, M 
Beatte, Robert T. " 
Berthall, Daniel » 
Been, James A,, surveyor 
Been, Ev M. , farmer 
Beatte, Charles, « 
Blam, John » 
Bratney, J, B., merchant & 
justice of the peace 
Bratney, R. N. farmer 
Bratney, J, C. teacher 

Carr, Abner, farmer 
Campbell, James C 
Campbell, James 
Campbe 11 , John C . 
Canck, James B. 
Cochran, M. E., 
Crozi.er, A. H. 

Dashner, Peter 
Detinhifer, Henry 
Douglas, John 
Douglas, S. B., 

Fayett, Francis, » 

Greer, Hemp A., » 
Glenn, James v., Rev, 
Glasgow, John, farmer 
Greer, Jefferson, » 
Gray, William, » 
Gray, James » 
Gucher, 'Frederick, « 
Glessner, Lawrence " 



Hacket, George W. 
Haynes, v/illiam L, 
Homrail, Jacob 
Hommil, Nicholas 
Henderson, M. M. 
Hinchback, Godfrey 
Hill, Samuel 
Hogg, Archibald 
Haly, William 

Johns, Robert 



Karr, Richard, farmer 

Kemper, Christian « 

Kelly, James " 

Kinsler, Jacob " 

Kook, Philip " 

Loughart, John, . »' 

Long, Henry n 



Mann, James, 

Mann, Robert C. 

Mann, w. M. 

Mann, C. P. 

Mann, L. A. 

Mann, R. H. 

Monn, v/illiam C, blacksmith 

Mann, R. c. farmer 

Iv,;.ller, S. B. 

Miller, josiah 

Morrow, James F. 

McAuly, D. T., Rev. 

Mccormack, George 

McCormack, A. A. 

Mccormack, James C. , 

McCocrd, William 

Mccarty, John H. 

McDonald, Thomas 

Nifong, Francis, 



Oberly, Martin 

Pollock, T. C. 
Pollock, James 
Pollock, W. W. 
Patterson, James 
Prebley, Robert 
Pritty, Jacob 

Ratliff, John 
Ratliff , John Jr. 
Ratliff, Daniel 
Ray, Adam 
Regnault, William 
Rath, Leonard 

Shappell, Nicholas, 
Shu line, John 
Smith, Theresa 
Stolle, Gustavo 
Stevenson, William 



■116- 



Spurgeon, 


Lewis farmer 


Stanly, George 


u 


Skinner, , 


John 


ti 


Thompson, 


James B. 


ii 


Thompson, 


John B. 


ii 


Thompson, 


Adam H. 


ii 


Thompson, 


William 


ii 


Thompson, 


Archibald 


C.» 


Thompson, 


John C. 


ii 


Thompson, 


John R. 


ii 


Thompson, 


James 


it 


Thompson, 


A. J* , 


ii 


Thompson, 


Robert M. 


ii 



Wunderley, Martin, farmer 
Wilson, Ed. H. 
wettenbrink, Maxwell 
Wyley, John 
Wiley, Joseph 
Wiley, oamuel 
Wright.. Isaac jr. 
Wright, jolin K. 
Williamson, J. K. 
Wright, A. C 



TOWNSHIP 4 SOUTH. RANGE 7 WK.'J— BURNFTTJ S 



Adams, Samuel B. , 


farmer 


Hill, w. M. 


farmer 


Allen, /ndrew 


n 


Hill, John 


ii 


Allen, William 


it 


Harden, Frederick 


ii 






Hay, Bartholomew 


n 


Bessen, George, 


ii 


Hoppe, Michael A. 


n 


Bilycri, Michael, 


it 


Hulcher, William 


n 


Bern, William 


ti 






Bern, James A. 


ti 


Keller, Andrew 


ii 


Black, Thome o 


ii 






Barbeck, Thomas 


it 


Lemingj Joseph E. 


ii 


Boak, Godlip, 


it 


Leraing, Thomas 


ii 


Bowers, Aaron 


ti 


Lemingj Hamilton 


ii 


Boyd, John II. 


i» 


Liddy, Timothy 


ii 


Boyd, John V. 


ii 


Laws on, David 


ii 


Boyle, Thomas 


it 


Lyons, Joseph 


ii 


Boyle, John 


ii 






Bean, Reuben 


ii 


Mabe, Larkin, 


ii 


Burghans, Edwin 


ti 


Mathews, Robert 


ti 


Burnett, Alexander 


ii 


Marvin, William 0. 


n 


Burnett, Andrew 


ii 


Marvin, Joseph M. 


ii 






Montgomery, Joseph 


ti 


Campbell, Thomas, 


H 


Mudd, William 


u 


Cox, Absalom 


II 


McKurdo, Thomas 


u 


Cox, William 


II 


Mulherrn, Luke 


ii 


Cox, Joseph M. 


If 


McAuley, James 


i» 


Cowan, James 


II 


McAuley, George W. , 


n 


Cowan, John J. 


II 


McDonald, James H* 


ti 






lie for mack, James C. 


n 


Dannuse, Lewis, 


II 






Douglas, A. T. 


II 


Nelson, William R. 


it 


Doaly, John 


II 


Nelson, George W. 


ii 






Nelson, Robert L. 


ti 


Ewing, Charles, 


II 


Nelson, John A. 


ti 


Ewing, William J. 


II 


Newel, James 


it 


Hays, George, 


II 


O'Harra, Henry, 


it 


Hents, Christian 


II 






Henderson, M. G. 


II 







117- 



TOWNSHIP 4 SOUTH. RANGE 7 WEST—BURNETT j 8 

Preston, Robert H. farmer Taylor, Charles W. farmer 

and justice of the peace Thompson, Archie, " 

Preston, David C, farmer • Thompson, A. W. « 

Preston, William B. " T'wapson, Daniel C. " 



Rhule., Frederick, 


81 


Rhule, Jared 


11 


. • . . '■••••■ ■ . • 
Scjdder* i.^aac Jr. 


ft 


Scudder,rH«~«nry- ' 


tl 


^KShanback, Ernest 


II 


Snodgrass, John M. 


fl 


Spitz, Conrad 


II 


Stockwell, John 


II 


Stively, Voluntine 


11 



T-iOiir son, James " 

Ih")upson, Robert « 

# Tet.bcrt, V/esly « 



Weidling, William 
Wilson, Absalom 
Wilson 



ADVERTISFMFNT8 

JOHN B, BRATNEY would respectfully call attention to his 
well assorted Stock of DRY-GOODS, which he proposes to 
sell on terms that will induce the people of PRESTON AND 
VICINITY to purchase of him. In his store will be found 
an assortment of BOOTS & SHOES suited especially to the 
wants of his customers. All kind.--: of GROCERIES, SUGAR, 
COFFEE, MOLASSES, TEA, MACKEREL, RICE, PEPPER, SPICES. 
TOBACCO, &C, constantly on hand. 2\ery article usually 
wanted in the community, will be found in his store. All 
kinds of Merchantable Produce wanted in exchange for goods. 
Preston, 111. 

******* 

CHESTER HOTEL. Mrs. E. T. & Mr. A. A. Anderson, Proprie- 
tors. On Front Street, one square above the wharf -boat. 
A good stable in connection with the House. McCutcheon»s 
Hacks leave this house daily for Sparta. 

** * tt * * * * 

BANK OF CHESTER. The Bank of Chester allows interest to 
Time Depositors; buys and sells Fxchange on the principal 
cities of the United States; makes Collections, and does a 
general Banking Business. C. Miltonberger, cashier. 

******* 

CHAS. J. CHILDS,M.D., Physician, surgeon, and Obstetrician* 
Office opposite the Store of J. H. & G. S. Jones. Chester, IlL 

* * * * * * * 
JAMES H. WATT, Attorney & Counselor at Law; Chester, 111. 
Office in the Court House. 



SHILOH HILL 

About the years 1851-2, Mr, Durkee began selling 
goods at Gillespie »s Prairie, which he continued until he 
was succeeded by s. P. Mace, in 1856. Mace conducted the 
business until 1858, when he discontinued, and Mr. James 
Pickett opened a store, and is now merchandizing in that 
neighborhood. In the autumn of the year 1856, there was 
a sale of lots which had been previously laid off, and 
which belonged to the eighty acre tract ceded by the Legis- 
lature of Illinois to the people of this neighborhood, for 
the purpose of establishing a College, to be entitled 
"Shiloh College", a charter for the College being given at 
the same time. 

A good school has been supported for a number of years 
at this place, although as yet they have no building fitted 
for conducting a school of high grade; yet, as the country 
is improving rapidly, and gaining strength with age, and 
the inhabitants in general being of industrious habits and 
literary turn of mind, we may safely predict that ere long 
a Seminary of high character will be in successful operation, 

The progress of the times will also demand that a town 
of more or less importance shall arise, that the people may 
dispose of their marketing, and obkrii' their purchases with- 
out the inconvenience of traveling to a distant place. 

SHILOH HILL DIRECTORY 

Township 7 South, Range 5 West — Shiloh Hill 



Barrow, Newton, farmer 
Bilderback, James F. ! ' 
Bilderback, William H » 
Broughton, Abel' 
Burke, T. C. 
Burke, J. K. 
Burke, John B. 
Burke, E. B. 
Butler, Leaman 



Caruthers, John Dr. 
Cannady, Fmanuel, 
Carson, David 
Chapman, Jeremiah 
Clark, John 
Clifford Cunningham 
Crisler, Owen P. 
Crisler, William 

Dennis, John W. 
Dennis, R. F. 



Emery, Steven, wagonmaker 
Fmery, Henry farmer 
I'mery, John » 

Imery. Robert blacksmith 
Erchelmann, Henry farmer 

Fray, Moses « 



-119- 



Gilespie, James 
Glore, jeptha 
Greer, John R. 
Greenav/ault, Joseph 
Gray, v/illiam 
Gray, jasper 
Gray, v/illiam B. 
Gwin, James 
Gwin, v/illiam C. 

Halworth, Paul 
Hagler, John 
Hartman, Henry 
Haney, Hiram 



farmer 
it 



Haney, Daniel 

Haney, Douglas 

Helmns, Henry " 

Hobbs, R. S. ,f 

Houseman. J. M. " 
Hornbustle, John H. » 

Husband, Harmon " 



Ireland, Martin, Justice 

of the Peace 
Ireland, A. T., blacksmith 

Jones, John C, farmer 
Johnson, Isaac, R. » 
Johnson, William L. » 
Johnson, John C. " 



Kelly, Thomas 
Knope, John F. 
Knope, Henry F. 



Lancaster, William, M 

Lindenberg, Clement « 

Lowery, Hugh " 

Leatterdell, Hugh » 

Mace, S. P. , merchant 
Moore, Francis , farmer 
Mardin, John S. " 
McCankey, Robert » 
McLaughlin, James Sr. farmer 
McLaughlin, James Jr. » 
McLaughlin H. H. « 
M cLaughlin.John W. " 
McNeill, Robert » 
McNeill, Harvey » 

# * # * # 



Neely, John farmer 
Neal, Thomas F. " 

Parkhill, John, •» 

Peters, F. C. " 

Pister, John » 

Pillers, Andrew J, " 

Pierson, William " 

Reed, William Vf. •» 
Rickenberg, Detrick « 



Sasse, Adolph " 
Sheldan, D. " 
Short, William A. farmer & 

carpenter 
Shaffer, John H. farmer 
Simmons, George « 
Steele, Wilson " 
Steele, Alfred 
Steele, John T. 
Steele, Andrew 
Steele, John M. 
Stone, Joseph 
Stone, John 



Thompson, Andrew 
Tudar, Thomas 

Vowel, wylie, 
Vowel, Jason 

Walder, Conrad 
Welga, Henry 



ADVERTISEMENT' . 

BOSTON STORE, Front Street, Chester, HI. MAMMOTH STOCK. 
JOSEPH BEARE, who would respectfully announce to the citizens 
of Randolph, Perry, and Jackson, that he has now on hand, 
o*>e of the largest and most complete stocks of Goods ever 
offered in Southern Illinois, consisting in part of every 
description of plain and fancy Dry-goods, Clothing, Cloths, 
Boots, Shoes, Hats, Caps, Shirts, Shawls, Mantillas, 
Delanes, Tweeds, Jeans; Black. Fancy, and Figured Silks: 
English, French, German, and American Prints; Bonnets of the 
Finest of Texture and Latest Styles; A No. 1 article of 
Coffee, Sugar, Tea & Tobacco, Salt, Hardware, Queensware, 
Stoneware, and a thousand and one other articles not enumer- 
ated, which will be disposed of cheap for cash or country 
produce. Also, a large lot of pine and cypress shingles, 
White and Yellow Pine, and Dressed Flooring. Having pur- 
chased my stock upon the "Cash System". I can afford and I 
am determined to sell, EXTREMELY LOW, FOR CASH. 

-120- 



CAMPTOWN 



On the completion of the Randolph County Plank Road 
in 1854, a toll gate was established about two miles from 
Chester. The next year Mr. G. S. Rust being appointed gate 
keeper, erected a building and commenced selling goods. 
Mr. Rust soon after purchased a fractional part of Mr. 
Smith's farm which was cut off by the plank Road, which he 
has recently laid off into lots and sold to private bidders. 

A hotel was built by Mr. G* S. Rust in the spring of 
1858. A workshop was also built by Rust & Farly for the 
purpose of manufacturing and repairing farmer's implements. 

During the past season Mr. Alexander Lockead and Mr. 
H. A. Crawford have erected for themselves neat and sub- 
stantial dwelling houses. Some other dwellings are in con- 
templation. 

# Mr # * M- * 

TOV/NSHIP TREASURERS 



David Munford, Treasurer 

John Me chan, ' •' 

Marshal w. Doggett " 

Harmon Husband « 

Samuel Clendenin '» 

William Rutherford » 

James Parks, Acting" 

Edv/ard Campbell " 

Isaac Rust " 

Samuel fc&nsker « 

Francis Boyle « 

John B. Brantney « 

Wiley Roberts « 

R. B. Servant " 

J. R. Allen »« 

H. D. Simpson » 

Charles Tilman '« 

Never was organized 

William Henry » 

The greater part of this Township 
is in Monroe County, and the Treasurer, 0. M. Matingly, 
resides in Monroe county; his post office adaress I have 
not learned. Mr. Bricky, of Prairie du Rocher, has trans 
acted business for him. 



Town. 


4 


S, 


R, 


5 W. 


ii 


5 


ii 


it 


5 '» 


it 


6 


ii 


tt 


5 « 


ti 


7 


ii 


ti 


5 « 


ti 


8 


ti 


it 


5 i' 


n 


4 


ti 


M 


6 " 


it 


5 


it 




6 », 


it 


6 


tt 


ft 


6 »• 


ii 


7 


ii 


It 


6 « 


ii 


8 


ii 


If 


6 " 


it 


4 


it 


If 


7 '« 


TI 


5 


it 




7 « 


it 


6 


it 




7 » 


h 


7 


it 




7 » 


it 


4 


it 




8 " 


it 


5 


t» 




8 » 


ii 


6 


tt 




8 « 


n 


7 


it 




8 '• 


it 


5 


ii 




9 " 


tt 


5 


it 




10 « 



•121- 



COURT DIRECTORY 



Court of Common Pleas. — Organized 1795* 



Names of judges 



John Edgar 
William Morrison 
Pierre Menard 
Robert McMahon 
George Fisher 
John Beard 



Robert Reynolds 

Nathaniel Hull 
Antoine Louvier 
John Grovenier 
James Finney 
Samuel Cochran 



This Court was superseded in 1809 by the County Court, 
composed of justices of the Peace, three of whom were nece? 
sary to constitute a quorum. 



justices' Names 



Phillip Fouke 
Henry Lev ens 
William Arundel 
Samuel 0»Melveny 
John McFerren 
Paul Harrelston 



navid Anderson 
Archibald Thompson 
John Phelps 
Alexander Wilson 
Robert Gaston 



The County Court was superceded by the 
Court of Common Pleas in 1811 



Names of judges 



John McFerren 
William Morrison 
James Finney 
David Anderson 
Phillip Fouke 



George Fisher 
Archibald Thompson 
Antoine L. Chenett 
Miles Hotchkiss 
Pierre Lacampte 



The County Commissioners! Court-- Fstablished in 1819. 



1819- 
1820- 
1822- 
1824- 
1825- 
1826- 
1827- 
1828- 
1830- 
1832- 
1634- 
1835- 
1636- 
1838- 
183 9-, 
1841- 



Names of Commissioners 

-Curtis G^5m, David Anderson, James Patterson. 
-David Anderson, James Thompson, Miles Hotchkiss 
-Gabriel Jones, Francois Menard, John Miller 
-Arthur Parks, Josiah Betts, Franklin P. Owen. 
-Arthur Parks, Josiah Betts, John C.-Crozier. 
-Arthur Parks, h. H. Fleming, Pierre R. Derouse. 
-R. H. Fleming, Pierre R. Derouse, James s. Guthrie. 
-James £. Guthrie, Thomas Roberts, Felix St. Vrain. 
•Thomas Roberts, William G. Hizer, John Thompson 
-Thomas Roberts, William G. Hizer, John G. Nelson. 
•John G. Nelson, James Gillespie, James s. Guthrie 
■John G. Nelson, James Gillespie, Robert Clark. 
■James O'Harra, Gabriel Jones, William G. Hizer. 
•William G. Hizer, Samuel Douglas, Harvey Clendenin. 
•William G. Hizer, Harvey Clendenin, Lawson Murphy. 
Harvey Clendenin, Lawson Murphy, Henry 0»Harra. 
-122- 



1842 — Harvey Clendenin, Henry CMHarra, John Mann. 
1844— John Mann, Edward Campbell, wm. McBride. 

The Record from 1844 to 1048 was destroyed by fire. 

Under the existing Constitution of Illinois, which 
went into operation in 1848, the County Court superseded 
the County Commissioners* Court. 

1849 — John Campbell, County Judge- 
Reuben Bailey, Associate justice 
John Brewer, " " 

1853 — William P. Haskin, County Judge 

James Gillespie, Associate justice 
Samuel B. Adams, " " 

1854 — A vacancy occurring in 1854 by the death of Judge 
Haskin, Richard B. Servant was elected for the re- 
mainder of the term. 

1857 — John Campbell, County Judge 

James Gillespie, Associate justice 
William Mudd, » « 

Court of Quarter Sessions 

This Court was composed of justices of the Peace, 
and held its sessions once in three months — hence the name 
of "Quarter Sessions." 



General Court 



Upon the organization of Illinois Territory, in 1809 
a higher Court, called the General Court, was established. 
The following named gentlemen appear to have acted as Judges 
of this Court, viz: 

Jesse B. Thomas William sprigg 

Obadiah Jones John Reynolds 

Alexander Stuart Daniel P. Cook 

Stanley Griswoid John warnock. 



Supreme Court 



The Supreme Court of Illinois held its first session 
in Kaskaskia, in 1819. Upon the records pertaining to 
Randolph County, the following named gentlemen appear to 
have acted as Judges, viz: 

Joseph Phillips Theophilus W. Smith 

Richard M . Young Samuel D. Lockwood 

Thomas Reynolds Thomas C. Browne 

John Reynolds 

-123- 



Circuit Court 

The Judiciary of Illinois was remodeled and reorganized 
in 1835, at which time the Circuit Court was established. 

Names of Judges 

1835 Sidney Breese 1849 w. H. Underwood 

1843 James Shields 1855 Sidney Breese 
1845 Gustavus Kocrner 1858 H.K.S. OHielveny 

Probate Court 

This Court, w£s established under the Constitution of 
1818. Curtis Ganx* was appointed Probate judge, and held 

the office ten years. He was succeeded by Hunt, who 

remained in office but a short time; and he was succeeded 
by James Thompson, who held the office seventeen years in 
succession — until the adoption of the new constitution in 
1848, since which time the County judge has been ex-officio 
Judge of the Probate Court. 

Sheriffs of Randolph County 

1801 James Edgar 1838 John Campbell 

1803 George Fisher 1648 John A. Wilson 

1805 James Gilbreath 1850 Jno. P. Thompson 

1806 Benjamin Stevens 185^ Sevenain St. Vrain 
1814 Henry Conner 1854 John Campbell 
1821 Samuel c Crlsty 10fG Sevenain St. Vrain 
1823 T.J.V. Owens lBbti Anthony steole 
1828 Ignatius Sprigg 

Clerks of the General and Circuit Courts 

V/. C. Greenup John M. Langlois 

James Hughs Charles Kane 

V/illiam Gutherie E. Leavenworth 

James Quin James M. Ralls 

Clerks of the Common Pleas and County court 

1795 Robert Morrison 1841 F. Maxwell 

1809 v-m. c. Greenup 1815 John w. Gillis 

1827 Miles A. Hotchkiss 1051 James M. Cole 

183*; Jc-mes Hughs 1853 Isaac H. Nelson 
1838 A. J. Dickison 

County Surveyors 
James Thompson James B. parks 

Samuel G. Thompson James Thompson 
Ferdinand Humphreys Joseph Noel 
Ezekiel W. Robbins 



•124- 



Members of the Randolph County Bar 



Thomas G. Allen 
Francis B. Anderson 
James C. Holbrook 
E. G. Hallowell 



John Michan 
W. P. Murphy 
Tiioi.R.3 S. Morrison 
James H. Watt 



County Officers 



John Campbell, County Judge 
James Gillespie, Associate 

Justice 
Williem Mudd, » » 
Isaac H. Nelson, Clerk County 

Court 
James M. Ralls, Clerk Circuit 
Court and Recorder 



Joseph Noel, surveyor 

James Thompson, Deputy Sur- 
veyor 

Hugh B. Nisbet, Treasurer 
and Assessor 

Eli Lofton, school Commis- 
sioner 



Kaskaskia Pr»ct 



Chester Precinct 



Liberty Precinct 



Mill Creek 



Georget»n Prcc»t 



Sparta Precinct 



Burnett's Prec»t 



Precinct Officers 

John Stype, Justice of the Peace 
Louis Derouse " tt 
Edv/ard Boocherie, Constable 
James Hunt, Constable 

Felix Hughs, Justice of the peace 
Leonard Crisler « n 
H. M . Crawford " " 

Amos Taggart, Constable 
Amos Ditty w 
John Harmon, Jr. » 

Alex. Barber, justice of the peace 
B'.. J. V'ard " h 

W. B. Jernigan, Constable 

S. P. Mace, justice of the Peace 
Martin Irelr.nd, justice of the Peace 
Isaac R. Johnson, Constable 
Flijah Stokes 

fl. G# Sov/erby, justice of the peace 
Mathias R. Ray, justice of the Peace 
Cyrus E. Robbison, Constable 
John T. Steele 

John Taylor, Justice of the Peace 
W. R. Brov/n 

Hugh C. Gault, Constable 
Andrew Wilson 

R. H. Preston, Justice of tho Peace 
J. J. Borders, « » 

William North, Constable 
James McMillan, « 



-125- 



Union Precinct John R. Adams, Justice of the Peace 

Nathaniel Smith, " «J 
John F. Outen, Constable 
Charles G. Gore * » 

Pr. du Rocher Wro. Henry, Justice of the Peace 

John Brewer, " " 

Evansville Prec't J. A. Douglas, justice of the Peace 

J, B. Bratney, » " 

John M. Thompson, Constable 
A. C. Wright, Constable 

Chester City R. B. Servant, Justice of the Peace 

Gabriel Jones » « 

Thomas H. Callaway, Constable 
John C. McQuiston, " 

■h- # ***'#*'-* 

Advertisements 

A, S. PALMER, Wholesale and Retc.il Dealer in plain and 
ornamental furniture. Bureaus, Bedsteads, Tables, Desks, 
Secretaries, Scfes, Sofas, Lounges, Mattresses, Cribs, 
Bookcases, vardrobes, Chairs, Churns, Mirrors, Clocks, and 
Trimmings. In short, every description of furniture, 
clocks ?:C, &C. Front Street, Brick Roy/, nearly opposite 
Wharf boat. Chester, Illinois, we will sell as cheap as 
any other house, In the Western Country, and v/arrant all 
that we sell. "Nuf sed," A. S. palmer. 

# -ft # ■»• * * # * # 

1859 THE BUCKEYE HOUSE, By John C. M'Quiston, Chester, 111. 
-ft -ft ■}{■ * # -:<• ■«• # # 

PLANTER'S HOUSE, Corner Front and Angle streets, Chester, 
Illinois, WILLIAM t fcBSAfflS j proprietor, stable in connec- 
tion with the house .">***, /&AsLdju 

■ft -ft -ft -ft -ft -ft -ft # -ft 

TWO. MILE HOUSE, Camp town, Illinois. The undersigned is 
prepared to accommodate customers day or night, in the most 
satisfactory manner. He intends to keep as good a house as 
can be found in the country. Horses kept by the day or week, 
on reasonable terms. G. S. RUST 



?«* 






■ft ^ ^ -ft •«■ -ft -ft # -ft 



ILLINOIS HOUSE, opposite wharf Boat, Chester, Illinois. 
Travelers will find this a convenient and pleasant stopping- 
place. Bakery in connection with this House. 
C. HORN, Proprietor. 

-126- 
* (probe bly should be Glore instead of Gore, E.P.L.) 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

The Quickest ;.nd most Relii ble, and at the same time, 
the most Efficacious and Pleasant /rticle ever Employed 
for the Hair, is PROF. 0. J. WOOD'S HAIR RESTORATIVE. 
Read and Believe. 

The "New York Day Book says: "The majority of Hair 
Fashes, Hair Dyes, Hair Tonics, Hair Oils, and the number- 
less preparations which are now before the public under 
such extravagant, hyperbolical, and fantastic titles, as we 
see paraded in show window cards end newspaper headings, as 
hair preparations, are all humbugs of the first *;ater; 
their real merit, when they possess any, is: thr-.t they do 
no harm. HOG'S LARD, WHALE OIL, LARD OIL. SWEE'l OIL, seem- 
ed and colored, make up, when in beautiful wrappers and 
white flint glass bottles, the costliest character of tonios; 
and when thus costly, are baptized with some trisyllable 
term, and caught at by verdant young and old of both sex*-.. 
Such is not the character of Professor wood's Hair Restora- 
tive. This gentleman comes before the world without any 
"high falutin' Xilophlorium, or any other astounding and 
startling catchpenny terms; he simply advertises a Hair 
Restorative — what it expresses, precisely — and as a restora- 
tive it acts. Buy Professor rood's Hair Restore tive, and as 
you value your scalp, aye, your very brains, apply nothing 
else; for it may be that you will get some worse substance 
than perfumed lard oil on your cranium. — Remember, wood's 
Restorative for the Hair is the best article extant." 
IT WILL, BY NATURE'S OWN PROCESS, RESTORE GRAY HAIR TO THE 
ORIGINAL COLOR I Will make it grow on Bald Heads; Will 
restore the Natural Secretions; will remove at once all 
itching; Will remove ail Dandruff; Will cure all eruptions — 
even Scald Head; Will make the Hair Soft and Glossy; Will 
make the old appear young again; Will preserve the Color of 
Heir to old age; Will always Fasten it and stop its Falling; 
and is one of the best Toilet /rticles for the Hair now in 
use. Manufactured by 0. J. Wood & Co., and sold Wholesale 
and Retail, at 444 Broadway, New York, and 114 Market St., 
St. Louis, Mo. Also, sold by all Druggists in the City and 
Country « SOLD IN CHESTJR BY 

E. J. HALL AND EDWARDS & ANDREWS 

■jf Jf # ■}{• # n- 

SPRING HILL ACCOMMODATION. The undersigned is making prepa- 
rations to devote his exclusive attention to the entertain- 
ment of those who favor him with fieir patronage at Spring 
Hill. HIS TABLP will always be supplied in a style that will 
render perfect' satisfaction to his guests. THE STABLE will 
be furnished with Corn, Oats, and Hay, and kept in the best 
of order o 

J. M. BAIR 

* * Mr 4t * # 

-127- 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

ttARTIN DILLON, Dealer in Italian and American Marble. 
monuments, tombstones, etc. Persons wishing to beautify 
the last resting place of their departed friends with some- 
thing neat, appropriate, and durable, can be accommodated 
on the most reasonable terms, by application at my shop, 
one door north of J. H* k G. S. Jones i Dry Goods Store, 
Front Street, Chester, 111. As none but the BEST MATERIAL 
is used, persons may rely on being furnished with the best 
of material. The workmanship will be executed in the most 
beautiful style. The public are invited to CcJ.j and ex- 
amine specimens of his work. 



*- * # # * # 



C. LOUGHRAN 



C, 



andi:rso;\ t 



LOUGHRAN & ANDERSON, Dealers in FANCY & STAPLE DRY-GCGI'S, 
BONNETS, HATS AND CAPS, HOSIERY AND NOTIONS, BOOTS AND 
SHOES, HARDWARE AND CUTLERY, GLASSWARE, AND QUFENSWARE: 
together with TEN THOUSAND OTHER ARTICLES TOO NUMEROUS TO 
MENTION. No. 17 Front Street, Chester, 111. 



-If * * * -M- * 



LIVFRY STABLE 



C, I. HASKIN; ?.?ont St , Chester, 111. 



Where may be courtan.'-ly found a $ood supu?,y of first class 
Saddle Horses, . Prompi driving horses, open and topped bug- 
gies, & carriage. , which will be let on the most reasonable 
terms. Passengers conveyed to any point on short notice. 
Horses fed by the day or week. 

****** 

SHANNON HOUSE, Corner of Maine and St. Louis Streets, 
Sparta, Illinois. 

This well known First Class Hotel, having recently under- 
gone repairs, now offers superior attractions to the travel- 
ing public. Fully determined that every attention shall be 
given to the wants of those who favor this House with their 
patronage, the Proprietor respectfully solicits a call, 
feeling satisfied that he will be able to render his guests 
comfortable. Stages for St. Louis, Belleville, and Chester 
leave this House daily. 

J. F. GUTELIUS, Proprietor. 

****** 



H* R. GUTHRIE, M . D. Office, Broad Street, Sparta, 111 

****** 
-128- 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

SPARTA LIVERY STABLE. D. RIGDON & CO. 

Would respectfully announce to the citizens of Sparta and 
the public in general, that they are now prepared to accom- 
modate all who may favor them with their patronage. Having 
recently made large additions to their stock, they can now 
accommodate all with Saddle Horses, Top & Open Buggies, and 
Carriages, of a superior quality, and on the most reasonable 
terms a Persons wishing to be conveyed to different points, 
can be accommodated in good style, on the shortfLt notice. 
Horses stabled and fed "by the day or week, 

# # •?{• •}<• -ft # 

SPARTA DRUG AND BOOK STORE. JOSITH FARNAN, wholesale and 
retail dealer in Drugs, Medicines, Paints, Oils, VaiTirhep, 
Lamps, Books, Window Glass, Stationery, and Fancy Ar ^-V • 
Patent Medicines; Paints, Oils, and Varnishes; Books anU 
Stationery; Notions and Fancy Articles; window Glass, o; 
the best quality. Also, paint, v&rn.ish and cloth brushes; 
candies, spices, &c. Physicians and Country Merchants sup- 
plied at a very small per cent, above St. Louis prices. 
Prescriptions compounded at all hours, store on the corner 
of St. Louis and Broad Streets. 

-:<•-)*• -n- -* •}{■ ;:• 

A SELECT STOCK OF DaY-GOODS, RIADY-MAD1 CLOTHING, GROCPRIES, 
HARDWARE, QUEENPVA2E, AND CHINA 1 ™™. HATS AND CAPS, BOOTS 
AND SHOES, &C . Kept constantly on hand by the undersigned, 
MAIN STREET, SPARTA, For Sale Cheaper than the Cheapest. 
All kinds of Produce will be taken in exchange for Goods 
at Market prices. 

J. B. Parks 

•}{■ * •?*■ -*:- # 

JOHN TAYLOR, City Recorder, Justice of the peace, and Note ry 
Public; will attend to collecting claims on commission or 
otherwise. Office at Broadway, Sparta, 111, Jurisdiction 
as Recorder in debt or damages, $500 00. 

# # # * .{■ * 

Variety Store, Mrs. K. Lav/son keeps constantly on hand 
Chocolete, Oysters, Crackers, Cheese, Nuts of every kind, 
Tobacco, Cigars, Mackerel, Soap, Candles, Salt, Tea, Brooms, 
Baskets, Toys, Hoop Skirts, and Notions of every variety, 
at her old stand on MAIN STREET, one door east of the 
Shannon House, Sparta, Illinois, v/here she hopes to recr-ive 
a liberal share of public patronage, 

-a- # ?<■ # •* # 

-129- 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

PEOPLE'S SALOON, Main Street, Sparta, Illinois, 
J, C. PERKINS, Proprietor. Dealer in all kinds of con- 
fectionery; foreign and domestic fruits; nuts, oysters, 
and sardines; tobacco and cigars; fancy perfumery and hair 
oils. All descriptions of Family Groceries, &c. Also, 
Ice Cream, Soda, and Refreshments, 

•«• * # •«• # 

FRANCIS B. ANDERSON, Attorney and Counselor at Lay, and 
Solicitor in Chancery; v/ill attend with fidelity arid 
promptness to all business entrusted to him, an'l connected 
either directly or indirectly with his profession, whether 
in the United States or elsewhere. 

OFFICE ON MAIN STREET, Sparta, Illinois. 

tt # # it # 

N. R, BROV.'N, Wholesale and retail deader in Stoves and 
flnvare, Broadway, Sparta, J 31. 

JAMFS FARNAN. Physician and Surgeon, Tenders his profes- 
sional services to the citizens of Sparta and vicinity. 

Office on Br>adwv% Sparta, Illinois. 

# * it # it 

A CARD. 

FINLEY R. CROTHERS, Blacksmith and Plowmaker, 

Broadway, Sparta, ill. All work warranted, and his Plows 

not excelled by any. 

* *t * * # 

SP/.RTA CITY. J. S. Detrich, Dealer and manufacturer of 
all kinds of Furniture, and undertaker of Funerals in all 
its Branches, &c. 

*■**■»■ *■ 

SPARTA JEWELRY STORE — A. MILLER, keeps constantly on 
hand, at his old stand, 

Maine street, Sparta, Illinois , A select assortment of 
Jewelry, and Fancy Articles, which he offers to the public 
Cheap for Cash. Repairing Clocks and vetches done on short 
notice, in the best manner. 

-;»- # it it # 
-130- 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

JOHN W. MINNER'S Ambrotype, Melaneotype, Daguerreotype, 
and Photographic Gallery. Keeps constantly on hand all 
Photographic Material, Threp doors west of Public Square, 
Maine Street, Sparta, 111. 

•* •* vfr # -'■ 

R. R. HOPKINS, M. D. , physician for diseases of the throat 
and lungs, by auxiliaries and medicated inhalation. Dis- 
eases generally of women and children, receive particular 
attention. Chronic diseases. A large number of persons 
laboring under Chronic Diseases, which have heretofore been 
subjected to the use of the knife, may now be relieved by 
the Eclecxv-. System of surgery, by and with a much easier 
plan, ravi!.;' both the bad effect of the old treatment and 
much suffering. 

# # # -?f * 

J. A. POSTER * Spcrtfc, ril. dealer in fancy end staple Dry- 
Goods, hatr; , cfc.us, bots, shoes, groceries, queensware, 
hardware, r.. .Is, iron, glass. Farming utensils, ready- 
made clothlr.v in short, a general assortment of Merchandise 
suite ble to Via wants of the consumer — all of which are 
offered at she lowest prices. The public are invited to 
examine. 

# * # # ■* 

JOHN E. DFTRICH, Main Street, Sparta, Illinois, dealer in 
Staples and Fancy Dry-goods, hardware, queensware, glass- 
ware, boots and shoes, hats and caps, clothing, groceries, 
tobacco, and all kinds of Merchandise suited to the wants 
of the trade generally. 

TO THE FARMERS OF SOUTHERN ILLINOIS,. SPARTA WOOLEN FACTORY. 

I have made large additions to ray Factory, of new Improved 
Machinery, and am manufacturing and will keep a large stock 
at all seasons of the following Goods, manufectured by me 
with special reference to durability; satinets, cassimeres, 
Tweeds, Indigo Blue and Mixed Jecns, Bed-blankets, Plaid, 
Red, Plain Colored fie White Flannels, knitting and single 
yarns of all sizes. Custom carding and spinning, Fulling, 
Coloring, and Finishing, done on short notice. Persons from 
a distance always accommodrted at the time they bring their 
Wool. 

THOS. MCCLURKEN. 

N. B. Wool and Grer.se wanted in exchange. 

# # # a # 

-131- 



ADVERTISEMENTS 

WM. ROSBOROUOH k CO., SPARTA, ILLINOIS. 

THE OLDEST HOUSE IN THE COUNTY, * ~*ablished in the year 1835 

Have always on hand the largest and most complete Stock of 
Clothing, Dry-goods, Groceries, Hardware, Hats and Caps, 
Boots and Shoes, &c, &c that is offered in the market, to 
which they invite the attention of CASH AND PROMPT PAYING 
PURCHASERS. Sparta, October, 1859. 

NEW LIVERY STABLE BARTLPT TOVFRA would respect- 
fully announce to the citizens of Sparta and vicinity, that 
he had opened a new and splendid stable on St. Loui3 Street, 
Sparta, Illinois, where he will keep constantly on hand 
Saddle and Buggy Horses, carriap.us, open and top buggies, 
of the best quality; and will accommodate all who may favor 
him with their custom on more reasonable terras than ever 
offered in the city. He hopes, by strict attention to his 
business, to merit a liberal share of public patronage. 

* # ft. # ft *fr 

M. G. GORSUCH, M. D. , Sparta, Illinois, dealer in drugs, 
medicines, & chemicals, dye-woods and dye-stuffs, oils, 
paints, and painters' articles, varnishes, window glass 
and putty, glassware, French, English and American perfumery, 
Fine toilet and shaving soaps, fine hair and tooth brushes, 
paint brushes, surgical and dental instruments, spices, 
snuffs, manufactured tobacco; all the patent medicines of 
the day; pure wines and brandies, for medicinal purposes; 
choice toilet and fancy articles, etc, etc. 

SPARTA & CHESTER 

Sparta, Athens, Belleville, and St. Louis Daily Moil and 
Passenger coach iine. Having secured a Daily Mail Contract 
between the above points, I have established a Daily Mail 
Coach Line for the accommodation of the traveling public- 
leaving Sparta every morning (Sundays excepted) at 6 o'clock 
A. M. for Chester: returning, leaves Chester every day 
(Sundays excepted) ut 2, P.M., arriving in sparta the same 
evening; leaving Sparta for Athens, Belleville, and St. Louis, 
every morning (Sundays excepted) at 6 A.M., arriving at St. 
Louis the same evening; leaving St. Louis every morning at 
6 A.M. from No. 60 Collins Street, King's Hotel, the Post 
Office, Green Tree Tavern, arriving at sparta the same 
evening. 

I also run the BUCKIYE BOY FREIGHT & EXPRESS WAGONS on the 
above routes, and will carry Freight at usual rates with 

-132- 



promptness and safety, between any of the above points, 
I will also attend to Express Business of any kind, to 
any part of the United States or Fur ope. Packages or 
money' forwarded to any part of the v/orid having Express 
connections. Will buy and sell Drafts and Bills of Ex- 
change on any part of the world. Will also attend to 
making collection of notes and accounts. Business of any 
kind entrusted to my care will be faithfully and promptly 
attended to. Orders respectfully solicited. I can be seen 
Wednesdays and Thursdays, at No. 60 Collins street, and 
Saturdays and Mondays at my office in Sparta. 

JOHN M. McCUTCHFGN 

# * * * * * 

1859 I860 

FALL AND WHITER STOCK 

J. And R. Hood, wholesale and Retail Merchants, Broadway, 
Sparta, 111. have received, direct from the Fast, a large, 
splendid, and carefully selected stock of fall & winter 
goods, (our stock consists in part of a large and most 
fashionable stock of Gentlemen »s and Youth ts clothing and 
furnishing goods, All of which tl* ../ warrant to fit, or no 
sale. Also, Black, Drown, and Drab Cloths, Doe skins, 
Casinetts, Cassimeres, Black, Fancy, and Ficured Silks, 
Alpacccs, Delaines, French, English, and American Prints, 
Ginghams, Ribbons, Dress Trimmings, Lace, Notions, Shawls, 
Mantillas, Hats and Caps, Boots and Shoes, Hardware, Cut- 
lery, Glassware, Queensware, and a full stock of Groceries. 
The highest market price paid for merchantable produce. 

****** 

NEW GOODS NEW GOODS 

MCHENRY & 1 "ATS0N, Cor. of Broad & McMillan Streets, Sparta, 
111., are now receiving and opening a large and attractive 
stock of goods from the Last, which, for variety and beau+y 
of style are unsurpassed. Our stock consists of Dry-Goods, 
Clothing, Hats and Caps, Boots, and shoes, Hardware, 
Queensware and Groceries, we invite ell persons coming to 
trade in Sparta to give us a call end examine our prices. 
To caeh and produce customers, we offer liberal inducements. 

****** 
-133- 



ILLINOIS MUTUAL FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY, incorporated in 
1830. Principal office at Alton, 111, Capital $1,000,000. 

Stores and Merchandise, Dwelling Houses and Purnituroj 
Barnes and Hay and Grain; First Clas3 Mills, Shops, and 
othur Buildings, with their contents, insured against 
LOWS OR DAMAQh BY FIHE# 

This company has now boon in oxistonco over twenty 
ycaroi dous not ioouu policies out of this Stat ej has 
paid nearly Half a Million DolJorn for Losuoaj has furn- 
ished Insurance to it3 members for less than two-thirds 
the price charged by the best Stock Companies. It has 
the largest and best secured Capital of any insurance 
company in the Y/ost. 

Arrangements have now been completed, which enables 
the Directors to pay all Losses within ninety days) Mer- 
chants can now have their stocks insured in the Illinois 
Mutual, and in case of loss, actually get their money as 
soon as is promised by any other Company. 

To the Farmer end the Mechanic, this company has bo- 
come a State Benevolent Association, in which, at a mod- 
erate cost, their Homes and Shops may be insured against 
the ravages of Fire, with a certainty that, if destroyed, 
they will receive the mole Amount Insured, v/ithout liti- 
gation, or unnecessary delay. 

It has become the Insurance Company for the People 
of Illinois, — annually saving large sums of money in the 
State that would otherwise bu taken out by foreign Com- 
panies, with all these inducements who can now afford to 
remain uninsured in the Illinois Mutual? 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS. 

B. K. Hart, M. D. , Alton John Atwood, Esq., Alton 

Hon. Samuel v/ade, Alton J. w. schweppe, Esq. , Alton 

Hon. H. W. Billings, Alton Benjamin F.Long,M.D. 
John James, M. D., Upper Alton Monticello 

Timothy Turner, Esq., Monticello Klias Hibbard,E'3q. , Alton 

Hon. Lyman Trumbull, Alton Hon. Francis A.Hoffmann, 
Hon. Robert Smith, Alton Chicago 

Henry Lea, Esq., Alton Lewis Kcllenberger,l:3q. 

Alton 

Benjamin F. Long, President M.O. Atwood, Fsq. , Alton 



L. Kellenbergcr, Treasurer 



M. 0. Atwood, Secretary 
John Atwood, Assistant Soo 
retary. 



JOHN BLAISD?LL, General Agent 

A. C. Hankinson, Assistant Generel Agent 

Agents have been appointed in every County, and in all 
principal Cities and Towns in the State, to whom applica- 
tion for Insurance may be made. 



•134- 



ZEBIDI/H BARKER II I j REVO LUTIONARY SOLDIFR 

By: Mrs. C h erlcs Gordon 
Sparta, Illinois 

The earliest record of the Barker family is that of 
Richard Barker, born in Kent County, Fngiand, and died in 
1693. His son, Stephen, came to America and settled at 
Methuen, Mass. succeeding him were Zebediah I and Zebe- 
diah II, born in 1720 in Methuen, Mass., who was a Bap- 
tist minister and was married in 1749 to Deborah Merrill. 
Their son, Zebediah III, Revolutionary ancestor, v^s born 
in Methuen, Mass. in 1750 and died in New Design, Monroe 
Co., 111. and his remains now rest in the Barker-Toiin 
Cemetery, New Design. He married Susan Messer and to them 
were born four sons: Abner, Isaac, Asa, and Daniel Messer. 

These four sons trcked from Massachusetts to Vermont, 
then later to Ohio in the vicinity of M arietta early in 
the 19th century, and while in Ohio, Daniel enrolled in the 
Militia of the War of 1812. Later the four brothers built 
& keel boat on the Muskingum river, floated down the Ohio 
river to Cairo and from there poled and towed up the Miss- 
issippi to Herculaneum, Mo., about forty miles south of St. 
Louis where they landed in December, 1817. 

In the spring of 1818, the four brothers came to Illi- 
nois and settled on farms in Monroe Co., four miles south 
of Waterloo, known as the New Design settlement, now Burks- 
ville. Daniel Messer Barker, born July 12, 1784, died Aug. 
11, 1868, married Mary Varnum, and to this union were born 
four sons: Lewis, Hiram, Albert and Myron. 

His second wife was Rachel Jarre tt, born X\i Canada 
July 24, 1801, later lived it Virginia, she married John 
Ross and they settled near Lebcnon, 111., where he died 
leaving one daughter, Nancy Ross, she married Daniel Barker 
in 1830 and to this union v/ere born four daughters: Evalyn, 
Melcena, Susan Ophelia, and Fliza Bennett and one son, Dan.^1 
Perry. They moved to Red Bud, 111. soon after their mar- 
riage where they remained through their lifetime. 

Zebediah Barker III served as "Minute Man"; also from 
June, 1776, for over two years. During this time he was an 
Orderly Sergeant under Capt. Malvon, Capt. David whittier, 
and Col. Thomas Poor. He was in the Battles of Stillwater, 
Fort Clinton, and Kingts Ferry. 

He came to Illinois in 1818, settling in New Design, 
Monroe Co., where he died Oct. 10, 1819 and was buried in 
the Barker-Tolin Cemetery, one end one-half miles from Burke - 
ville. On May 15, 1934, the Fort Chartres Chapter of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution, Sparta, ill. dedicated 
a large monument as a mcmoricl to the Revolutionary soldiers 
buried in Randolph County, on the campus of the Sparta Twp. 
High school. The name of Zebediah Barker was not included • 

-135- 



■it IMS 



*PB-7200-3 
75*46? 

C 



M?i 



L-BOUND 

3.161.423 |